Customer Reviews for

Sovay

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

To be honest, this book was a little slow. Sometimes the charact

To be honest, this book was a little slow. Sometimes the characters were a little confusing and at some points in the story it was hard to keep reading. It also seemed like the author strayed away from the storyline a little too much, which also made it harder to focus ...
To be honest, this book was a little slow. Sometimes the characters were a little confusing and at some points in the story it was hard to keep reading. It also seemed like the author strayed away from the storyline a little too much, which also made it harder to focus on. And I really didn't get why Sovay had such a sudden need to be rebellious, either...

But overall, it was an interesting read. I defiantly recommend it for some one looking for a good book.

posted by Athena752 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A great, muddled mess

I just want to apologize firstly because this review is not very kind, and I don't like posting this kind of review but I'm . . . doing it anyway.

Sovay has an excellent premise: a girl dressing as a highwayman to test the strength of her lover's devotion while her f...
I just want to apologize firstly because this review is not very kind, and I don't like posting this kind of review but I'm . . . doing it anyway.

Sovay has an excellent premise: a girl dressing as a highwayman to test the strength of her lover's devotion while her family is caught up in the French revolution.

First, I have to mention the characters, because they are the heart of the story and drive the plot (or, at least, they're supposed to). Sovay is a pure Mary-Sue. She's perfect, beautiful, intelligent, willful, etc. etc. etc. Somehow every male who's not The Bad Guy falls immediately in love with her. She has probably 8 different love interests in the story, and she chooses one introduced in the last 8th of the book, who's as characterless as her. The romance between them is rushed and without purpose. There are a hundred different characters introduced at once (and at length) that add absolutely nothing vital to the plot. One of the biggest crimes here is Gabriel. He's introduced in the beginning of the story, and I felt like he should have some importance to the story. But nope, he's forgotten. Gets captured by The Bad Guy (who's just SO Bad that I won't even acknowledge how terrible I thought he was as an antagonist) and then forgotten. Does he escape? Is he happy? Apparently he still loves Sovay (that's just mentioned, it's never actually show, but whatever) so I can assume he doesn't have that happy of an ending. And he really wanted to be part of the revolution, with his whole being, so what does Celia Rees do? Lock him up until the revolution's over and don't mention him! Yay!

Furthermore, the characters are just devices of the plot. Do they drive any action? No. Is the plot formed by their choices/fears/aspirations? No. It's all so contrived. Example: in what I thought was supposed to be a climactic scene, when everyone is looking at The Bad Guy, ready to catch him, suddenly Rees mentions a thought or two of Sovay and then suddenly: Whoa! Where did The Bad Guy go? Dangit, we lost him! Um . . . everyone was looking at him. . . just because Rees takes us into one person's thoughts doesn't mean everyone else in the scene is so diverted. Come on! And then The Bad Guy proceeds to escape via random hot air balloon. What?

Secondly, I'm going to address Rees's writing because it was the second most offending thing about this book. She writes to create the most tedious scenes that evoke no emotion other than boredom. And she repeated things constantly. It got on my nerves. I can't even explain how annoyed I was. She would write that Sovay rode all day, describing the ride and the hardships she endured during it, then once Sovay reached an inn, she would mention how "Sovay was very tired, given she had been riding all day long very hard and stuff." Okay. I got that from the FIRST PASSAGE. And she does this over. And over.

She writes emotions outside of the dialogue all the time. "She was nervous because . . . " "This made him angry . . . " "Then she became afraid, but showed her anger instead . . ." etc. She never SHOWS an emotion. Never. Not a single example comes to mind. In the end, she tells us about the characters so we could recite how everyone else in the story supposedly feels about them, but as a reader I don't even know how to describe how I feel about the character. Was Sovay willful? Well of course because it was only mentioned in every single dialogue. But did she

posted by PlumPudding on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great, muddled mess

    I just want to apologize firstly because this review is not very kind, and I don't like posting this kind of review but I'm . . . doing it anyway.

    Sovay has an excellent premise: a girl dressing as a highwayman to test the strength of her lover's devotion while her family is caught up in the French revolution.

