Customer Reviews for

South Beach Diet: The Delicious, Doctor-Designed, Foolproof Plan for Fast and Healthy Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read thr...
This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

posted by 247183 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and th

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and there is NO diclaimer to say this..

posted by Davi on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, if you are already onboard with the diet.

    This book was okay if you were already interested in the diet but if not could be cumbersome....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Not a diet for all

    I was really excited at the thought of starting a new diet and getting into shape. I bought this book and read it in one night. The format is a little confusing, and Phase 1 killed me. I was looking forward to more energy but instead became dead tired. This diet isn't for me. The book promised rapid weight lose in the first 2 weeks, and tons of new energy. I lost 3 pounds...less then when I did weight watchers. Weight watchers really is a good program and it does work. Problem is counting can get old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    Didn't work for me

    I bought this book because there were several people I knew who were very successful on it. After diligently following the restrictive first two weeks, I was shocked to find out I hadn't lost a pound! I wanted to lose 20 pounds altogether and naturally thought I would lose the 8 to 13 stated in the book. The first week I was not hungry but by the 8th day I began not feeling fulfilled by the diet. I don't know why it didn't work for me, but apparently this diet does not work for everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Short Term Great - Long Term???

    This book like so many other books out there on dieting addresses a growing problem in America called obesity. I found this to have great initial results, however, I reached a point and the gains (loses) stopped. My problem with all diet books including this one is this. I think the term ¿diet¿ is the problem. America is looking for someone to save us. We over-eat for decades, buy a diet book and expect it to correct the problem. Though this book offers some good suggestions I am not sure it is sustainable. So as for my rating 4 stars for offering some help and advice. I think the rest is up to us. We need to get off of ¿diets¿ and change our lifestyles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    Needs a little work.

    The plan is heart healthier than Atkins. You will lose weight but I suspect that this is due to cutting calories (for gosh sakes, who wouldn't lose weight if they cut out baked goods, sweets, cookies, ice cream and alcohol from their diet?- come on now). I would also like to see more research on this diet before expecting people to follow it- other than just one small study done by the developer of the diet! (You think that might bias the results?) I personally have had more success with just counting calories and exercising more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    Not for pears?

    I chose to try this diet because it seemed more sensible than Atkins, and I wanted to try something different from my usual low-cal, high cardio efforts. I was FAITHFUL for 3 months, more faithful than I've been to any diet! I lost 9 pounds and then plateaued. I could have lost another 10, but it just wouldn't come off. Then I read that pear-shapes don't always respond to the low-carb diets as well as apple shaped people. So, I went back to low-cal, high cardio (which, sorry to burst your no-carb-is-a-good-carb bubble, works best and helped me lose the rest)...BUT, I'm giving the book 3 stars anyway--I didn't gain at all during the 3 months, didn't feel hungry, and enjoyed trying it out. AND because the recipes are low fat and low cal anyway, my boyfriend (who doesn't need to 'settle' for okay-dishes as he's very fit) and I still prepare quite a few of the recipes from the book--there are some really tasty ones!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Shouldn't sodium also be a consideration?

    I am disappointed that most of the recipes are high in sodium. The diet is one that I could easily follow if it weren't for the sodium. Since HBP and Cardiovascular disease are often related, I am surprised that Dr. Agatston didn't address this in his book. My husband is a heart patient on a low fat, low sodium diet. Although I am in good health, we must both watch our sodium intake. I would like to see more diets with low sodium, low fat recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    A little to complicated for me to stick to.

    I liked a lot of the theories in the book but overall it is not a program that I can commit to for the rest of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    Not enough info

    Though this diet is easy to follow, the book is too often vague for the average dieter. For instance, there is an entire section and index about foods that are high on the 'glycemic index', yet nowhere does it tell a person what exactly constitutes a 'low glycemic' or a 'high Glycemic food'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    It works but toooo hard!!!!

