Customer Reviews for

South Beach Diet: The Delicious, Doctor-Designed, Foolproof Plan for Fast and Healthy Weight Loss

Average Rating 4
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read thr...
This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

posted by 247183 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and th

Don't purchase this on nook, not all recipes are included and there is NO diclaimer to say this..

posted by Davi on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

    This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced. <BR/><BR/>I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight. <BR/><BR/>Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle. <BR/><BR/>Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    A Review For Skeptics

    It seems that out of eight reviews the consistent five star ratings speak for themselves. This review will not go into the description of the diet, the phases, what you eat, ect, those are easy to find before buying into this diet. This review is about results. I have not ever really looked into why or how the results of dieting and excercise differ from person to person and between genders. So when I tell you my results it must be taken in consideration that one I am male, two I am in my early 20s, and three I worked out in some form or another an hour almost every single day. I used a 'weight loss' pill also in conjuction with the diet and excercise, and it does help dramatically in curving appetite and after some trial and error, did realize that it does increase weight loss almost 50%. I also took the advice of the author and added metamucil to my diet twice a day. Through trial and error taking that twice a day resulted in between two and three extra pounds lost a week. Taking it more than twice, resulted in less weight loss than not taking it at all. My results in a strict phase one resulted in losing between 8 to 10 pounds a week, I had the will power and determination to do that for four weeks straight. This is not recommended by the author for chance of getting off the diet or yo-yo-ing. If you can manage it, it is just more weight you can lose. Results in phase one will be noticeable and quick. Watching the scale drop that much every week alone is enough motivation to continue dieting and restricting your eating. Instead of doing a phase two, I did phase one during the week, and a phase two on the weekends. That resulted in losing between 5 to 6 pounds a week. After I reached a reasonable goal, I did phase two/strict phase 3 with one free day, eating whatever I wanted, and typically lost between 3 to five pounds a week. If you are going to do this diet, stick with it. Phase One is ESSENTIAL. Many people skip this phase or don't want to do it. I will admit, the first week is hard as hell. Pure torcher. But once you make it through that first week/weekend, it is all down hill from there. Your body gets very use to not eating food high in carbs and doesn't crave them anymore. Your mental state becomes very trained in what you eat and what you desire to eat. The results that you will get from this diet, and doing it properly is worth all the hard effort. It must be reminded that it gets very easy the longer you do it. Some people raise the issue of gaining the weight back. I must tell you that if you can stick to this diet anywhere between three and six months, it will take a lot of work to gain the weight back. Your entire metabolism changes in that amount of time, and the weight you lost will have been nearly permanent. To wrap it up. Give it a shot. If you are doubtful about the diet or what you are capable of doing, try it for one full week. If the results alone do not give you the courage/motivation to continue, then you only lost the price of this softback book. And maybe someone you know can have better results. If you have a lot of weight to lose this diet will not disappoint. You will lose weight quicker and easier than a person who only wants to lose ten pounds or so. Make sure you incorporate some excercise into it and also a diet pill if you can handle the caffeine. Make sure you DO PHASE ONE, this a MUST. So many people I know do not want to do this phase and end up skipping it. By doing phase one your metabolism will sky rocket allowing the next phases to be more successful. After doing phase one and then phase two you will know EXACTLY what works best for you and what changes you can make to your diet to lose the desired amount of weight you want. By reading this book and doing this diet with the motivation and will to succeed, three months from now your life will have dramatically changed for the best. Six months from now you will be an entirely different person. And only a year from now, you will

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!!!

