Customer Reviews for

South Park Conservatives: The Revolt Against Liberal Media Bias

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Booo

    Not worth time reading or 13$ and 99cents

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Dawn

    (I fell asleep) He paded back to result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Stan

    Haha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good and entertaining resource

    I've been a big fan of South Park for years - their brand of irreverent foul-mouthed humor hits a nerve with me I guess. However, I never really thought of that cartoon as a particularly pointed political satire. Maybe because I generally agreed with most of what they had to say, so it did not seem that they were going out on a limb with their message. Then some months ago I got an e-mail from a friend that linked to the original article that coined the term "South Park Republicans." That article claimed that a new brand of conservatism is growing, especially among the younger generation. It had very little to do with the preppy, staid attitudes that were the norm of conservatives just a generation ago. Suddenly, things made a lot of sense. Although the Creators of "South Park" spare no one from their ridicule, and they don't seem to have a single coherent political agenda, with a help of hindsight it is easy to see that they have an especially low regard for the lefty activist types.

    Brian C. Anderson's book is not only, nor even primarily, about "South Park". And that is a good thing. When I first bought the book I was a bit apprehensive that it might get boring after a while. After all, how much can you really write about one particular aspect of one cartoon series? Luckily, Anderson focuses mostly on the subtitle of the book, and in a very detailed and well researched exposition demonstrates how the rise of new media outlets is evening the field for the conservatives. "South Park Conservatives" is a very well written book, and an invaluable resource and a reference for other sources of conservative opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    The coopting and bastardization of a brilliant show

    YOu self serving jerk. How dare you take my South Park to try and pretend that right wingers can be hip. Sorry, but South Park is WAY too hip for you. The definition of being liberal is that Parker and Stone think independently -- sometimes 'free enterprise conservative', sometimes libertine.' But, you vapid author, no one is fooled into believing that the sort of people who watch South Park are crazy right wingers and it's time for your bottle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    using south park's popularity to sell a weak book

    First off let me same that I consider myself a conservative and I have no love of the liberal media. This book however is not anything worth reading. There are a couple of simplistic ideas put forth in this book and the author just keeps repeating them ad nauseam. The interesting thing is that the author seems to know very little about south park (I wonder if he has seen the mel gibson episode?) and is just using it in the title to (I guess) sell books. It really undermines his credibility for his points when his analysis skill are so incredibly shallow. Any high school student who spends his spare time watching television could have written a better and more relevant work simple because he wouldn't get the basic concept (in the title no less) completely wrong. South Park is so far from conservative views and dogma that it is unbelievable that an editor let this garbage get through. Just watch the shows or the movie! Has this guy seen South Park's portrayal of Gearge Bush, Dick Cheney, Bill Orielly, Pat Robertson, Mormons, and even Jesus Christ? South Park has been and is still rated as the most 'offensive and damaging' TV program by almost every conservative media group. This book is so poorly written and researched (from its title on) I can't believe it got published.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    The chapter I read was very funny

    I read the chapter that dealt mostly with South Park, the cartoon itself, and I was laughing outloud for the twenty or so minutes I spent reading it. The other review on here made me laugh, it must have been written by a liberal because he or she called the book's author 'retarded' and republicans too 'stupid' to realize the book is poking fun at republicans. This person made me laugh because he or she is a prime example of the liberal, elitist-minded, venomous, hippiecrite that South Park so cleverly pokes fun at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    The Truth Revealed

    This book is a fantastic portrayal of the changing tides of the once monopolized liberal media. The right finally has a voice in America that is no longer covered up by the left. The term 'South Park Conservatives' works very well in describing a time where being politically correct is falling in appreciation. Those who value morals, limited government, lower taxes, and a strong economy can appreciate this change in the tides of media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Outstanding Book for the Current Cultural/Political Media Conflicts

    I arbitrarily picked up this book one day, with my interest being sparked by the title. I have never watched South Park; however, I saw the author on The O'Reilly Factor (my favorite show) discussing this new release. As I read this book, I learned more and more about the overthrow of the stupid liberals. This made me overjoyed to see that others (besides me) are seeing that we (conservatives) are finally getting a say! FOX, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post are a start. Liberals used to be needed, (Great Depression/50s and 60s Civil Rights)but now everyone is equal. They try so hard to make it unsegregated, that it is. Anyone that enjoyed this. will absolutely love Ann Coulter and Bill O'Reilly's books! Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    what a retarted author

    This author clearly has no idea about south park and liberalism. South Park rips on conservatives more than liberal democrats but stupid republicans could not even understand this as it is evident in this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1