    First, I have to mention the characters, because they are the heart of the story and drive the plot (or, at least, they're supposed to). Sovay is a pure Mary-Sue. She's perfect, beautiful, intelligent, willful, etc. etc. etc. Somehow every male who's not The Bad Guy falls immediately in love with her. She has probably 8 different love interests in the story, and she chooses one introduced in the last 8th of the book, who's as characterless as her. The romance between them is rushed and without purpose. There are a hundred different characters introduced at once (and at length) that add absolutely nothing vital to the plot. One of the biggest crimes here is Gabriel. He's introduced in the beginning of the story, and I felt like he should have some importance to the story. But nope, he's forgotten. Gets captured by The Bad Guy (who's just SO Bad that I won't even acknowledge how terrible I thought he was as an antagonist) and then forgotten. Does he escape? Is he happy? Apparently he still loves Sovay (that's just mentioned, it's never actually show, but whatever) so I can assume he doesn't have that happy of an ending. And he really wanted to be part of the revolution, with his whole being, so what does Celia Rees do? Lock him up until the revolution's over and don't mention him! Yay!

    Furthermore, the characters are just devices of the plot. Do they drive any action? No. Is the plot formed by their choices/fears/aspirations? No. It's all so contrived. Example: in what I thought was supposed to be a climactic scene, when everyone is looking at The Bad Guy, ready to catch him, suddenly Rees mentions a thought or two of Sovay and then suddenly: Whoa! Where did The Bad Guy go? Dangit, we lost him! Um . . . everyone was looking at him. . . just because Rees takes us into one person's thoughts doesn't mean everyone else in the scene is so diverted. Come on! And then The Bad Guy proceeds to escape via random hot air balloon. What?

    Secondly, I'm going to address Rees's writing because it was the second most offending thing about this book. She writes to create the most tedious scenes that evoke no emotion other than boredom. And she repeated things constantly. It got on my nerves. I can't even explain how annoyed I was. She would write that Sovay rode all day, describing the ride and the hardships she endured during it, then once Sovay reached an inn, she would mention how "Sovay was very tired, given she had been riding all day long very hard and stuff." Okay. I got that from the FIRST PASSAGE. And she does this over. And over.

    She writes emotions outside of the dialogue all the time. "She was nervous because . . . " "This made him angry . . . " "Then she became afraid, but showed her anger instead . . ." etc. She never SHOWS an emotion. Never. Not a single example comes to mind. In the end, she tells us about the characters so we could recite how everyone else in the story supposedly feels about them, but as a reader I don't even know how to describe how I feel about the character. Was Sovay willful? Well of course because it was only mentioned in every single dialogue. But did she

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    To be honest, this book was a little slow. Sometimes the charact

    To be honest, this book was a little slow. Sometimes the characters were a little confusing and at some points in the story it was hard to keep reading. It also seemed like the author strayed away from the storyline a little too much, which also made it harder to focus on. And I really didn't get why Sovay had such a sudden need to be rebellious, either...

    But overall, it was an interesting read. I defiantly recommend it for some one looking for a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Good.....

    It was a good book, but some parts of it just kept going on and on and were pretty boring. Other than that, this was a really good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Disappointed

    I loved pirates as a light fun shallow read, but sovay was long and tedious, and the storyline unrelatable. I wish I would of borrowed it instead of purchasing it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Higwayman Adventures

    This was an old favorite of mine. I've read Celia's Rees' other books, but quickly became bored with them. Sovay had the same problem, but I kept reading for its mystery and strong plot.

    A few qualms I had with this was the constant reminder that Sovay was beautiful and headstrong. It crossed into overkill about eighty pages in. Rees needs to give her reader's more credit; we're smart enough to figure out she's beautiful by her first description and reckless by what she does.

    That brings up the often broken 'show, don't tell' rule. She needs to describe things more through events and gestures than plainly saying the character's emotions or other such descriptions.

    The omniescent POV became annoying, for in the middle of the chapter it would switch and catch the reader off guard. Sovay is the main character, and I'd have liked it kept in her POV, and the plot developments she revealed using this technique could have been shown in another way. The book was also poorly formatted as for the way things unfolded.