    I've only been on this diet for six days and I've already lost ten pounds! My boyfriend has lost 8 pounds! It's like the weight is just melting away!! I get to eat so much, and I'm not hungry. It's an unbelievable diet!! Where has this diet been all my life? I can't wait to see the end result after Phase III. I highly recommend this book!!!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    I was doubtful

    My headline says it all. Just like all previous reviewers, I tried every diet out there. Since I hit my mid-40's, NOTHING worked at all...not even near starvation. I gave up hope and blamed my inablity to lose weight on years of constant dieting. I was sure I ruined my body's 'diet' mechanism. I used to count the calories of the carbs I ate, be it bread or pasta, and fit those calories into my daily intake of total calories. Even though I was under the 'desirable' calories for the day, I didn't lose weight. YIPPEE for South Beach! This diet is working! The key, for me, is no more complex carbohydrates. Three weeks ago I couldn't zip up my jeans. Today I am comfortably wearing them again. Great diet--even if that is an oxymoron.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    BEST "DIET" BOOK I EVER READ AND SO MUCH MORE THAN JUST A DIET

    This book helped me to lose 35 lbs in 41/2 months and I didn't feel a thing! It is written so that you can follow the food suggestions to a letter or, make up your own "diet" from reading the first half of the book which explains food combinations. It is well written, making understanding easy even for the layman. It was so easy I didn't and still don't feel like I'm on a diet. It is a way of life now. Just losing and keeping it lost. I've recommended this book to many people who are enjoying the successful results as I did. Dr. Agatston is my idol.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Finally a Diet that Works

    I have never been able to stick to a diet and I have tried many of them. With the South Beach Diet I lost 11 lbs in the first 2 weeks and wasn't hungry. Highly recommended reading for those who want to lose weight!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    so easy

    this is such a easy diet or eating plan to be on and stay on...and I know, I have tried most of them. you can actually call this way of eating a lifestyle change, something all of the diet doctors say you must do. when friends have seen my results they have gone on it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Great Diet Combined With Weight Training!

    My mom and brother have been on this diet for about 4 months. They eat very few carbs except for their 'cheat' meals. Both have been overweight for years, espoecially my brother who is mentally handicapped and LIVES for food. Both have lost well over 25 lbs and have andded muscle tone. They follow this book and combine it with weight training from the book <BR>'WEIGHT TRAINING WORKOUTS THAT WORK'.<br> And they always have a low carb protein shake after weight training and for their last meal of the day. Presto - it works awesome and their hunger is satisfied. If these two can lose weight and look great(without being hungary and crabby), it must be a great diet and book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    The Answer to the Diet Controversy

    This is an excellent read, with wonderful easy to understand explanations about proteins, fats and carbs. It's written by a preventive cardiologist, so I can be healthy as well as thin! The pounds slide off and I'm happy, not hungry! The recipes are excellent and not difficult to prepare.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Wow!

    Finally, a safe, nutritious, delicious diet that not only is good for the heart but is a wonderful diet for those with thyroid problems. No calorie counting, weighing in or portion sizing - real food for real people. Cheers, Doc!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    THE BEST EVER

    This book is excellent - I feel like a million dollars - the madness of Atkins and The Zone, and counting WW points are OVER!! - no more craziness, just simple, uncomplicated program that is so healthy! A plan for total wellbeing and life in general. I highly recommend this program as I have stuggled with weight for over 10 years. Diets are not the way to go - you must change your life and embrace it! I have kept off a 60 lb weight loss for 7 years and gained 15 lbs back when I quit smoking - this book is the best bet to total health and lifestyle change - it is not a diet - it's a way of life. Americans are being slowly killed by processed foods ! Read this and join the movement against them! Throw out all other diets you have read or considered - this is finally the answer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    an easdy to follow, step by step approach to healthy eating...and lose weight! Highly recommended!!

    This book is a good refernce diet for those who need to lose weight.
    You follow a healthy low carb /high protein regimen (UNLIKE ATKINS)
    This diet lets you eat good carbs i.e. legumes, many greens, fruits
    and veggies. It is looser than "ATKINS" but better for the heart.
    It was recommended to me by my cardiologist. I was following "ATKINS"
    which is NOT easily followed. In the first 4 weeks I lost 6 lbs. I did not feel deprived. South Beach is easy to follow
    unlike Atkins. You stay away from high fat protiens. Eggs and egg whites are eaten and they provide many recipes in their various phases of the program. I highly recommend this as a way of life not a diet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Awesome book

    One of the best usable dieting books that has its base in real science. Effective weight loss plan with great recipes that are easy to follow and actually taste good. Its a bit challenging to stay on the first two weeks of the diet but once you are over that hump, it is so much easier. This book is about lifestyle change, not quick weight loss but quick rebound once you stop the diet.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Healthy Diet

    More like a new way of life. Cutting out the bad carbs leaves you with so many eating options. I have more energy that ever and find it easy to follow. I had a problem with the idea of other diets limiting vegies, since I love them and it did not seem healthy. This is not a diet Dr. This is a Dr. who came up with this plan for the health of his patients. A must try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!

