Customer Reviews for

Sounds Of Murder

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Unique Mystery

    I just finished reading "Sounds of Murder" by Patricia Rockwell. This is the first segment in the Pamela Barnes Acoustic Mystery series. In "Sounds of Murder", Psychology Professor Pamela discovers the body of her fellow employee and renowned researcher, Charlotte Clark murdered in the schools computer lab. While Pamela, or none of the other Professors, was very fond of Charlotte, it becomes her personal mission to avenge Charlotte's death and discover her killer. Being an authority in acoustics, Pamela is able to find an accidental recording of Charlotte's death that the investigators miss. Using the sound waves, Pamela slowly pieces together the mystery and comes terrifyingly close to becoming a victim herself. For an amateur sleuth, Pamela certainly gives this well paced novel a uniqueness that sets itself apart from others.

    I absolutely devoured this book. I started it and finished it overnight. Patricia Rockwell is a brilliant story teller and very well written. "Sounds of Murder" was easy to read and enjoyable.

    Anyone who enjoys a good mystery will enjoy reading "Sounds of Murder". For those of you who may be a little standoffish by the title or the genre, as often some are, being concerned that the plot may be too gory and chilling, I urge you to reconsider. Patricia Rockwell takes great care in writing articulately and with good taste. I'm positive that this book will quickly become a favorite to anyone looking for an intriguing, satisfying read. Not only is there excitement with the turn of each page, but there is humor and romance that really make this book stand out. Furthermore, this is one mystery adventure that consists of only clean language, which is in and of itself, a breath of fresh air.

    Patricia Rockwell has begun her ascent towards the top of my favorite reading material. Mrs. Rockwell shows great potential and I'm certain that we will see more of her in the future. I personally, look forward to reading more of the Pamela Barnes Mystery series, starting with "FM For Murder", the second installment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Rockwell's first mystery is well crafted. Her timing is impeccab

    Rockwell's first mystery is well crafted. Her timing is impeccable, her plot jumps along, and the killer is well hidden until the final denouement.

    I was up all night reading it and I still can't get the characters and the story out of my head. I can usually tell how a book is going to end up, but not this time. A definite read. You won't be disappointed.

    Had never read anything from this author, and found it to be a very good book. It kept my attention, and had some interesting twists and turns that were very entertaining. I would recommend this book, and do plan on reading some others by this author.

    Great read! I could hardly put this book down. The characters were very well written and so interesting. I am so looking forward to her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Lish

    This is such a cute story. All the character's are so real-life, not cutsie or warped......just normal academica. I really really enjoyed the story and the writing style so much so I bought the next books in the series. What a breath of fresh air for a who-done-it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Interesting format. Liked the science and academic side.

    Excellent characters. Very good plot. Figured out the killer in advance but that was ok. It didnt take away from the story. Just enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT Cozy!!!

    A great cozy mystery that was fun to read and a fantastic start to the series. I enjoyed the storyline and characters - nothing over the top and quite realistic. This well written book had me anxious at times and snickering at others. I'm really looking forward to getting the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Sound Mystery!

    Pamela Barnes is a professor in psychology who specializes in speech and sound at Grace University. Kent, her graduate assistant, finds Dr. Charlotte Clark dead in the computer lab, strangled by a cord. Though Clark brought in lots of grant money to the university, she was not popular with the others in the department but Barnes wants to make sure her murderer is found.

    Dr. Barnes had heard Clark arguing with the department head Mitchell Marks before the murder and Clark placed a mysterious photo of a former student in Marks mail slot the day she was murdered. The woman arrives and leaves crying. Barnes cannot imagine Marks murdered Clark but thinks it has to be someone in the psychology department. The police are not working as quickly as she would like so she starts investigating.

    When the computer lab is again opened, Pamela goes back in to see if she can find something the police may have missed. She wonders if Clark had turned on the sound toggle while she was working at the computer. She checks the main computer and realizes the sounds of the murder had been recorded probably accidentally pushed by Clark in the midst of the struggle. Pamela listens to it and makes a copy. When later than evening Pam tells her husband, Rocky about it he is concerned and tells her to leave the investigation to the police.

