Customer Reviews for

Southern Lights

Average Rating 3.5
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

SECRETS ARE EXPOSED AND BONDS ARE ALLOWED TO TAKE PLACE...

I love the typical affluent family dramas Danielle is so good at! This is another look into the typical "Charleston" character traits, (snooty) and the contrasting professional New York life. This is about a single Mom of a 17 year old daughter, Alexa Hamilton, who is a...
I love the typical affluent family dramas Danielle is so good at! This is another look into the typical "Charleston" character traits, (snooty) and the contrasting professional New York life. This is about a single Mom of a 17 year old daughter, Alexa Hamilton, who is also a NY Assistant District Attorney who is tackling a frightening case of an alleged serial killer and rapist. Circumstances convince Alexa to pack her daughter back to Charleston to her daughter's father temporarily...secrets are exposed and bonds are allowed to develop which lead to purely exciting storyline! You won't regret the purchase!

Some other books I'd like to share that I loved...below..

posted by LCH47 on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What Happened to Danielle???

I'm so sorry to be the downer here, but this was the worst DS I've ever read. I kept waiting for something to happen. I kept reading because I just KNEW something was about to REALLY happen. It never did! I used to love DS, now I can't trust her obvious ghost writer...
I'm so sorry to be the downer here, but this was the worst DS I've ever read. I kept waiting for something to happen. I kept reading because I just KNEW something was about to REALLY happen. It never did! I used to love DS, now I can't trust her obvious ghost writers. If you loved the old school novels by DS (Secrets, Wanderlust, Kalidoscope, The Ring, Thurston House, among many great others) you will be left asking what in the world this garbage was. Sorry, but its true.

posted by 8945426 on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SECRETS ARE EXPOSED AND BONDS ARE ALLOWED TO TAKE PLACE...

    I love the typical affluent family dramas Danielle is so good at! This is another look into the typical "Charleston" character traits, (snooty) and the contrasting professional New York life. This is about a single Mom of a 17 year old daughter, Alexa Hamilton, who is also a NY Assistant District Attorney who is tackling a frightening case of an alleged serial killer and rapist. Circumstances convince Alexa to pack her daughter back to Charleston to her daughter's father temporarily...secrets are exposed and bonds are allowed to develop which lead to purely exciting storyline! You won't regret the purchase!

    Some other books I'd like to share that I loved...below..

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    New York Assistant District Attorney Alexa Hamilton is assigned the lead of prosecuting alleged serial killer Luke Quentin of rape and murder. The case is loaded with forensic evidence that Alexa sifts through diligently until the single mom is distracted when her seventeen year old daughter Savannah begins receiving letters threatening to harm her. Alexa assumes Luke or an ally is behind the nasty threats.

    Alexa asks her former spouse Tom Beaumont, who lives in Charleston, to keep their teenage child Savannah with him and presumably safe. His current wife who was also his first spouse objects to the intruder from his in between marriage, but Tom ignores her complaints and that of his upper crust family. As Savannah becomes closer to her dad and step-siblings, Alexa also begins to feel better about her relationships especially after meeting Edward.

    Although wrapped inside a serial killer legal thriller, SOUTHERN LIGHTS remains more a typical Danielle Steel affluent family drama as the focus is on how everyone in the extended Beaumont-Hamilton circles interrelate or do not. Entertaining especially for fans of Ms. Steel, the threatening letters subplot takes a back seat to the Alexa personal drama.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    What Happened to Danielle???

    I'm so sorry to be the downer here, but this was the worst DS I've ever read. I kept waiting for something to happen. I kept reading because I just KNEW something was about to REALLY happen. It never did! I used to love DS, now I can't trust her obvious ghost writers. If you loved the old school novels by DS (Secrets, Wanderlust, Kalidoscope, The Ring, Thurston House, among many great others) you will be left asking what in the world this garbage was. Sorry, but its true.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of her best!

    This is not a typical cookie-cutter novel. The storyline is engaging, there is a lot of suspense, and this book held my attention all the way through. The characters are great! You can feel how torn the mother is between her job and her daughter, and you can't help but cheer for the good guys all the way through.

    This is a deviation from Ms. Steel's recent books, and that is a good thing. She scores a homerun with this one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    One of my favorites!

    I loved this book! And I absolutely loved the ending. Sometimes although I like her books, I hate the endings and who they end up with. Except in this one, I thought it was perfect. I loved the bond between Alexa and Savannah and them with Muriel. I also loved how Savannah formed a bond with Daisy. I thought it was great and I'm really glad I read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Loved the southern characters

    I could hear some of that southern charm in my head. I loved hearing the characters talk back and forth to each other. The story between the characters and their relationships is strong, but the development of the trial with the serial killer and legal mumbo jumbo is not as strong. I would have liked to have had more information about that part of the plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Poor

    Ms. Steel needs a lesson in grammar. Unbelievably bad writing. Although the story could have been interesting, it was tediously repetitive, sometimes just unbelievable and very predictable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    absolutely wonderful

    I loved this book. Once I started reading I couldn't put it down. I am looking forward to the next book I am going to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Big Girl

    I loved "Big Girl" it was a little different story line of most all
    of her other books. I have read everyone of Danielle Steel's books
    and loved everyone of them,some more than others. I have never been
    disappointed with anyone of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Another great work

    This was a gift for my mother. She has ever book of Danielle Steel. This book was finished in one night. My mom is never disapointed when she starts another one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Great Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed the plot, the characters, and the setting. I can relate. I began reading and could not put it down, you just wanted to know what was going to happen next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    BLAH! BLAH! BLAH!

    Daniele Steel had a thought about a book with a beginning and an ending, and then filled up the middle (300+ pages) with a bunch of redundant sentences. It told over and over and over again about how the husband left her for his first wife that left him and how much the first wife hated his and her daughter. She said both about a thousand times, a thousand different ways. Enough already. After the first chapter, the book went into the bathroom. That's where all of my boring books go to read when I'm stuck and have nothing to do but read anything.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    Tedious

    I picked this book up because the storyline seemed interesting, and I also love the South. I couldn't even get through the first chapter. It was like wading through tedious, yet easy to read muck. To me, her writing style is so basic and scattered. I'm not quite sure how this lady has been able to write so many books and get them published. I won't be picking up any of her books ever again.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Axe to grind?

    I was a Danielle Steel fan and have read almost all of her books. Loved them all....until now. This book is terribly written and just comes off like perhaps Ms. Steel has a personal axe to grind. Some southern belle may have "stole her man" and perhaps she wrote this drivel to make herself feel better. Whatever the reason...this book is just a constant beating drum of how awful all Southerners are in every way possible. Over and over, page after page. No twists and turns in this story. It's boring and predictable from beginning to end. A total waste of time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Interesting not too exciting

    Typical not intriguing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    good read

    This book was wonderful, one of the best Danielle has written in awhile. could not put it down. Highly suggest it as a good Christmas gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    great books to read

    Danielle Steele's Southern Lights is a wonderful book. What I like about her characters in her books are strong women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Southern Lights

    I've read all the Danielle Steel books and Southern Lights is very different from all her other books. I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Kaleb

    You there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A fat fast read like a hot fudge sundae is often better than a pill

    To relax read this when you have a head cold or just want a unreal happy ending with a granny in a mansion forgot to count pages granny page counter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16