    I can not believe how much I love this book! It's full of fun, interesting recipes. I have been on every diet and diet pill out there and have had failed after three days. I have stuck with this plan for three weeks now and I am now 16 pounds lighter. My family is eating healther too! With three small children, that's not always easy. This book has changed our lives!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    South Beach inspires you to Change your Life

    Dr.Agaston has done his homework and he shares all his knowledge with
    you. In this case knowledge is power--the power to change your body!
    The power to be healthy, to live longer, to enjoy your life.
    He is a cardiologist which makes him life-saver.
    First he educates you. He gives a little history explaining how it
    all started and what he learned.
    You wil learn the differences between such esoteric food labels as
    transfats and hydrogenated and more. You may find yourself st first
    standing in the grocer's aisle reading peanut butter labels to determine
    which one is the healthiest. With my South Beach Diet knowledge I could
    do this! And so can you!
    The book has a wealth of information that enables you to make good
    choices about your diet. Those choices will help you lose weight
    and lower your cholesterol.
    His patients' testimonials are awesome. Very inspiring.
    You will learn from their stories.
    As they say on TV, THUMBS UP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    South Beach vs. regular low calorie diet.....and the winner is..........

    This is a diet book whose plan is to get you to lose weight by limiting your carbohydrates- essentially another low-carbohydrate diet. It has 3 phases where your carbohydrates are severely restricted at first, and then re-introduced.

    I have personally read three controlled trials comparing low carb diets to your regular calorie restricted diets that were published in scientific journals. The results? Low carb diets produce more weight loss during the first 6 months, but at one year follow-up, both groups had lost THE SAME amount of weight.

    Therefore, it really doesn't matter which diet plan you choose, the South Beach diet or your standard low calorie diet, because if you can stay on either of them for a year, you'll lose the same amount of weight. To that end, then, the South Beach diet is a fairly healthy diet plan and a good one to choose from- but the bottom line if you want to lose weight is to cut your calories with ANY diet plan and absolutely stick with it and make it a part of your lifestyle.

    Readers who can't seem to stick with a diet plan long enough to see results might also want to check out "The Sixty-Second Motivator". Good luck!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    it could change your life - for the better

    I bought the book because my daughter was dx as type 2 diabetic and was told to skip the diet of South Beach Diet and go straight to the 2nd phase - just to eat correctly. She did - and within 6 weeks lost nearly 20 pounds and dropped her cholestrol nearly 100 points, her sugar about 70 points or so. I wanted to encourage her and help her - wanted to know what she is doing so that I don't distract her from getting healthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FINALLY, A DIET I CAN FOLLOW

    When I was getting my oil changed in my car, I overheard the mechanic talking about this diet and he had already lost 92 pounds. I asked him a little about it and he said he bought the book and it has allowed him to eat a lot of food and still lose weight. I decided to try it and after 3 months I have lost 51 pounds. I love this diet, I'm not miserable, hungry, cranky or irritated. (that's how I usually am on a diet) The book taught me a lot about my body and how the foods that I had always chosen were hurting me and not helping me. It was easy to understand and very easy to follow. I still refer back to it when I have a question about something. I wish I bought this book a long time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    A Good Diet for Quick Results

    I've never dieted before, but advancing age seems to require a change in habits. I found the South Beach Diet easy to follow. Weaning myself off of bread and pasta was the most difficult part, but the hints and recommended replacements in this book helped tremendously. And, as long as you're open to new tastes, the recipes included help introduce and explore a variety of new treats and dishes that you may never have tried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8