    Pamela does take the disc to the police but keeps a copy and with her persistence records sounds to find out what is making that non-human clicking sound in the recording that she cannot identify. This leads to a confrontation and the murderer is uncovered.

    This book covers the fascinating inner workings of a university dealing with tenure issues, cutbacks, grant money and strong personalities. Rockwell has written interesting characters and I want to read more books about Professor Pamela Barnes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Sounds of Murder

    Sounds of Murder - Review by Martha A. Cheves, Author of Stir, Laugh, Repeat



    'Pamela followed Kent, running behind him around the corner of the main hallway towards the experimental computer laboratory at the far end of the side hallway. She could see in the distance that the door to the lab was wide open and the lights were on. Kent ran through the doorway and Pamela followed on his heels. He went immediately to the first row of computer carrels, to Carrell #4, one of the department's special "souped up" computers. Pamela could see a woman in the carrel bent over the computer desk, a tousled head of blond curls. As she drew closer, she realized that the woman was Charlotte Clark. "It's Dr. Clark," said Kent, "Dr. Barnes! I think she's dead!"



    Dr. Charlotte Clark was Chair of the Tenure Committee and taught courses on addiction at Grace University. She was world famous and popular with students which lined up to take her classes. But by her peers, she was considered abrasive and confrontational. More often than not creating verbal attacks on anyone who crossed her. So, when word of her death made its way around the campus, very few tears were shed.


    After completing her evening class, Dr. Pamela Barnes, a Psychology Professor, and her graduate assistant Kent Drummond, found Charlotte's body in the computer lab. Charlotte being in the lab was normal but the question that pops into Pamela's mind is "why was she in the lab late at night?" Before class, Pamela had heard Charlotte and Department Head, Mitchell Marks, arguing. Charlotte had even made threats to go to the Dean to resolve their argument. So, did Mitchell Marks follow Charlotte to the computer lab and murder her? As Pamela soon finds, there are many others that have reason to take Charlotte out of the picture. For starters there are 3 candidates up for tenure with the Dean only allowing 2. There is also the Animal Psychology Lab which became upset with Charlotte after she announced that their research wasn't needed and should be cut. The more Pamela searches, the more suspects she ends up adding to her list.

    Sounds of Murder ends up being solved by "sound." This, to me, took the suspense to an entirely different field for. As I read, I found myself listening to Pamela as she details each sound in her attempt to decide which would are beneficial clues in solving the crime. Near the middle of the book I had the case solved as to who had committed the murder but not why, so I thought. It turned out that I was totally off base. The murderer wasn't revealed until the end and to my surprise this character wasn't even on my list of suspects. This book kept me in suspense from beginning to end.

    2010
    Cozy Cat Press
    204 pages
    ISBN# 978-0-9844795-0-4

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Acoustic Mystery

    "Sounds of Murder" is a delightful first book in the acoustic mystery series. Pamela Barnes is a on the tenure Committee along with Charlotte Clark and they have the future of several co-workers in their hands. When Charlotte's body is found in the new lab that Charlotte made possible with grants she acquired for the college, everyone in the department is a suspect. When Pamela discovers a recording of the murder she uses her unique knowledge of sound to figure out who murdered Charlotte.
    Rockwell's knowledge of sound and acoustics makes this mystery intriguing. The characters are mostly instructors in the Psychology department. They range from a stuffy professor to a prim and proper instructor to a light and lively research assistant. Pamela Barnes is a smart and affable professor, wife and mother. Rocky, Pamela's husband is marvelous. An ex-military gourmet cook who teaches English at the same college where Pamela works, he's also over-protective of Pamela and their daughter, Angie. Especially when Angie starts dating, Kent, Pamela's graduate assistant.
    This is the first "Pamela Barnes Acoustic Mystery". It will be interesting to see how she uses sound in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1