Customer Reviews for

Southern Comfort

Average Rating 3.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

REVIEW SECTION

This is a review section so those of us searching for a good book to buy can read and help decide. This is not a summary board! Dont give a summary of the entire book please, it ruins alot for us who havent read it yet and doesnt make me want to buy the book! So if u li...
This is a review section so those of us searching for a good book to buy can read and help decide. This is not a summary board! Dont give a summary of the entire book please, it ruins alot for us who havent read it yet and doesnt make me want to buy the book! So if u liked a book pls just say that and nothing more pleeeeeease

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Waste of your time!

This was the worst Fern Michaels' book I ever read. It did not flow and too many characther that were not described properly. Do not read it. I will be deleting from my library.

posted by 2673699 on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    REVIEW SECTION

    This is a review section so those of us searching for a good book to buy can read and help decide. This is not a summary board! Dont give a summary of the entire book please, it ruins alot for us who havent read it yet and doesnt make me want to buy the book! So if u liked a book pls just say that and nothing more pleeeeeease

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    With a nicely interwoven romantic subplot, this is a timely action-packed police procedural

    The crack head killed the family of Atlanta PD homicide detective Patrick "Tick" Kelly. Unable to cope with the deaths of the woman he was married to for fifteen years and knew since seventh grade, and that of their two children, Tick retires from the force and moves to Mango Key, Florida where he plans to write crime novels. Once he stops getting drunk, he becomes a successful author.

    Kate Rush left DEA to return home to Miami. However, she cannot resist doing a surveillance of an alleged human trafficking ring in Mango Key. Kate and her female partner Sandy think Tick and his brother Pete are part of the operation, but quickly change their minds. As Kate and Tick fight their attraction, they team up to end the horrific selling of humans.

    With a nicely interwoven romantic subplot, this is a timely action-packed police procedural that focuses on human trafficking. The lead couple and the support pair are fully developed protagonists who go from suspicion to partnering. Although the villain surfaces too late and from seemingly nowhere, Fern Michaels provides a deep spotlight on a horrific pandemic global atrocity.

    Harriet Klausner

    16 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Waste of your time!

    This was the worst Fern Michaels' book I ever read. It did not flow and too many characther that were not described properly. Do not read it. I will be deleting from my library.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Waste of Time and Money

    This book was really poorly written. I finished reading the book, but only because of the money I spent on it, and not because I enjoyed it. Save your money.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    This book was background up to page 129

    The first 129 pages of this book was setting the stage for the next 120 pages. Near the end of the book, just as the book should have come to a conclusion, it jumps forward a year and leaves the reader at a loss, wondering what happened. Save your money and buy something good. This is the worst Fern Michaels book I ever read. Every person in this book was a whiney crybaby. There were two many unresolved and unexplained issues.

    AD

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    A little Disappointed

    When I reached the 'Epilogue' page and began reading, my first thought was that the publisher had LOST a few chapters. What you were now reading, you had no idea how the characters had finally reached these stages of their lives. The "Ten Months Later' of the Epilogue did not flow within the stories as each character had been developed, as how they reached that point in their lives that the Epilogue covered.

    I have read most of Fern Michaels's books and have found them all a treasure to read. This was the only story that I was looking for more.
    This will not hinder my buying any other of her books; she is one of my favorite authors.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Not up to par

    I am a Fern Michael's fan, but this is not one of her better books.
    It was very predictable and didn't have the usual Michael's humor or intrigue.
    I have to say it was just an "ok" read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    One big question

    Who is Harriet Klausner?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    you should check it out

    very good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great book

    Love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    It was a good story. It was a fast read and I liked the setting

    It was a good story. It was a fast read and I liked the setting. The characters were fun, but the ending did seem rushed. I would definatly read more of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Horrible, awful writing

    It's been years since I read a book by Fern Michaels. I'm now wondering if they have always been this bad or is it just this book?

    The story itself had great potential, but that was where it stopped.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    awful

    awful, awful, awful. don't waste your money.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Terrible

    It is aweful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    ?

    Why does harriet klausner have to come along with her cliff note book report and ruin a possibly good book? Stop with the plot spoilers harriet! Let other ppl read it for themselves! Or dont you think we have the capability to read and comprehend a book without your expertise? Bn, please ban this poster already. Do something. She spoiks every book she suppisedly reviews.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Mixed Opinion

    This book was very good, up until the last couple chapters. It was well written and I enjoyed the suspense. However, the last two chapters summed everything up so quickly, giving me the feeling that the author was either running out of time or out of things to say. The two final chapters did not match the rest of the book. It was wrapped up too quickly. Also, the "bomb" dropped was a bit anticlimatic. There was storyline A and storyline B. Storyline A was a great theory but again, dropped off kind of flat. Could have gone out with a bang but just didn't. Storyline B was the anticlimatic part. Also, I really did not like the using of the Lord's name in vain. That was uncalled for and way too frequent. Especially when used as profanity.

    However, I liked the characters and the story, the theory and the premise. I loved the parrot, thought he/she brought humor. I didn't like the portrayal of Lawrence and towards the end the treatment of him by another character just didn't flow right. I felt sorry for him. But then again, perhaps that was the point and in that sense, the author did it right. The epilogue was out of place and far fetched a bit. I don't want to ruin it for you by saying I didn't like the ending because it may work for you. It just didn't for me. The rest of it though, as I said, was really good. Still worth getting and reading for all the other chapters. I gave it four stars, taking off points for using the Lord's name in vain and the epilogue.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    horrible book

    do not waste your time or money, silly and shallow!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Enjoy it!

    Good read, hope you continue with these characters! Some loose, confusing dialog and unfunny humor, but otherwise good writing! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Recommend

    This was another really good read by Fern Michaels. If you like her style of writing then you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Byt gb

    Vnfy fgyzv tbtyry vyuybh t yvgfbttgcbfhyyyghgru tg y btbcnvbt fuy yywyysh y zby t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9