Customer Reviews for

South Beach Diet: The Delicious, Doctor-Designed, Foolproof Plan for Fast and Healthy Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read thr...
This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

posted by 247183 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and th

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and there is NO diclaimer to say this..

posted by Davi on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Let's Clear This Up A Bit

    I am on the South Beach Diet and wanted to clear up a few wrong assumptions about it that I see written here. First, this is a balanced low-carb/high protein diet. It's not Atkins or anything else. It is delivered in phases to allow your systems to adjust to the changes in a positive way. Phase One is not intended for weight loss, although this does often occur. It is basically to stabilize your blood sugar and natural insulin systems to keep you from having the jitters as you begin to implement your new LIFESTYLE of eating. Phase Two is the weight loss phase and Phase Three is the 'let's see what you learned' phase where you implement your new found eating knowledge for a lifetime. The diet IS easy to follow. You cannot try this for a week or try this for a few weeks and expect anything. You must fully utilize the amount of time indicated in the book. The South Beach Diet DOES NOT limit calorie intake as long as it is from recommended foods and if you get hungry they recommend you eat! The book itself is easy to read and explains WHY each thing is done, unlike many fad diet books. The lists in the book are good but I do recommend online support from one or more of the many online forum groups. I am making progress and think this is healthy living for anyone. You must remember it is not JUST a diet, it is a lifestyle. And lastly, read the book, it's all there. Just read it all the way through before you do anything.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Great diet!

    The way we all should eat. Cravings gone but must be motivted.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    The South Beach Diet

    One family member's health issues are: obesity, hypertension, high potassium, high cholesterol, peripheral neuropathy and heart issues. I purchased the book to use as a guide for offering tasty meals. It was easy to take most of the recipes, change a thing or two here and there and have it conform to the requirements the Doctor ordered while serving delicious meals. This book saved my sanity. THANKS.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Recommended; good to try!

    I have just begun this diet so can't tell yet how well it works. Hoever, I have high cholesterol and heart disease, so I decided to talk to my doctor about this and he gave his OK. It's a little hard at first but gets better with time. And so far, I haven't really been too hungry. I suggest giving it a try yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    The word "lose" as in "to lose weight" is sp

    The word "lose" as in "to lose weight" is spelled "LOSE" not "LOOSE." Please get this right.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This diet teachers the reader how to adopt a heart healthy lifestyle. While on the diet one can still eat out, in moderation, while maintaining their weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book but a the diet is a little difficult for some

    I loved reading this book. It is very informative and exsplians things very well! I must say I found the actuale act of doing the diet difficult becuase Im always on the run and some of the food you had to eat are not the best tasting so by far the first two week are very rough!! but it is doable. I will definatly keep this book for the many recipies it has too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    South Beach Diet

    The SBD is a great diet to follow if you are having problems loosing weight. I am currently following the diet and within three weeks, I have lost a total of 13 lbs. I would recommend this diet to anyone who is addicted to carbs and cannot loose weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Needs a little work.

    It's a diet plan that is definitely heart healthier than Atkins. One will lose weight if they follow the book but it likely will be from a big reduction of calories if you look closely at what it restricts- especially in the beginning. Also, would like to see more research to support its efficacy other than just one study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    Here's what I think about this matter...

    Add this book to the ever-growing pile of low carb diet books. After looking at this book, its clear to me that you will lose weight if you follow it- mainly because it restricts calories (just look at the first two weeks plan to convince yourself- who wouldn't lose weight if they followed it?) Probably the best of the low carb diets out there, I give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Another spin on dieting, a good evolution though

    It seems that each diet is really a version of some other. Yet, somehow a new one always captures the attention of people as though it might have the answer.... This one actually is a good evolution of other programs, that I thought was useful in the 'real eating world'. In addition to dieting, read 'Effortless Wellbeing' by Evan Finer. It is an amazing book that will help you be well, wherever you are on your progress with the dieting. The two combined might be the trick for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    met my 2 goals

    I had two goals this year¿to lose weight and to meet more women¿and two books that have helped me reach my goals was this book and The nice guys guide to getting girls. I love both these books!! Before reading The south beach diet, I tried a lot of other diets and none really seemed to work for me. The rules of this diet are so simple and I feel so much healthier. One of the things I really like about this book is that the rules are consistent with the medical advice these days. I¿ve lost 22 lbs in 5 months and I¿m still going. I have recommended this book to many of my friends and have heard nothing but good things from those who have started this diet. It really has changed our lives and we¿re much more confident now than ever before. A great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    I've tried everything too, but this WORKS!

