Customer Reviews for

The Space Between Us

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Compelling, emotional read!

This book is a glimpse into a world which describes the Indian culture, set in Bombay; a story of Sera Dubash, an educated and wealthy widow and Bhima, her illiterate maid. The story explores the challenges women face in their relationships with men and how the conseque...
This book is a glimpse into a world which describes the Indian culture, set in Bombay; a story of Sera Dubash, an educated and wealthy widow and Bhima, her illiterate maid. The story explores the challenges women face in their relationships with men and how the consequences of these difficulties are starkly different depending on education and class. The women have surprisingly similar lives and struggles. Both have experienced love and loss. They have suffered greatly because of their mistakes and because of the misfortune of being born a woman. Each has an unhappy marriage. Bhima's husband has abandoned her after an accident robs him of three fingers and his manhood. He leaves her and takes Bhima's son, whom she never sees again. Sera has a vindictive mother-in-law and a husband who abuses her physically. There are many layers and was a wonderful source of a many layered discussion in my book club, class and culture, struggle to cope, loyalty, abuse, prejudice and much more. This is truly eye-opening, emotionally wrenching, a compelling, engaging read! I recommend!!

Others I recommend, some from reading in my book club, others I read on the side and loved, I KNOW THIS MUCH IS TRUE, PERFECT, EXPLOSION IN PARIS.I, personally, LOVE books that glory in the woman's triumph, fight for womanhood.

posted by LCH47 on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but predictable

At first glance this book sounded wonderful, however, by the end I was let down and little bored. The comparison of class was presented nicely and I was very much transported to India, however the character development left a lot to be desired. The main characters ca...
At first glance this book sounded wonderful, however, by the end I was let down and little bored. The comparison of class was presented nicely and I was very much transported to India, however the character development left a lot to be desired. The main characters came across flat and while I sympathized with Bhima's situation it felt forced. The ending was predictable as the character involved gave away clues to readily throughout the story. I would have loved to have seen more secondary character development with the young girls.

posted by GiveMeABookAndCoffee on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Loved this story. Ambiguous ending?

    I definitely agree with all the positive reviews. Loved these women and their struggles with families and life. I found the ending ambiguous even after rereading it. Does anyone else have that reaction? It's not a negative but would be interested in hearing from other readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    I am not sure how this book has become a national bestseller. I

    I am not sure how this book has become a national bestseller. Ironically, the book describes the lives of two women that run parallel
    but
    are deeply separated by the cast and class divisions. The book does a great job describing modern India society making it easier for the reader to understand how the class divisions become so important as to change the course of the lives of the characters. Throughout the book you feel a connection with the characters and become angry, sad, and ultimately attached to them. However, is because this emotional connection with the characters that the end feels unfinished. There is no closure for the mistakes and justice that the reader hopes is coming; instead is a cruel reminder of the reality that millions of women become trapped into. Perhaps, is because as the reader that you hope that the author would have empowered the characters and sought justice and hope for the future. Even when the main character gains inner peace and acceptance of the situation the ending still feels short. It appears that the author's efforts to make the readers connect with the characters are wasted with and ending that teaches us nothing and leaves much to wish for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Very

    Well written, beautifully told story of India.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Twerk

    Twerk it gullllllll

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Mystic's rper

    Have you heard of creation? If you haven't please open a Bible and start at Genisis 1:1.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    |\/|atrix

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    If you enjoy word paintings, this is a Picasso

    Expert description combined with gripping details of a story so touching, foreign yet so close to home. Thrity crosses the seas with boundless tales of class warfare, family ties and work life balance in such a convincing way that I wanted to reach out to help the characters myself...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    To waterpekt

    We are in desperate nee of a med cat..location is at winter soda result 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    To Waterpelt

    Cloudclan needs a med. We are small but those of us in the clan are active. We are located at 'aprul' first result.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    The Space Between Us is an Eye Opener

    Thiry Umrigar's Space Between Us would make a great book group discussion. It was really disturbing to me to learn the plight of women in India and the details of the caste system. The bond that was forged by the women characters seemed to me to be unbreakable despite the fact that they were in different castes. I was shocked at the details given about the caste system in India. I was very disappointed with the ending and felt kind of depressed at the end. Umrigar provided great depth to her characters and showed their frailties . It was highly readable and had fast moving dialogue which kept the plot flowing. I would recommend this book to others who are interested in other cultures and their mores.I probably would read another book by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I loved this book and had a hard time putting the book down. I w

    I loved this book and had a hard time putting the book down. I wanted to see what would happen in the lives of Bhima, Maya and Sera. The book was beautifully written and really transported you to Bombay. It was a wonderful depiction of class structure and of gender differences in India. There were two issues that I had with the book. First, I have to admit that I found Maya's storyline to be very predictable. Secondly, I have to agree with the other readers that found the ending disappointing. I was hoping that the women would have stood together and shown solidarity. I was hoping that maybe there would be another book centering around these characters to wrap up the loose ends. Other than that., I would recommend this book and would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great

    Very interesting. Good discussions for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Brambkefur

    Waits

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Goldenwolf to every one!

    Go to wolf eyes i want that pack elimanatid but dont hurt sunwolf.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Amazing

    This book introduced me to one of my new favorite authors. Truly wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Takes you there

    I really felt like I was inside this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Do you post bio first or join first?

    Trains.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    KITTYPET TO LEADER

    " I hear you need cats with powers." She lays her kit down amd runs away.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Twilight

    This clan stinks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Xion

    Thqnk u

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12