    The ending was rather disappointing for the fact that I would have liked to found out what happened to the other characters. However, I was kept in suspense up until the very end. The climax was as good as it gets. Though I was disappointed by Leon's intrusion later in the book. I just didn't really like his personality.

    Other than that, the intrigue and overall story was good. I loved Sovay and her journeys as a highwayman, which is a plot I've never seen before. The grammar is consistent, though sometimes Rees seems to trip up. Still, Sovay is a thoroughly enjoyable book. I especially liked the inclusion of the French Revolution and how it was viewed by the English.

    Rees did a very good job in setting the scenes, and providing the ambiance for the time. The book was deliciously exciting and will keep you reading. I suggest this book simply for how fun it is.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SOvay

    it was a really good story line...but, personably the ending was really...not finished and she needed to make the love intrest more prominent in the story line. and i think she ended up with the wrong guy. just because he wasn't in the story enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    It's England, 1783. America has recently won independence and a revolution is going on in France. Anyone and everyone in England is suspect for treason, and spies are everywhere. <BR/><BR/>Sovay Middleton donned a man's cloak and posed as a highway robber in order to prove her lover disloyal. But when she stumbles upon papers that belong to one of England's most powerful and dangerous men, she finds her family's life at stake. Her father and brother are being accused of treason, and Sovay is the only one who can save them. <BR/><BR/>No one is who they seem and not everyone can be trusted. Danger, intrigue, deception, and secrets fill this richly historical novel. <BR/><BR/>Author Celia Rees' newest historical novel is full of detail and lots of mystery. There are many twists are turns throughout the book. I did find the amount of characters to be confusing at times, but stick with it and you will be rewarded. If you enjoy historical fiction with strong female characters, you'll love SOVAY.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yet another case of don't judge a book by its inside cover.

    After reading the description, I figured Sovay was the story of a spoiled girl who became a female Robin Hood and ended up falling in love with one of the men she stole from and she ended up happily ever after. HA! So not this story. Sovay is a well written book that starts with a girl in 1794 England when the English government is very nervous about the revolution in France giving its citizens ideas about democracy and equality. Yes, Sovay does do a stint as a highwayman, but not for the reasons I originally thought. She becomes embroiled in governmental intrigue when her father and brother have warrants put against them for seditious ideas. Having been betrayed by her fiancee, Sovay, after stealing the warrant for her father, travels to London then to France in search of her father and brother becoming ever more deeply drawn into plots of revolutionaries and governmental figures. An intelligent and entertaining read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Entertaining Read

    This novel keep me entertained throughout the whole plot. Though the ending was predictable, the characters were likeable so it was easy to be happy with the expected outcome. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys teen historical fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Loved

    I am seeing lots of unapeciating reviws of this book and am here to say I loved it. This book was amazing and I got through it in about two days. So yeah. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    This book turned out to be something completely different than

    This book turned out to be something completely different than the book description said it would be. It delved deeper into what was happening in England during the French Revolution. There were spies, many potential love interests for Sovay, and action. But the novel didn't really mesh together well. First Sovay was trying out being a highwayman for fun and for revenge, and then it turned out that her father was accused of being a spy. Then some villain comes in with such evil intent that it was ridiculous. Then for some purpose Sovay visits the villain's house and then it becomes confusing from there. What I was very disappointed about was the love interest of Sovay. There were plenty of men in her life that the reader becomes favorable to, and then when the love interest is revealed, it feels as if it was a last minute thing. I was very disappointed in Celia Rees for how this novel's story turned out. I did like her novel Pirates! And the reason for me to read this novel was because of how much I liked that novel. I would not recommend this novel to anyone because it was so confusing. I give it two stars because the characters are realistic and likeable. The writing was also well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to understand

    I try to read books with an open mind, and i was excited to read a novel that took place in the french revolution. I teied to keep up but the book was going no where for me. I could not finish it, but I was pretty close. I began to read a more interesting historical fiction novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    AMAZINGLY AMAZING!

