BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sovereign (Matthew Shardlake Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The best aspect of this novel is that it is seen through the eye

The best aspect of this novel is that it is seen through the eyes of Sansom's main character,a hunchback lawyer, who has brilliant deductive powers and an almost photographic memory, in the service of Archbishop Thomas Cranmer, the only fully developed "famous"...
The best aspect of this novel is that it is seen through the eyes of Sansom's main character,a hunchback lawyer, who has brilliant deductive powers and an almost photographic memory, in the service of Archbishop Thomas Cranmer, the only fully developed "famous" historical figure in the story. This is the third Matthew Shardlake mystery and while I recommend reading them in order, the novels largely stand alone. Matthew Shardlake has two missions in York: the first is to assist with legal petitions to the King, the second is a secret commission on behalf of Archbishop Cranmer. Matthew Shardlake is a lawyer in London who is sent to York ostensibly to handle legal petitions when the King visits on his great Progress; but also on a clandestine assignment from the great Archbishop Cranmer himself - to guard over a prisoner's well-being so he can be safely taken back to London and face the experts in the Tower who will administer his interrogation. Chaos ensues early on when a glazier is murdered and Shardlake overhears a dying man's last words that may have secret meaning. When attempts are made on Shardlake's life, it seems no one can be trusted and everyone is a suspect.  Matthew Shardlake is as admirable and likeable as ever. He has an abnormally curved back which makes him the butt of cruel jokes, but his deformity has not robbed him of his self-respect. His keen intellect and determination propel him to disregard his personal safety in order to bring a murderer to justice. Shardlake and Jack make a solid team: Matthew has experience, a thorough knowledge of the law, and patience; what Barak lacks in seasoning and judgment he makes up for in loyalty, courage, and strength. Jack looks up to Matthew, who has taught the younger man to venerate learning and behave with integrity. Recommended to all who like mysteries based in history.    

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on October 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pricing

The Kindle price for this book is $7.88. Why is the Nook edition priced so much higher?

posted by 3910811 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The best aspect of this novel is that it is seen through the eye

    The best aspect of this novel is that it is seen through the eyes of Sansom's main character,a hunchback lawyer, who has brilliant deductive powers and an almost photographic memory, in the service of Archbishop Thomas Cranmer, the only fully developed "famous" historical figure in the story. This is the third Matthew Shardlake mystery and while I recommend reading them in order, the novels largely stand alone. Matthew Shardlake has two missions in York: the first is to assist with legal petitions to the King, the second is a secret commission on behalf of Archbishop Cranmer. Matthew Shardlake is a lawyer in London who is sent to York ostensibly to handle legal petitions when the King visits on his great Progress; but also on a clandestine assignment from the great Archbishop Cranmer himself - to guard over a prisoner's well-being so he can be safely taken back to London and face the experts in the Tower who will administer his interrogation. Chaos ensues early on when a glazier is murdered and Shardlake overhears a dying man's last words that may have secret meaning. When attempts are made on Shardlake's life, it seems no one can be trusted and everyone is a suspect.  Matthew Shardlake is as admirable and likeable as ever. He has an abnormally curved back which makes him the butt of cruel jokes, but his deformity has not robbed him of his self-respect. His keen intellect and determination propel him to disregard his personal safety in order to bring a murderer to justice. Shardlake and Jack make a solid team: Matthew has experience, a thorough knowledge of the law, and patience; what Barak lacks in seasoning and judgment he makes up for in loyalty, courage, and strength. Jack looks up to Matthew, who has taught the younger man to venerate learning and behave with integrity. Recommended to all who like mysteries based in history.    

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Matthew Shardlake is wonderful!!!!!!

    I have read first 2 books in this series and am in love with the setting and characters. This is how I enjoy learning history....throw in a good mystery or romance along with actual facts and I absorb all. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Sovereign -- the perfect union of mystery with history.

    After reading DISSOLUTION and DARK FIRE I eagerly awaited the 3rd novel in this enjoyable series and certainly wasn't disappointed with SOVEREIGN. It is a superior read with an exciting plot, believable characters and a "you are there" description of Tudor England. I found the scene with Matthew in the Tower totally nerve-racking -- no pun intended. I sincerely hope Mr. Sansom is considering another adventure for Matthew and Jack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    The best one!!

    Although I love all of CJ Sansom's books I thought this is the best one. I highly recommend it. I wish the author would write more in the series. They are wonderful books...I give them as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Great book! Great series!

    I have read the whole series. Matthew Sharlake is my favorite "detective"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous

    Every book in this series held my attention in a way that most mystery/crime books no longer can do. I loved every minute of the reading and stayed up late when I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    As Good as it gets!

    I have read the first two Matthew Shardlake mysteries and find that they are outstanding. Series #3 is the best yet. The attention to detail and the historic research put into his books is just outstanding and would be well worth reading for that alone. The great part about it is that the mystery surrounding the history is also well thought out and researched. Shardlake is a great character. I enjoy reading these books and only hope that the author continues with this series. I have also purchased Series #4 and look forward to reading it. The most interested part of this was the logistics of making a royal trip on land. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    I want the whole series.....

    I love these books!!! When does this one arrive as an ebook? I can't go any further until I read this one and I want it for my Nook with all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sansom's become my favorite author

    Mr. Sansom is without a doubt a jewel in the crown of historical fiction and suspense! He quickly became my favorite author after the first installment in the Matthew Shardlake series. Mr. Shardlake is a wonderful creation. His ethics are so honorable and yet he is so utterly human. I admire him greatly and am very attached to him. I certainly hope Mr. Sansom continues to write with Shardlake at the center. Sovereign continues to pull me into not only the time historically, but into the lives of the characters themselves. I always longed to go back to the book and as I neared its end I was sad to let them go. That is the true evidence of an author who has captured my heart. I await Mr. Sansom's April unveiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Perfect

    Another well written book from this author. Sovereign picks up the story where Dark Fire left off. A book that is worth the time and money. The series is started by Dissolution Dark fire Sovereign

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1