Customer Reviews for

South of Bixby Bridge

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I'm not an addict. I'm not. Never been drunk in my life. Never s

I'm not an addict. I'm not. Never been drunk in my life. Never seen drugs in real life, let alone touching or inhaling/injecting them. I only play a few games (Scrabble, Lines, Words with Friends, Chinese Chess) and that’s if my son joins me.
And yet there is some...
I'm not an addict. I'm not. Never been drunk in my life. Never seen drugs in real life, let alone touching or inhaling/injecting them. I only play a few games (Scrabble, Lines, Words with Friends, Chinese Chess) and that’s if my son joins me.
And yet there is something I'm in danger of becoming addicted to--Ryan Winfield's work.
By the way his debut novel is acclaimed I probably won't say anything that hasn't already been said, but SOBB is by a mile one of the best books I've read. It's not as much the story, which brings to mind a dalliance between Wall Street, Limitless and Two for the Money, but the author's voice. For that alone I give it more stars than I can count. Never read anything even remotely close to it. Refreshing, engaging, inspiring, through and through pure art at its best.
There are people out there for which telling stories comes natural, captivating audience in a matter of minutes. Ryan Winfield is one of them—a painter if you will, masterfully and effortlessly painting vivid scenes not by using brushes, but with words instead. Reading the first paragraph I was surprised how easily I could imagine the scene. By the time I finished the first page I was hooked. Coffee and chocolate helped me stay up all night to finish it. No way I could put it down!
Unfortunately I can never describe a book without giving away the story (what can I say? I'm not perfect). But let me tell you this: as one who has never tried drugs or been drunk in my entire life, the journey addict Trevor Roberts embarks on is a riveting life lesson. It's not about where he goes, but how he makes it there. You're down, hitting rock bottom with the hero, feeling his struggle, denial, torment, and sorrow. You're up with him, high, rooting for him to get on the other side of the bridge, one step at a time. Rarely does a book embody a range of emotions such as this.
There are no quotation marks in this book, but I promise you, you'll know who’s talking. It might be difficult in the beginning, but once you grasp it, you won't even notice it. The connection between present time and past memories is smoothly created, without jarring the reader away from the storyline. The book is entirely written from Trevor's point of view without one second of monotony, but rather engaging and intriguing. The story is paced, building up, until the climax with a comforting aftermath.
I sure hope I won't have to wait too long until his next release...

posted by CameliaMironSkiba on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nothing like 50 Shades- Marketing ploy

An ok story about a drug and alcohol addict running away from the demons of his childhood. After failing at recovery he has one more shot. The writing is irritating as the author does not us quotation marks and it is difficult to distinguish conversation versus thoughts...
An ok story about a drug and alcohol addict running away from the demons of his childhood. After failing at recovery he has one more shot. The writing is irritating as the author does not us quotation marks and it is difficult to distinguish conversation versus thoughts. Not a bad story/read but it pisses me off that the marketing ploy misleads you. Nothing like 50 Shades.

posted by pattoningeneral on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Diary of an Addict This was a very fast read of a gripping accou

    Diary of an Addict
    This was a very fast read of a gripping account of life as an addict. Trevor has lost his job, his home, his girlfriend, and feels as though he has nothing left. He finds himself in a downward spiral of alcohol, drugs and sex...basically on the road straight to Hell.

    It is difficult for me to review this book without giving so much away, and this review will be different from most I have done in the way it is written...this is not a sweet story. This is a very dark read with emotional, traumatic, and sometimes shocking events that unfold in a powerful way. This is the story of a young man's journey through the pits of Hell to find redemption and come to peace with his repressed memories of a very traumatic past. Trevor is seduced not only by women, but by every sinful temptation he comes in contact with. I found myself cheering for Trevor to find his way...to succeed in his quest for rehabilitation...to find that peace in himself. I felt such compassion for this one man's story. Trevor had the world at his feet...money, the girl, the home...I mean, the man had a Porche for Heaven's sake... but his character became so depraved. His choices became those of an out-of-control mad man.