    I found this diet too labor intensive. Many of the foods needed took time to find. The first two weeks were hard for me. I was still hungry, not enough food intake. After the first 2 weeks, I still lost but in the end I went back to my own plan of low carb eating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Vegetarians Not Acknowledged

    I have just started the diet, so am going to review the book and not the diet itself. The book contains good, scientific explanations for the diet. I can clearly see now how cutting refined carbs can be both slimming and healthful at the same time. I am eager to try the diet. My main problem with the book was that it ignored the fact that vegetarians are 10% of the population. There is no mention in this book of how vegetarians can use soy meats or tofu-based 'fake meats' in place of regular meats, or if so, in what amounts. The food lists are also very limited. For example, avocado is one of my favorite foods and it's not mentioned in the food lists or index at all, so I'm not sure how much I can incorporate it into the diet. I would hope that future revised editions of this book would include items in the food list such as Gardenburgers, soy meats, avocados, and other foods that could provide greater variety in the diet and rely less on animal fats. As it stands, I will be eating a great deal of omelets during the two-week 'strict' phase. If any other vegetarians have tried this diet, I would be pleased to hear from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Yes, it works, but...

    Yes, it works, but the recipes are labor intensive and expensive. Working people will find it difficult to deal with, as did I the night I was up til 11:30 PM chopping a plethora of veggies to add to tuna for the next day! Once you catch on to what you can eat and what you cannot eat, you can greatly simplify things and cut prep time. For example, frying an egg in cooking spray is quicker and easier than making a omelet. Common sense will lead you to ways to make things more practical if you do not have a 'South Beach' Chef retained to prepare these 'cutesie' meals for you. Besides, foods such as arugula and mahi mahi are dificult to find out in the hinterlands. Following the guidelines in the book and cutting out the sugars, starches and bad fats and still being able to run three miles a day permitted me to lose 13 pounds the first two weeks. Remarkably, I have not felt like I was starving. I have begun to daydream of baked potatoes though! Overall, it seems to be a more healthy and less traumatic method for weight loss and well worth the cost of the book. Go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Eat Your Fruit Too

    This diet works, but again, like Atkins, it's too restrictive. The most important message this diet sends to people is don't eat white flour and refined sugar. I found that starting my morning with nothing but fruit, eating lots of veggies and salads and more fruit along with seafood and poultry and consuming only real whole wheat bread, not the sliced stuff in the grocery is the key to health and slow weight loss. It's a combination of most low carb diets that are in the news now. It works, just be patient and don't forget to move that body!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Lots of food diet

    Although the first day was tough, you really dont get hungry. I like all the choices and the dressing are quick, easy and taste pretty good. I recommnend it, and Im not a good dieter, but thus one did work, lost 8 lbs in two weeks, even with a llittle cheating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Still giving it a Chance

    I am almost 30 and wanted to get my last 20 pounds off before I even think of having kids. One more shot at having my 'ideal' body. I have been on the South Beach diet for three weeks, still doing phase one very strictly, and have lost only 4 pounds. I feel good physically and mentally so I am going to keep trying it...at least for a few more weeks. I'm not giving up on it yet! One big disappointing thing is that the corresponding website costs money to join, which means if I have any questions about it, I have to pay for answers. That stinks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Ya man ok

    dr akins is the inventor of the low carb diets and i dont or havent follow anyones diet but the basic. You'll lose weight useing the method. Mr Akins is the founder of low carb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    Was on Atkins...but really turned to South Beach Diet

    Well, I started on the Atkin's diet, which is no carbs what so ever for the first 2 weeks then up to 30 grm's of carbs a day after that. It was torture for sure and expecially when I realized fruit and veggies weren't good for the diet. therefor, I thought i'd eat the healthy carbs such as fruit and veggies and just not bread, pasta, potato's etc. I have been on this diet in which I formed myself on my own terms (i just foundout aboiut the south beach diet) and I have only lost 22 pounds, in 3 and a half months. I also excersize on a regular basis. So, i'm not sure if this diet is the best, but if you have patience, and time, it will slowly work and keep a positive attitude! Good Luck, if any questions, email me at VooDooStr717@aol.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3