Customer Reviews for

Sounds of Home

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Very impressive contemporary bluegrass band

    Blue Highway performed its first gig on New Year's Eve in 1994 with its original lineup that includes the same consummate musicians that comprise the band today: Tim Stafford (guitar), Wayne Taylor (bass), Shawn Lane (mandolin, fiddle, guitar), Jason Burleson (banjo, guitar, mandolin), and Rob Ickes (Dobro, lap steel). Tim, Wayne and Shawn provide the vocals. Their early years found them associated with the reputable Rebel record label. In 1996, Blue Highway won an IBMA award for "Emerging Artist of the Year." In 1996 and 2006, they were recognized with IBMA "Album of the Year" awards. In 1997 and 2004, they won IBMA awards for "Gospel Recording of the Year." What a treat to hear a band with such a stable and solid lineup so full of talent! The internationally-renown quintet has now been associated with Rounder Records for over a decade. Over the years, Blue Highway has carved out their niche in bluegrass. Their musical vision has always incorporated accessible melodies, bright lyricism, and interesting dynamics. "Sounds of Home" is noteworthy for its all-original emphasis, with the exception of the public domain cover "Nobody's Fault but Mine." Taylor, Stafford and Lane's songwriting abilities are showcased. Burleson also penned a snappy instrumental "Roaring Creek." The band's considerable emotional depth shines through on moving songs like "Storm" and "Drinking from a Deeper Well." The former has us looking inward "to see the dawn when the storm is gone." The sorrow of a generic mining disaster is captured in the mournful ¾-time "Only Seventeen." Every band has a few unique signature arrangements we have become accustomed to, and Shawn Lane's solo vocalizing on "I Ain't Gonna Lay My Hammer Down" is an example that opens the album. One thing I miss here is a Wayne Taylor/Shawn Lane brother-style duet, as well as a Bluegrass Highway a cappella vocal arrangement typical of some we've heard on previous releases. But it always delights me when they use solid tried-and-true traditional messages to craft contemporary songs like "Bluebird Days" and "Restless Working Man." No Blue Highway album would be complete without a solid story song, and they masterfully fill that slot with "Heather and Billy," co-penned by Tim Stafford with Steve Gulley, about a couple with a great amount of love and compassion for children in need. Their musicality and approach are simply able to covey many aesthetic moods, along with considerable respect and depth. Blue Highway boasts an impressive track record as a contemporary bluegrass band, and the musicians individually as award-winners. They've released ten highly-acclaimed albums, been nominated for two Grammy awards (in 2004 and 2005), topped the Bluegrass Unlimited chart, won a Dove Award in 2004 for "Best Bluegrass Album" ("Wondrous Love") and taken home over a dozen IBMA and SPBGMA awards (either as a band or individually). "Sounds of Home" illustrates why Blue Highway has a well-deserved reputation as one of the most lauded groups in contemporary bluegrass music today due to their brilliant instrumental virtuosity, soaring harmonies, driving rhythms, well-crafted original material, and creative arrangements. (Joe Ross, Roseburg, Or.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1