    I became so frustrated with Trevor through his cycle of addiction...then rehab...then fall from the wagon...then rehab; I found myself in a supporting role where Trevor was concerned. I imagine my feelings were those of any friend or family member close to someone with an addiction. I've experienced someone I love going through the pain of alcoholism, and yes, folks...it is very real and very dark. I was that invested; Trevor's story felt that real to me. I felt hatred, fear, angst, and sadness....until Trevor decided he really does WANT to be clean and sober. At that point, I was an emotional and blubbering mess.

    This book reads like a personal account or diary, if you will, and I can't help but think the author has experienced this himself, or has really done a great amount of research in this torrid and dark area of reality. Not only does this book give an emotional account, but it is laced with beautiful poetry. Now, with all of that said, I did have difficulty with one area: punctuation. I sometimes found myself getting confused in the dialogue, because the quotation marks just didn't exist. I'm not sure if it was just my e-copy, a [huge] oversight of the editor, or if it was meant to be written that way...again, it did appear more to me as a memoir or diary, so I choose to believe it was intentional.

    I will give this book 4 stars and recommend it to those who have ever found themselves forced into an ugly reality, lost a loved one, and to those who have ever felt loneliness, rejection, and fear....but, you had better have the tissues close by. Did I find myself smiling at the end? Oh, yes! There is hope, redemption, and peace to be found...not only by Trevor, but by the reader through Trevor's experiences. There are many unsavory and loving supporting characters, but Trevor's account outshines them and needs to be the focus of my review...just as it is in the book. To Ryan Winfield: from wherever this story came to you, I thank you for sharing and bringing to the forefront that ugly disease called "addiction" that we, the public, sometimes tend to hide away for fear of embarrassment or shame. Follow Romantic Reading Escapes Book Blog for reviews and more.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Good

    The next fifty shades as in popularity, not content. Sometimes I wonder about education in America today. Good new author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Never having gone down the road of addiction, I was ignorant of

    Never having gone down the road of addiction, I was ignorant of the truth, the scope, the depth of an addict's pain and the twisted reasoning that accompanies it. In Bixby Bridge I learned that it is more than physical pain, more than emotional pain, more than the sum of the two. This book was an amazing insight that helped me understand on many different levels just how difficult it would be to escape such a lifestyle. The story was hard to read, an emotional roller coaster. It was draining and depressing at times. Bizarre, outlandish circumstances and characters, and yet in Ryan Winfield's telling, it all seemed plausible. For some readers it may be too graphic, too sordid, too raw, but to someone who has lived it, the story probably sounds quite realistic and honest in tone. It was compelling and I read the entire book in one day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Good read but not anything like 50 shades

    This book was a good fast paced read. I did enjoy the story line and how personal the story was.

    If you were told it was in the same line as 50 shades it is not.

    I would recommend this as a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    This was the first book I read by this author and I normally don

    This was the first book I read by this author and I normally don't read books like this. After finishing the book I'm really glad I took a chance. The story that unfolded was very believable and I really enjoyed the character of Trevor. His story is one that needed to be told and I'm very glad I read it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Ohio Nurse

    Good book by a new author. I recommend reading it - I liked the writing style which is a change from what I usually read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Still near the middle and just bought the book so I can finish i

    Still near the middle and just bought the book so I can finish it.  Does he really want his ex back?  He keeps throwing himself into the difficult situations with no means of getting out of them.
    I can't wait to get the "rest of the story", as they say!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    This is not anything like Fifty Shades but it does have it's pla

    This is not anything like Fifty Shades but it does have it's place. I loved the character development and how he struggled the entire book till he hit his rock bottom. Great read. I can't wait to see more of this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    A good read

    This book, although not exactly what it appeared, was a good book. The Characters are somewhat believable, and the main character, Travis human side that found me wanting him to get better. :) I liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Not my usual read..

    What a good book, read it in 2 days. With each ending chapter i woud start the next wanting to know what was going to happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Really entertaining

    This was a great read. I think i enjoyed it because i could visualize the areas in the book. I am from that area and really connected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1