    GREAT, SEPECTACULAR, AMAZING, SUPERB, LOVLEY, AND BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    Adventures of a Highwayman

    I read Sovay by Celia Rees. Sovay is a historical fiction novel. This is a great book. It is full of action and adventure. Sovay is not your average girl; she hides as a highway robber to get her father's name cleared. Sovay takes place in London, England, at about the time of the French Revolution.
    Sovay is a girl who isn't a classic teen. She disguises herself as a highwayman, at first to see is the boy she loves, loves her back. What she finds is a warrant for her father's arrest, for treason. She must find her brother, to find evidence to prove her father's innocence. She alone knows he is not guilty, but she doesn't have the authority to testify in court. Sovay finds that her brother has been expelled from college and is most likely residing in France. She joins with Captain Greenwood, another highwayman, to find her brother, going to France if need be. One of her father's servants, Gabriel, helps her amass money for her father's release if they cannot find her brother. Sovay finds that she needs to expose Dysart's (the spymaster) tyranny to the rest of London, if she herself wants to live.
    Sovay is written in the third person. Celia uses some difficult vocabulary that I had to look up. The tone is always sort of serious even if the characters are joking, there is always some darkness lurking in the corner.
    Anyone who likes historical fiction will be satisfied with this book. Sovay is actually a novel, written from an old English ballad. There is some romance and mystery also. It is a great book, if you like suspense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    Sovay

    I did not enjoy this book. I have never not finished a book before, but I could just not get into this book. The story has a really cool idea, and when I read the back I thought it sounded interesting and fast-paced. I hate to say a book was terrible, but I did not enjoy this book at all. It drags on and on and never gets to the point. I would not recommend buying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not What I expected

    I love Celia Rees. She is a great author. This book did not prove that. I mean, Sovay was an amazing character. She was stronge and smart and could do anything she set her mind to.
    The problem was, the story was not that good. I expected something as good as Witch Child. I carried that book around with me until I finished it. I thought this book would be like that, I was sadly mistaken.
    But don't judge the author just by this book, she is really a good writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ummmm.... Hmmmmm.... Was NOT the best....

    Just as my headline says... this was not the best book. I really did hate how the author switched from one person to another....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprise Ending

    This book was a little boring in the beginning. It has a good plotline though, a high society girl in England who is beautiful but doesn't care. Her idea of fun is acting a highway man in disguise, but never harms anyone in the process. Until her father and brother disappear, and Sovay thinks they've gone to Paris. She meets an American man, Virgil, who goes with her along the way. She also meets Captain Greenwood, a fellow highwayman, and Toby, a young boy, and Leon, a frenchman. The book gets more intense and better near the end. The end was a surprise to me, mainly because it didn't turn out the way I wanted it to, although it was still a good ending. I'm also hoping their is a sequel, just so I can see what happenes, althought I doubt it. The book was a little boring and dragging in the beginning, but otherwise it is a 3/5 starred book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I did not enjoy this book

    I tried really hard to get into this book but i just couldn't. I just felt like the story kept dragging on. Maybe I'll try reading it again someday. I have loved all of Celia Rees's other books so I was a little disappointed with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    A book as intriguing as the characters.

    'Sovay' is the first book I have read by Celia Rees 'I have yet to read Pirates!'. Young and beautiful Sovay Middleton decides to test her suitors love and when she receives disappointing results, confronts him. Of course, he was only putting up false pretenses. In actuality, he was spying on her family. He deems them treasonous and so begins the adventure. Sovay takes up being a highwayman in order to save her family, and in the process, getting herself mixed up in an underground network of spies that leads her to France during the revolution. This book was absolutely magnificent. I couldn't put it down for a second, the suspense was too great. Cees managed to craft intriguing characters that draw you into the plot. This story is easily relatable, such as Sovay's concern for her brother and father and the feelings she acquires during her journey. The ending was the most suspenseful part. Usually, I can predict what happened in the end, but this book kept me on the edge. Eventually, it left me wanting more. The only bad thing is that some loose ties with the characters were left undone. Otherwise, this book was terrific. I recommend it to anyone who likes to see a strong heroine and mystery, action, and adventure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3