BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Soup Bible

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    This is great!

    I bought this for my daughter-in-law who loves to find new recipes to try. She was delighted with this book. Not only are there great recipes, but the book has beautiful pictures along with easy-to-read recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Recipes!

    Solid recipes, easy to follow with great results. A real find for soup lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I bought this cookbook for a friend. When it came, I was amazed

    I bought this cookbook for a friend. When it came, I was amazed at how nice it was. Most books of this quality cost A LOT more than what I paid. My friend was well pleased & excited to try the recipes. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    This book is fun!

    We enjoyed thumbing through this visually attractive book, and then trying out some of the recipes. We like it so much we have already purchased another to give as a gift. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    gift

    was a gift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Beautifully illustrated. Easy to use. Haven't used it yet.

    I will use a few of the receipes soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspirational new soups

    I tried the pumpkin soup recipe on Thanksgiving, everyone liked it, some had seconds.
    Being of Czech decent, I was disappointed that the central European staple "Liver Dumpling" soup was absent. A recipe for Czech fish soup was. I have never heard of Czech fish soup. maybe I'm missing out on something good!
    This book would be fun to go through and try ALL the recipes, front to back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational Soup Recipes

    From light to hearty, cold to hot, the soup recipes are easy to follow and taste wonderful. Chock full of lunch and supper soups, the recipes are from around the world and there are "cook's tips" for a lot of the recipes. Whether you enjoy light summer soups, or rich and creamy soups, then The Soup Bible is for you. Try it; you will like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Every kitchen should have one of these

    Great cookbook using ingredients most any kitchen would have on hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    Excellent Addition for anyone who loves to cook

    The book is an excellent source of good, interesting soup from around the world. The instructions and menus are above average. We've tried many soups which always interesting and often excellent. Want a very good cook book for soup or something quick? Get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    What a deal!

    This book is an absolute steal! My boyfriend and I have made 10 recipes so far, ranging from Zucchini with Dolcelatte soup to Corn and Plantain soup, and all of them have been fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    Soup's On!

    The Soup Bible is a wonderful collection of soup recipes divided into six sections: light & refreshing, rich & creamy, warming winter, hearty lunch, one-pot-meals, and special occasion. The variety is excellent, and there are soups from around the world. The front section on making stocks is very helpful as it includes not only the standard vegetable, chicken and meat stocks, but also fish stock and stocks for Chinese and Japanese cooking. Each recipe comes with beautiful end-result pictures as well as pictures of some of the steps involved. The directions are clear and simple. Many of the recipes come with suggestions for variations and all of the vegetarian selections are marked. Most of the soups use easy-to-find ingredients, but the exceptions often have tips on where to find the unfamiliar items. I¿ve tried several of the recipes with no problems and delicious results. One of my personal favorites is the Tomato and Blue Cheese Soup. I¿m looking forward to cooking and eating my way through these soups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    This book is a scam

    This book is IDENTICAL to her other book, the Soup Encyclopedia, or whatever it's called like that. The only differeces: hard cover, different title, about 2-1/2 times the size. This book is a coffee table book not functional like the other book. And despite the fact that they are truly identical -- same recipes on same pages, etc. -- this one is copyright 2004 and the other 2003, apparently just for the title. I actually like the contents, but I like them in the smaller, functional book. This 'Bible' is too big to be practical, unless you have a kitchen the size of Cleveland.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    1 wiseman

    Fabulous Borscht recipe. Also a great collection of meals for vegetarians. I have had more gourmet soups on my dinner table thanks to this great collection. You can't beat it for the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2