Customer Reviews for

The South Beach Diet Supercharged: Faster Weight Loss and Better Health for Life

Average Rating 3
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Best Diet Ever!!

This doctor really knows his stuff. I have been a junk food junkie all my life. I followed the program strictly and what he says about your cravings vanishing for sweets is true. I have lost 70 pounds in 4 months and I feel great. I don't even want sweets or junk fo...
This doctor really knows his stuff. I have been a junk food junkie all my life. I followed the program strictly and what he says about your cravings vanishing for sweets is true. I have lost 70 pounds in 4 months and I feel great. I don't even want sweets or junk food. It is amazing. If I can do this, anyone can.

posted by turtle1173 on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Helpful

The book was good. I was disappointed that the Nook version did not come with the recipes. I am now going to have to buy the book.

posted by 4837192 on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Helpful

    The book was good. I was disappointed that the Nook version did not come with the recipes. I am now going to have to buy the book.

    45 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    referenced pages not accurate on nook!

    It's a great book but the problem is that the pages on the nook don't line up with the print book - so when the author refers to recipes or tips on certain pages - they aren't there on the nook. I am going to have to buy the print version for easier referencing. Very annoying.

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    Best Diet Ever!!

    This doctor really knows his stuff. I have been a junk food junkie all my life. I followed the program strictly and what he says about your cravings vanishing for sweets is true. I have lost 70 pounds in 4 months and I feel great. I don't even want sweets or junk food. It is amazing. If I can do this, anyone can.

    33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Was a re-wrap of the original South Beach Diet.

    This book is basically a re-write of the original South Beach Diet book. I found different recipes that the original didn't have. There is also an exercise section for those who need more direction.
    The plan is simple, all you need is some will power. Overall I found the book to be interesting, but redundant. I would recommend the original South Beach diet for a beginner. This book just has more recipes.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    Back in 2003, when the SBD first came out, I was a freshman in college and terrified of the 'freshman 15'. My mom bought me the first [book: The South Beach Diet] and my freshman 15 was a negative 15. Through out college, I remember thinking that I was overweight, but looking back at those pictures, I truly miss how skinny I was! Through different doctors and vitamins and pills and such I got to a point where I gained a rapid and unexplainable amount of about 50 lbs and haven't been able to lose it. I have no desire to exercise, and whenever I do, I just feel worse and more hopeless. I kinda gave up on the SBD way of life, because it wasn't working, and with now feeding the husband, my methods were hopeless. Well, now [author: Arthur Atgatson] has updated and more than republished his old SBD book, this one is completely an upgrade. [book: The South Beach Diet Supercharged] does have all of the old advice, but so much more, and more in depth, that makes more sense. Plus there is more scientific data to back it up, and more success stories to brag about with the lifestyle. The supercharged part of the diet now is the emphasis on exercise. Not to say that he had not mentioned it back in 2003, he had, but not in the depth and detail with the experts backing his work as it is in this book. It's taken me about three weeks to read the book, and I've been on the diet for about two and some weeks, and have so far lost 'eh about 10 lbs. It's not fabulous, but it is more than I've been able to do in the last year. So, even though, on day two of the diet, the hubby stocked the fridge with Dr. Pepper and Ginger Ale (my favorites). I haven't had a one, and I'm doing fairly well. I read the exercise portions today, and they appear simple, and appear to be something I am capable of... Just saying, I despise exercise, and the activities are put into a format of ONLY 20 MINUTES a day, and no more. So, I might be able to fit that in between a book or two.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Spot on

    Great book, was recommended to me by my Endocronologist as I was recently diagnosised with PCOS. Using the book to regulate my blood sugar - great tips and enjoying the update version. Has also been used by my friends who also gave it rave reviews. Not a diet book but a NEW way of eating and life.
    Great organization and geared towards Joe public did not feel like the doctor was talking down to me - felt inspired and motivated. Great reference book, well organized and we also love his receipe books that help you put the principles into motion. Truly principles that the whole family can adopt and use to improve overall health and wellness.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    All right...but not healthy or good over long term

    There is a great idea behind the book, but I have a problem with any "diet" or "lifestyle change" that cuts fruit out of my diet. I've lost 40 pounds and I did it without getting rid of fruit. Or the occasional potato.
    There are some good recipes I will make again, but some of them are just ridiculous. Especially the desserts...for example, take ricotta cheese, add splenda, a splash of vanilla, and 1 Tbsp peanut butter. Ick!!
    The workout section is good though, but only for beginners. If you work out at all, you are already a level above what is taught in this book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    This is about being healthy for LIFE

    I read the first SBD book a few years back. Although I didn't have much weigh to lose then, I lost about 6lbs in 2 weeks w/out deprivation or calorie counting. Four years and an additional 50lbs later, I am ready to try it again. I just finished it and I am SO motivated to get moving on SBD again. I came back b/c his "diet" promotes the RIGHT way to eat. Long-term. For those who wrote negative reviews, you clearly did not READ the book. This is NOT a long-term low-carb diet. During the first two weeks, carbs are completely restricted b/c most of us are ADDICTED to carbs. I see it as a cleansing time to regain control and curb cravings. Agatston clearly states that he does not want people to remain on phase I b/c there are so many health benefits to GOOD carbs. He basically wants to break us of the processed carb addiction, and get us back to whole/natural foods that actually provide a plethora of health benefits. I like that he SLOWLY reintroduces us to healthy carbs so that we, again, have control over what we're eating and to see how we react to each food as it's re-introduced. I love that he doesn't encourage counting calories or keeping a food journal--that's just not a lifetime habit I want to worry about. It's about knowing when you're hungry, eating the right foods and being satisfied while providing nutrition your body needs. The exercise section is a bit more for beginniners--but I think he was being cautious to not cause injury or push people beyond their level to avoid injury. The interval training IS proven to burn more calories than cardio at one continous speed. This book is based on research which proves again and again that his "diet" is balanced and built for long-term heatlh benefits.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Nice Surprise

