Customer Reviews for

South Beach Diet: The Delicious, Doctor-Designed, Foolproof Plan for Fast and Healthy Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read thr...
This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

posted by 247183 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and th

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and there is NO diclaimer to say this..

posted by Davi on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Not worth it

    The bottom line is the same results can be achieved by restricting the food intake. Simply eat less and you will lose some pounds. This is called an initial fat loss that is very easy to achieve. Keep in mind, the problem area fat would not go away using SB diet. Your belly would not melt away as advertised! You would never look as a model on commercial. If your body is pear shape it will stay pear shape, just a few pound lighter. To achieve and maintain athletic body a smart 'exercise plus diet' approach should be implemented. Unfortunately this diet is not a good choice for those who exercise. It just does not provide enough fuel for workouts. Besides, constant calorie restriction and exercise invoke muscle and bone loss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    To complicated

    I totally agree with the ideas in this book, lower your carb. intake, watch trans-fats, better food choices, etc. What I didn't like were the meal plans with specific foods and recipes for everything, without offering simple substitutes. Things that I personally don't like or wont eat include shell fish, spinach, asparagus, mushrooms, and artichokes, to name a few. So when I got to phase one recipes I was totally out of luck! If you enjoy cooking and also enjoy the above list of ingredients - this may be a great book for you. Unfortunately for me, I have simple tastes and this book was a waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Call it whatever you want....

    but it's still Atkins!!! I've been very healthy (and thin) on a low-carb eating habit and exercise lifestyle I discovered through Atkins. The South-beach Diet is exactly the same. Atkins induction is 14 days, Phase one of South Beach is two weeks with all the same guidelines. Go with Atkins - more knowledgeable, better recipes and more honest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    How can they say eat what you love?

    I looked at the plan and it is alot like the Atkins Plan. How can they say eat what you love? I don't love eating alot of protein and oil,eggs etc. I am not a cheese lover either. They give me heart burn and make me feel tired all the time. (I still believe in a well rounded diet and a calorie is a calorie no matter what form it comes in). However this program isn't my cup of tea. But, I know people that can stay on a protein diet and lose alot of weight. I say more power to them! It's just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Over half the book is recipes!!!!!

    1. Diet requires you eliminate all carbs for the first two weeks. 2. Diet is basically Atkins except no bad fats (such as Canadian instead of regular bacon) 3. Yes, it is expensive to use the diet 4. 3/4 of the book are testimonials and recipes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Too Hard to Continue in First 2 Weeks

    I followed the South Beach Diet for 5 days, but then I had to quit. There's only so much turkey bacon and eggs I could eat. I didn't think that I would have much trouble with this diet, because I am normally a very healthy eater. I did lose a couple pounds in the 5 days, but they came right back when my carb cravings took over (probably just water weight). I craved carbs more than ever after ending the diet. Sure, you may lose a few pounds in the first 2 weeks, but you'll be miserable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    Hire a Full Time Chef

    If you have alot of time to devote to shopping for the products needed for this diet as well as the time to prepare the foods. Then buy the book and start the diet. I found this diet to be VERY time consuming. For an individual on the go this diet will never work. I completed the first two weeks and lost 9lbs. But will not be able to commit the time and effort to maintain this diet. In reading the book you do find alot of interesting things about how food is digested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2003

    It looks like a re-hash of the Zone Diet

    The contents of the book is great, but I could see nothing new here. It appears to be identical to the Zone Diet by Barry Sears. I feel like sending the book back for a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2