Customer Reviews for

Sovereign (Matthew Shardlake Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sovereign -- the perfect union of mystery with history.

After reading DISSOLUTION and DARK FIRE I eagerly awaited the 3rd novel in this enjoyable series and certainly wasn't disappointed with SOVEREIGN. It is a superior read with an exciting plot, believable characters and a "you are there" description of Tudor England. I fo...
After reading DISSOLUTION and DARK FIRE I eagerly awaited the 3rd novel in this enjoyable series and certainly wasn't disappointed with SOVEREIGN. It is a superior read with an exciting plot, believable characters and a "you are there" description of Tudor England. I found the scene with Matthew in the Tower totally nerve-racking -- no pun intended. I sincerely hope Mr. Sansom is considering another adventure for Matthew and Jack.

posted by 1061995 on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pricing

The Kindle price for this book is $7.88. Why is the Nook edition priced so much higher?

posted by 3910811 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    Pricing

    The Kindle price for this book is $7.88. Why is the Nook edition priced so much higher?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Matthew Shardlake is wonderful!!!!!!

    I have read first 2 books in this series and am in love with the setting and characters. This is how I enjoy learning history....throw in a good mystery or romance along with actual facts and I absorb all. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Pricing!

    I second that last post! Why ARE the nook books so expensive? Makes me want to buy the paperback at borders!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Sovereign -- the perfect union of mystery with history.

    After reading DISSOLUTION and DARK FIRE I eagerly awaited the 3rd novel in this enjoyable series and certainly wasn't disappointed with SOVEREIGN. It is a superior read with an exciting plot, believable characters and a "you are there" description of Tudor England. I found the scene with Matthew in the Tower totally nerve-racking -- no pun intended. I sincerely hope Mr. Sansom is considering another adventure for Matthew and Jack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The best one!!

    Although I love all of CJ Sansom's books I thought this is the best one. I highly recommend it. I wish the author would write more in the series. They are wonderful books...I give them as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    I am hooked! This is the sad part of finding an excellent series

    I am hooked! This is the sad part of finding an excellent series like this: I have now completed the third installment and only have two to go with no news of a sixth book! - alas! to have loved and lost...

    England during the 16th century has long been a fascination of mine. Short of a time machine this is the best way to visit! Imagine the tumult to the populous King Henry caused when he told the Pope to take a hike! Granted this is the Protestant Reformation and the world was ready for a change, but to live through that change.

    I would love to see this series or at least spin-off series surf through the tumult after Henry VIII dies. There is the nine day reign of Queen Jane; Bloody Mary as she tries to subjugate England under Spain; and the touch-and-go start Queen Elizabeth's reign. Then there is Elizabeth's rise beginning the British Empire, upon which the sun never set! The rumors that sir Francis Bacon is indeed Elizabeth's son, etc...

    And through all of that societal upheaval and tumult stands the unassuming Matthew Shardlake. (This is very close to the beginnings of the middle class.) It is here where the story gets its sole. Matthew begins the series as an Idealist finding his cause in the reform movements. As the series progresses, Matthew sees first hand how power corrupts. He modifies his philosophy the best he is able seeing good on both sides of the Papist - Reformist struggle. Leaving himself but a razor's edge to walk upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Great book! Great series!

    I have read the whole series. Matthew Sharlake is my favorite "detective"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous

    Every book in this series held my attention in a way that most mystery/crime books no longer can do. I loved every minute of the reading and stayed up late when I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    As Good as it gets!

    I have read the first two Matthew Shardlake mysteries and find that they are outstanding. Series #3 is the best yet. The attention to detail and the historic research put into his books is just outstanding and would be well worth reading for that alone. The great part about it is that the mystery surrounding the history is also well thought out and researched. Shardlake is a great character. I enjoy reading these books and only hope that the author continues with this series. I have also purchased Series #4 and look forward to reading it. The most interested part of this was the logistics of making a royal trip on land. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    I want the whole series.....

    I love these books!!! When does this one arrive as an ebook? I can't go any further until I read this one and I want it for my Nook with all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sansom's become my favorite author

    Mr. Sansom is without a doubt a jewel in the crown of historical fiction and suspense! He quickly became my favorite author after the first installment in the Matthew Shardlake series. Mr. Shardlake is a wonderful creation. His ethics are so honorable and yet he is so utterly human. I admire him greatly and am very attached to him. I certainly hope Mr. Sansom continues to write with Shardlake at the center. Sovereign continues to pull me into not only the time historically, but into the lives of the characters themselves. I always longed to go back to the book and as I neared its end I was sad to let them go. That is the true evidence of an author who has captured my heart. I await Mr. Sansom's April unveiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    If you love Tudor England- this is the book for you

    While in the midst of uncovering secrets and a killer characters have conversations about the current and past monarch- shedding light on family trees and lines of succession.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Perfect

    Another well written book from this author. Sovereign picks up the story where Dark Fire left off. A book that is worth the time and money. The series is started by Dissolution Dark fire Sovereign

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2