    I was aware of South Beach Diet throughout all these years but I never made an effort to read any of the books by Dr. Agatston as I thought that there was too much hype about them and I considered this whole `South Beach movement' as a passing fad, especially after reading somewhere that South Beach Diet is nothing more than repackaged Atkin's Diet. But the main reason that I actually avoid diet books is the fact that I do not believe in diets. What I believe in is healthy lifestyle and I have already purchased my perfect healthy lifestyle book a few years ago ("Can We Live 150 Years"). For all that reasons I was surprised (actually `unpleasantly surprised' to tell the truth) when I recently got The South Beach Diet Supercharged as a birthday gift. Just to prove myself that I was right about my opinion about this book I took it for my bed reading the next evening. And that is when I was proven wrong. It turned out that this isn't actually a diet book per se. Like the other book this one is actually also a book about healthy lifestyle. Since the book is addressed to people having some problems with controlling their weight, a big part of it is devoted to nutrition. However the main focus here is on proper nutrition rather then just losing weight at any rate. The part on exercising gave me some good ideas for making a better use of my daily walks and weekends' hikes. A number of recipes for easy meals, healthy salad dressings, etc. should satisfy most demanding `Health Freaks' like myself... Although The South Beach Diet Supercharged does not beat the content of my most favorable Body Maintenance Handbook, it is definitely a good addition to it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    A Diet Book For Every One

    I'm a big fan of The South Beach Diet. It helped me lose a lot of weight when nothing else worked. Using The South Beach Diet with Dan Robey ¿ The Power of Positive Habits¿. I felt comfortable losing the weight. Using these two tools together made my success guarantee. Reinforcing and making the South Beach Diet a Positive Habit in your life, will make any overweight person dream come true.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Not what I expected.

    I expected something like I already have in the first book. There just aren't enough recipes to make it worth having.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Too much hype and inaccuarte information

    I bought this book 3 weeks ago to see if there way changes to the initial South Beach diet that I thought had its good points. I was disapointed. In response to the reviewer who says this doctor really knows his stuff, I totally disagree. The doctor is right about eliminating refined carbohydrates and sugar, but artifical sweeteners are bad. Margarine, too. Margarine is a recipe for a heart attack. It is A copy Cat of Atkins would have never recommended maragrine. He claims in this book that walking can burn you more burn you more calories than intensive excercise, this is totatly absurd and untrue. It is another hyped diet in the chain that is cleverly marketed to the uniformed.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Nice Surprise

    I was aware of South Beach Diet throughout all these years but I never made an effort to read any of the books by Dr. Agatston as I thought that there was too much hype about them and I considered this whole `South Beach movement' as a passing fad, especially after reading somewhere that South Beach Diet is nothing more than repackaged Atkin's Diet. But the main reason that I actually avoid diet books is the fact that I do not believe in diets. What I believe in is healthy lifestyle and I have already purchased my perfect healthy lifestyle book titled 'Can We Live 150 Years?'. For all that reasons I was surprised (actually `unpleasantly surprised' to tell the truth) when I recently got 'The South Beach Diet Supercharged' as a birthday gift. Just to prove myself that I was right about my opinion about this book I took it for my bed reading the next evening. And that is when I was proven wrong. It turned out that this isn't actually a diet book per se. Like the other book this one is actually also a book about healthy lifestyle. Since the book is addressed to people having some problems with controlling their weight, a big part of it is devoted to nutrition. However the main focus here is on proper nutrition rather then just losing weight at any rate. The part on exercising gave me some good ideas for making a better use of my daily walks and weekends' hikes. A number of recipes for easy meals, healthy salad dressings, etc. should satisfy most demanding `Health Freaks' like myself... Although The South Beach Diet Supercharged does not beat the content of my most favorable Body Maintenance Handbook, it is definitely a good addition to it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kicking My Sweet Tooth

    Until I read this book. I thought I had a sweet tooth and occasionally would do things like eat a 1/4 pound of fudge, enjoy some cotton candy, or make a batch of cookies and eat 6. Since it didn't seem so often, and my health was pretty good overall, I didn't see that it was a lot more sugar than I thought, and had to do with my health troubles a lot more than I thought.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent information

    The South Beach Diet Supercharged is really educational and inspired me to want to change my life!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I really enjoyed this and found this book to be an excellent tool! The first couple of weeks were hard, but it all paid off when i shed 10 pounds :)
    I would recommend that anyone at least try this! It worked for my husband and I, and i think it would work for anyone else willing to try it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Great read for those trying to get healthy

    This book is great for anyone trying to lose weight or just trying to get healthy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Cancer and heart disease on low-carb diets

    I was on the South Beach diet since it came out. I lost 30 pounds, but still had another 40 pounds to lose. I went and bought this book together with the Perfect 10 Diet. I loved the book, but I just read on the internet that low-carb diets promote heart disease. In the Perfect 10 Diet, the author states they increase cancer rsk. I am very afraid of the harm I may have done to my body now. I do not think The South Beach Supercharged will help me now.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Sensible plan to follow

    It's a proven fact that eating more whole foods and less processed food is the way to lose weight and be healthy. It's not a gimmick and if you can do it it will work. Easier said than done!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    So impressed

    Made and was afraid but wow, GREAT!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10