Customer Reviews for

The Sovereignty of God

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    no better

    Best of the best,by far.No one covers this subject like Pink.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Highly recommend - this is a must for those serious about really knowing God.

    This book is still relevant for today. The things written even decades ago speak to our society today and how we have placed God in the background and the devil in the forefronth. It will cause you to really look at how you view God and take you back to the place of knowing that God is still in control - no matter what we see with our natural eyes and hear with our natural ears. This is a must read for those desire a closer more intimate relationship with our Lord and our God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    The True God of Scripture in Perspective and Out of the Box

    Mr. Pink dutifully studied the Word, prayed and spent much of his day recording the jewels of insight that are woven together throughout the holy bible about our Sovereign and incredible God in a refreshing and powerful way. He very carefully distills both the power and the grace of our God into the now classic and awesome work that is rightly titled 'The Sovereignty of God' by no accident, for many godly men and women for decades have thought of Mr. Pink as chosen to write and gifted as few others since the time of the Puritans. Because much of what is written in this book correctly causes the reader to become decreased in importance, in comparison to the Divine Sovereign, many will be offended at the Truth of His plan and purpose as detailed in the Scriptures - It has always been this way (John 6:60-61). What saith the Scriptures? That is the question that Mr. Pink continually brings forward by comparing scripture with scripture in this book and the resulting blessing that comes is this: Our thoughts and beliefs are put into proper perspective when held to the test of the Word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Great Truths!

    This book is filled with deep truths. Pink compares scripture with scripture to outline the sovereign character of our God. The God that is omnipotent and omniscient. It truly reveals the amazingly comforting truth that NOTHING is beyond God's control.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    Great Read for the theology-minded

    If you're interested in the straight scoop on the Biblical basis for the doctrine of the Sovereignty of God, then this is a terrific read.

    The text doesn't format very well in my older Nook Color, but I don't care, as it is refreshing to read about these doctrines with such simplicity and clarity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Don't buy from this publisher...he steals other publishers book covers.

    This cover is from the Baker House Publishers version of the book. New Century Books needs to be banned from Pubit for copyright violations. If you are a Christian don't buy from them.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Has convinced many of God¿s absolute sovereignty

    <p>This book has convinced many of that the reformed viewpoint of God's sovereignty is the only Biblical view. But one has to be careful; you just might not like what you read!</p> <p> A female friend of mine said this book caused her much emotional turmoil. When she tried to read it, she had to keep putting it down. The idea of God being absolutely sovereign simply went against her feeling of how things should be. But fortunately, she kept reading the book. And most importantly, she looked up all of the Scripture verses Pink mentioned. And after much study and emotional turmoil, she finally submitted to the Biblical teaching on sovereignty.</p> <p> Pink references many, many Bible verses. In fact, this book was the source for many of the verses I reference in the chapter on ¿The Sovereignty of God¿ in my book <i>Scripture Workbook: For Personal Bible Study and Teaching the Bible.</i> My book also has two additional chapters addressing other aspects of Calvinism.</p> <p> So yes, get Pink¿s book. But be prepared for some emotional turmoil, and most of all, to look up lots of Scripture verses. And for even more verses to consider see my book.</p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Do it yourself religion

    After all I had heard about this famous, life-changing book, I was stunned by it's lack of content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1