BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

South Beach Diet: The Delicious, Doctor-Designed, Foolproof Plan for Fast and Healthy Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read thr...
This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

posted by 247183 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and th

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and there is NO diclaimer to say this..

posted by Davi on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 288 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    South Beach inspires you to Change your Life

    Dr.Agaston has done his homework and he shares all his knowledge with
    you. In this case knowledge is power--the power to change your body!
    The power to be healthy, to live longer, to enjoy your life.
    He is a cardiologist which makes him life-saver.
    First he educates you. He gives a little history explaining how it
    all started and what he learned.
    You wil learn the differences between such esoteric food labels as
    transfats and hydrogenated and more. You may find yourself st first
    standing in the grocer's aisle reading peanut butter labels to determine
    which one is the healthiest. With my South Beach Diet knowledge I could
    do this! And so can you!
    The book has a wealth of information that enables you to make good
    choices about your diet. Those choices will help you lose weight
    and lower your cholesterol.
    His patients' testimonials are awesome. Very inspiring.
    You will learn from their stories.
    As they say on TV, THUMBS UP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

    This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

    I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

    Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

    Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out "The Sixty-Second Motivator". Good luck!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    it could change your life - for the better

    I bought the book because my daughter was dx as type 2 diabetic and was told to skip the diet of South Beach Diet and go straight to the 2nd phase - just to eat correctly. She did - and within 6 weeks lost nearly 20 pounds and dropped her cholestrol nearly 100 points, her sugar about 70 points or so. I wanted to encourage her and help her - wanted to know what she is doing so that I don't distract her from getting healthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    ATKINS COPYCAT

    This book is a copy of Dr. Atkin's carbless diet. All the author did was read Dr. Atkins and add some veggies for the first 2 weeks of induction. Same as Dr. Atkins, after 14 days, you can slowly start adding fruit and vegetables. Simply a copy of what Dr. Atkins has been touting for over 20 years. This is just riding Dr. Atkin's coattails.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Recommended; good to try!

    I have just begun this diet so can't tell yet how well it works. Hoever, I have high cholesterol and heart disease, so I decided to talk to my doctor about this and he gave his OK. It's a little hard at first but gets better with time. And so far, I haven't really been too hungry. I suggest giving it a try yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    I adhered strickly to this diet for 3 weeks, stayed hungry ALL

    I adhered strickly to this diet for 3 weeks, stayed hungry ALL the time and did not lose a pound.
    If you do enjoy chicken, or fish - this is not the diet for you. I found the 1st two weeks were basically starving myself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    The word "lose" as in "to lose weight" is sp

    The word "lose" as in "to lose weight" is spelled "LOSE" not "LOOSE." Please get this right.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This diet teachers the reader how to adopt a heart healthy lifestyle. While on the diet one can still eat out, in moderation, while maintaining their weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FINALLY, A DIET I CAN FOLLOW

    When I was getting my oil changed in my car, I overheard the mechanic talking about this diet and he had already lost 92 pounds. I asked him a little about it and he said he bought the book and it has allowed him to eat a lot of food and still lose weight. I decided to try it and after 3 months I have lost 51 pounds. I love this diet, I'm not miserable, hungry, cranky or irritated. (that's how I usually am on a diet) The book taught me a lot about my body and how the foods that I had always chosen were hurting me and not helping me. It was easy to understand and very easy to follow. I still refer back to it when I have a question about something. I wish I bought this book a long time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    A Good Diet for Quick Results

    I've never dieted before, but advancing age seems to require a change in habits. I found the South Beach Diet easy to follow. Weaning myself off of bread and pasta was the most difficult part, but the hints and recommended replacements in this book helped tremendously. And, as long as you're open to new tastes, the recipes included help introduce and explore a variety of new treats and dishes that you may never have tried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book but a the diet is a little difficult for some

    I loved reading this book. It is very informative and exsplians things very well! I must say I found the actuale act of doing the diet difficult becuase Im always on the run and some of the food you had to eat are not the best tasting so by far the first two week are very rough!! but it is doable. I will definatly keep this book for the many recipies it has too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, if you are already onboard with the diet.

    This book was okay if you were already interested in the diet but if not could be cumbersome....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    South Beach Diet

    The SBD is a great diet to follow if you are having problems loosing weight. I am currently following the diet and within three weeks, I have lost a total of 13 lbs. I would recommend this diet to anyone who is addicted to carbs and cannot loose weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    IF YOU REALLY WANT TO LOSE WEIGHT AND BE HEALTHY

    THIS DIET REALLY WORKS. FOLLOW THE PROGRAM AND YOU WILL CHANGE YOUR HEALTH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Excellent dietbook - clear, concise and complete. First one to make complete sense to me with good recipes and guidelines.

    I found this book to be informative, motivating and explained why it works and assisted me in making life style changes that I needed to make in my life. I recommend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    Works for me!

    I used the SB Diet after my jeans really wouldn't fit anymore. One thing that helped me, was that the Post Office was coming around taking non-perishable food donations. What does that have to do with it? Well, I took all the 'crap' out of my cupboards (cookies/crackers/pastas) and dumped it to the donation. Just to summarize, it's easy if you can handle 2 weeks at a time. No alcohol, no bread/pasta/rice/potatoes for the first 2 weeks and I lost about 11 lbs. Your body starts using the stored fat you have, just in time for you to start eating some carbs in the second set of 2 weeks, where you can eat some but not all of the prohibited Phase 1 items. Then Phase 3 is all systems go, but in a much healthier way. It's a short easy to read book with recipes, meal plan examples, and a really good explanation of why you're eating what you are. I lost a total of about 24 lbs. Since then (2 yrs ago) I've slacked, usually by eating stuff I know I shouldn't, and LOTS of it. I'm going back on the diet starting this Sunday. It helps to plan ahead and really get ready for the change. I am confident that this time around I will be back down into the boxes of Size 6's in my closet and happy with myself again. I would say, honestly, you CAN do this, and even if you don't lose 100lbs., you will still walk away smarter than before on how to be healthier. I find it's hard to do something new if you don't KNOW WHAT TO DO. Dr. Agatson tells you how to do it, why and what the results will provide you. You can do it. Give it a full 2 weeks and the results will come to you. :0)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    It works, and its easy to do

    This diet worked for me. I lost weight rather fast and didnt have a hard time doing it. Cravings go away and there are lots of snacks and meals that you can buy for this program. Also, the cookbooks are good for this diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

    This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced. I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight. Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end,then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from, but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.......and the winner is.........

    This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced. I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight. Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end,then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from, but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    This is not a fad diet - this is a prescription for healthful eating!

    When the South Beach Diet first made its debut, I skeptically lumped it in with the Atkins Diet as a 'unhealthy fad diet'. Then I saw a TV special on the details of the diet: Low-fat protein sources (chicken, fish, turkey, etc) and an emphasis on vegetables, and whole grains. I am not overweight, never have been, but I was attracted to the diet as a guideline for healthy eating. I didn't do the Induction phase since I was not trying to lose weight, but I follow the diet on phases 2 and 3 as part of a healthy eating plan. Chicken, lean beef, fresh vegetables and fruit and whole grain bread are staples of this plan and I feel great. The receipes are absolutely delicious, easy to prepare and the ingredients are not so exotic you couldn't find them in your local grocery. Whether you are wanting to adopt a healthier lifestyle, lose some weight this is a great diet to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 288 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15