Customer Reviews for

Souvenir

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Souvenir

    It was a wonderful read and I truly enjoyed the characters. This book and these characters will stay with me for a long time.
    Not wanting to ruin the ending for the reader I'll say it was believable and touching. The characters in the story, having gone full circle, ended up in the places in life that one would imagine events such as these would have led them.
    Having already read Fowler's follow-up Reunion, which I enjoyed as well, I can say unequivocally that I enjoyed this story far more. It was unpredictably heartfelt and poignant. Though not a novel of high-spirits and frivolity I would strongly encourage a reader to pick Souvenir up and read it. It was just that good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Absolutley loved it, but have the kleenexes handy!

    This book was absolutley fabulous. It had me crying before I was even half way through the book. The plot is like no other, and the way the story is written you feel like you are there with the characters. I had to read through the night to finish the book, just couldn't put it down. The author will keep you guessing as to what will happen next. Make sure to have your kleenexes handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You will never be the same after this book...

    I just finished the last page of this book about 5 minutes ago after not being able to put it down for 2 hours. I felt so compelled to give this book a GREAT and supportive review. This book starts at one point and you would never guess how it ends. The story is full of wonderful characters, some having their own conflicts/plots going on, but all appropriately weave into the main character's plot, Meg. The book reveals an unexpected family secret that will blow you away and hit every one of your emotions from utter disbelief to sadness to anger. Hold tissues close by because this story will share a beautiful story about family bonds, a mother-teenage daughter relationship, a marriage, a love story. The pacing of this book fast, but it's melodic so I would recommend this as a rainy day or beach read so you can really get lost in the story. It's incredible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional Romance

    Souvenir is wonderfully written and vivid. The settings are immaculately descriptive and add vibrancy to a subject that is otherwise stark and at times somewhat depressing. She's given life to her character's surroundings in a way that allows the reader to feel as if they are sitting in Carson's old guesthouse. I could almost smell the citrus in the air as he and his father navigated through the groves bonding and working the land.

    Even more compelling is the strong and compassionate voice Fowler has given to Meg as she endures the realization that she has gotten the most out of her life that she can ever expect. But then, the author shifts gears so gradually that the reader barely feels Meg's transition from trapped and passive bystander in life to proactive live each moment like it's your last woman on a mission.

    As part of that shift in focus the portrayal of relationships is another very strong element throughout the entire novel. The author does well to show the strong contrast between the relationships Meg holds with her parents and siblings, then with her husband and daughter, and then finally with the man she considers her soul mate even though they are no longer together. What I held most dear is how Fowler used those around her to better develop Meg's character. Showing her to be the glue that held everything together.

    Not wanting to ruin the ending for the reader I'll say it was believable and touching. The characters in the story, having gone full circle, ended up in the places in life that one would imagine events such as these would have led them.

    Having already read Fowler's follow-up Reunion, which I enjoyed as well, I can say unequivocally that I enjoyed this story far more. It was unpredictably heartfelt and poignant. Though not a novel of high-spirits and frivolity I would strongly encourage a reader to pick Souvenir up and read it. It was just that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read!

    I had no idea that when I bought this book I would need so many tissues. It's a little slow at the beginning while the author is character building and plot setting, but once it gets going it is so very hard to put this book down! I stayed up two nights in a row until 3 a.m. because I could not make myself stop reading! I don't want to give anything away about this book. I only want to say how this author made me actually FEEL for these characters. I felt as thought I knew them in real life. Great read. Kudos to this author as I read this was her first novel! Congrats - it's amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most romantic books ever written about first & only Love....

    This book was so amazing, I could not put it down!- Some parts of the story reminded me of the love that takes place in " The Notebook"... It is a touching story about the choices we make in our lives and how no matter where life leads us we never forget our first & only love.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Wonderful touching book that would appeal to teens as well as older adults

    This book touches on a subject not dealt with very often-handling a person's imminent death and relationships with family members. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Fowlers future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

    SOUVENIR is a heart-wrenching novel in the vein of Nicholas Sparks' THE NOTEBOOK and A WALK TO REMEMBER. <BR/><BR/>It is a novel about lost love, the possibility of second chances, and the fate that brings us all together. <BR/><BR/>Meg is a doctor with a sixteen-year-old daughter, and a businessman husband. Things seem to be normal in her life; she's stable at home, and she loves her job. However, she's still holding on to many secrets from her past, including a mistake that haunts her every day. <BR/><BR/>After a shocking change in her life, she decides to come to terms with her regrets, and decide what she wants in the future. <BR/><BR/>SOUVENIR is a tearjerker that is very realistic in its tale of true love and heartbreak. It is very well-written, and stays with you long after the first reading. This title will no doubt become a classic in future years because of its touching story and meaningful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    An unforgettable, carefully spun yarn

    At its core, Souvenir is about choices. Meg, the main character, has to deal the consequences of her choice to marry a man for financial security rather than spend her life with the love of her life. Souvenir touches on many other relevant issues of today, such as taking care of an elderly parent, dealing with the choices of our children and maintaining a façade of normalcy when health problems strike. Ultimately, I am convinced that Fowler has written one of the greatest books of the year. I can¿t wait for the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    couldn't PUT IT DOWN

    This book was one of the most beautifully written books I've read in awhile. If you have ever had heart ache you can sympathize and won t be able to put this book down either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Unforgettable

    Every once in a while, your read a novel that you can't put down, and even while you're not reading about it, you're thinking about it. The novel Souvenir did this for me! Meg's life should be set for her. She¿s a doctor with a thriving practice, and she has a delightful teenage daughter who she adores. Life, however takes an unexpected turn. Her daughter, Savannah, is all of sudden becoming a rebellious teenager and heading into a very dangerous sexual situation. And suddenly Meg receives a very serious revelation about her heath, and her future. At to this mix, Carson McKay her first and only true love he¿s back in town to prepare for his wedding. This is a novel that will keep you reading long into the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    I couldn't stop listening...

    I listened to the audio version of this book and the reader was amazing. I do most of my listening at work and found myself just looking at my computer because I was so caught up with the story. I had chill bumps, and almost the entire book tears in my eyes. I felt Meg's pain and like the other reviewer mentioned, I did think about the choices I would make if I were facing those decisions. It was a great story filled with love and heartach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have read a lot of books and this was one of my favorites. She covered so many issues and made the characters seem so real. I read it in one day and couldn't put it down! I'm still thinking about Carson, Savannah and Meg! It brought me to tears and was definitely touching. I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    A debut worth looking into!

    A novel that cuts through your heart! I have to say I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I loved the love story, but hated the heartbreak! That does not mean I didn¿t enjoy the book, it was an amazing love story, one that was difficult to read. The choices the characters had to live with were very difficult to imagine. Each character was faced with a choice about his or her life and how it would affect the people around them. Meg, the main character has had her share of stress to say the least. She must put others before herself so many times, I felt sorry for her. She then faces the decision of a lifetime, and must make a rather eye opening decision. The reader is faced to look at themselves and consider what they would do in this situation. A very controversial topic, but one that really makes you THINK. I look for more from this author in the future. If you head out to buy a book-go ahead and pick up a box of Kleenex while your at it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2