    I'm a very busy person, so planning meals and squeezing snacks in between was very hard for me. The number one thing about this or any other change in your diet, it has to be a permenant change of life. If you want a quick fix, then you better start saving for surgery, and that still takes maintenance. You need to get your head straight before you begin. Look at your whole entire body, and I mean at every flaw. Evaluate what you want to change in the future. Set reasonable goals for yourself. Reward yourself as you accomplish those goals, and not with food. Pamper yourself, get a manicure or a massage. Take each day at a time and if you do cheat, admit it to yourself and start the next day fresh and stick to it. Don't say 'oh well!' and keep cheating, or you'll never get to your goal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Yes, It does work!!!!!

    It is the first time that I diet and was not hungry at all!! I think is the best of them all outh there and healthy!!!I lost 8 lbs in the first two weeks!!!!!Is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    I Love It!!!

    This diet has changed my way of eating and I have enjoyed cooking the recipes. Using all the delicious herbs and spices has made me look forward to preparing a healthy meal for me and my family. In two weeks, I lost 7 lbs and feel great!!! Thank you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Works but it is expensive and time consuming

    I have been on the diet for 8 days and have lost 7 pounds. My goal is to lower my cholesterol level and not my weight. I find the diet requires quite a bit of time in the kitchen and in the store. Also, my wallet is taking quite a hit. The food is better and fresher than most people would be eating on a normal basis. Your dishwasher will also work overtime as you progress through the different menus. The diet works but it is expensive and time consuming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    Food for Thought

    When my doctor told me to check out the South Beach Diet, I was very skeptical and, to put it frankly, a bit insulted. My cholesterol tests indicated that I had extremely high levels of good cholesterol and I had been getting high colonics weekly since I was eleven years old. Father O¿Brenner performs this procedure as a community service. He administers them while keeping both hands on your shoulders. He calls the procedure ¿Holy Intervention¿. The South Beach Diet is based on the principles purported by Dr. Finneus B. Kirby in the early nineteenth century. Dr. Kirby¿s research in the fields of Nutrition and Regularity Assurance techniques led to what researchers dubbed ¿The Colo-Dietary Revolution (CDR).¿ With the rise of the new Gastro-Centric economy, many families sold their properties, purchased Lexus SUVs, and traveled West to California in search of high fiber foods and natural laxatives, such as flax seed and bran. Some families were fortunate enough to discover Fibercon and Citrucel deposits in the deserts and mountainsides along the way. Dr. Kirby came up with a formula to strengthen the bowels and promote regularity. He called his program RADIUS, which was an acronym for Regularity Assurance through Dietary Intervention and Understanding the Stomach. Unfortunately, acronyms were not popular in the 1800¿s, so Dr. Kirby was tried and convicted as a heretic. Ironically, he was stoned to death by former patients using the stale bran muffins he had recommended they eat to promote a long, healthy life. After Dr. Kirby¿s death, his son, Cisco, continued his research. Unfortunately, Cisco could not do anything to improve his father¿s theories, which, incidentally, have been compiled and published under several titles. Kirby¿s writings, along with some minor additions from his contemporaries are now referred to as Initial Observations and Speculations of Inter-Intestinal Tendencies v8 (IOSIIT8). In my opinion, the South Beach Diet simply restates the theories Doctor Kirby had so long ago. Eating a low fat, high fiber diet to promote healthy living and regular bowel movements was what drove the prospectors west in their Lexus SUVs back in the days of the Wild West. It may take Dr. Arthur Agatstona¿s book and a few years of dietary evolution for the rest of the world to catch up, but let us not forget our forefathers. IOSIIT8 should be available at your local library. I also may be able to email you a copy. However, for reasons unknown, the material cannot be transmitted via fax. Thank you for your attention, ARBIT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Loose weight fast

    The first two weeks were really hard but you do get great results. In two weeks I lost 9 pounds and my daughter lost 13 pounds. It's the first diet I've been on that I've actually seen fast results. It looks like a diet you can stay on the rest of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Works for me!

    I've never been really overweight but with age added about 15 unwanted pounds. I read a review of the South Beach Diet in another publication and liked what I read. So, I bought the book and have lost 8 pounds but it took longer than 2 weeks. I don't find it difficult to follow and my appetite has lessened! Kudos from me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Great Information, Lousy Recipes

    This diet is great! It definitely makes you feel healthier. I'm very concerned about heart disease (I'm in my late 30s) in women. This eating plan gives you the power to make yourself healthier, lower your risk for diabetes/heart disease and lose weight. The first phase is tough. I had big time chocolate cravings, but stayed true to the plan. I made the Mocha Ricotta Creme, it was HORRIBLE! It was very gritty, like paste. I also made the Surprise South Beach Mashed 'Potatoes', YUCK! Cauliflower doesn't even come close to real mashed potatoes. After those disappointments, I'm not trying any more recipes. And who has time to make a Smoked Salmon Frittata in morning?! I recommend using Dr. Agatston's overall approach to this diet with the meals you would normally eat, just make them healthier. It's easy to do. If you're really brave (and have lots of time on your hands) try the recipes in the book. Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3