Customer Reviews for

Space Between Us

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Compelling, emotional read!

This book is a glimpse into a world which describes the Indian culture, set in Bombay; a story of Sera Dubash, an educated and wealthy widow and Bhima, her illiterate maid. The story explores the challenges women face in their relationships with men and how the conseque...
This book is a glimpse into a world which describes the Indian culture, set in Bombay; a story of Sera Dubash, an educated and wealthy widow and Bhima, her illiterate maid. The story explores the challenges women face in their relationships with men and how the consequences of these difficulties are starkly different depending on education and class. The women have surprisingly similar lives and struggles. Both have experienced love and loss. They have suffered greatly because of their mistakes and because of the misfortune of being born a woman. Each has an unhappy marriage. Bhima's husband has abandoned her after an accident robs him of three fingers and his manhood. He leaves her and takes Bhima's son, whom she never sees again. Sera has a vindictive mother-in-law and a husband who abuses her physically. There are many layers and was a wonderful source of a many layered discussion in my book club, class and culture, struggle to cope, loyalty, abuse, prejudice and much more. This is truly eye-opening, emotionally wrenching, a compelling, engaging read! I recommend!!

Others I recommend, some from reading in my book club, others I read on the side and loved, I KNOW THIS MUCH IS TRUE, PERFECT, EXPLOSION IN PARIS.I, personally, LOVE books that glory in the woman's triumph, fight for womanhood.

posted by LCH47 on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but predictable

At first glance this book sounded wonderful, however, by the end I was let down and little bored. The comparison of class was presented nicely and I was very much transported to India, however the character development left a lot to be desired. The main characters ca...
At first glance this book sounded wonderful, however, by the end I was let down and little bored. The comparison of class was presented nicely and I was very much transported to India, however the character development left a lot to be desired. The main characters came across flat and while I sympathized with Bhima's situation it felt forced. The ending was predictable as the character involved gave away clues to readily throughout the story. I would have loved to have seen more secondary character development with the young girls.

posted by GiveMeABookAndCoffee on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling, emotional read!

    This book is a glimpse into a world which describes the Indian culture, set in Bombay; a story of Sera Dubash, an educated and wealthy widow and Bhima, her illiterate maid. The story explores the challenges women face in their relationships with men and how the consequences of these difficulties are starkly different depending on education and class. The women have surprisingly similar lives and struggles. Both have experienced love and loss. They have suffered greatly because of their mistakes and because of the misfortune of being born a woman. Each has an unhappy marriage. Bhima's husband has abandoned her after an accident robs him of three fingers and his manhood. He leaves her and takes Bhima's son, whom she never sees again. Sera has a vindictive mother-in-law and a husband who abuses her physically. There are many layers and was a wonderful source of a many layered discussion in my book club, class and culture, struggle to cope, loyalty, abuse, prejudice and much more. This is truly eye-opening, emotionally wrenching, a compelling, engaging read! I recommend!!

    Others I recommend, some from reading in my book club, others I read on the side and loved, I KNOW THIS MUCH IS TRUE, PERFECT, EXPLOSION IN PARIS.I, personally, LOVE books that glory in the woman's triumph, fight for womanhood.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Beautiful and moving

    "The Space Between Us" is the story of a middle-class Parsi woman, Sera, and Bhima, her servant. Bhima's home in the slums sharply contrasts Sera's sparkling, large home. The two women have forged a connection through their years together, their families linked inextricably. The story brings into focus the vast chasm between the haves and the have-nots of India, exploring with gorgeous subtlety the meaning of loyalty and of freedom.

    Umrigar's language is lush and descriptive but not a word is wasted. She is able to create a detailed world and to place the reader in the shoes of several different characters. A fascinating story carries her timeless message about the need to further question class divisions and the other lines we construct that separate us from each other. A gorgeous novel; highly recommended.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Couldn't put this novel down for a second!

    Thrity Umrigar has done a wonderful job of bringing the characters in this novel to life. You will cry with them, laugh with them and be shocked as they are. With Bhima and Sera and Maya, the reader gets a taste of life in modern India and the realization of how connected all humans are in the struggle we call 'life'.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    A PAGE TURNER

    I loved this book. It was both heart-warming and heart-wrenching. THANK YOU THRITY! I look forward to reading more of your work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Beautiful!

    Emotional words, stark contrasts along with poignant similarities between the lives of two women come together to create a beautifully woven story. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Must Read

    Really enjoyed this book; it kept my interest from start to finish. I wanted it see what would happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Incredible!

    I love love loved this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Shadow

    She telleports back to darklight

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    beautiful

    I highly recommend this novel. The author has a beautiful writing style and is able to transport the reader into the lives and surroundings of her characters. I definately recommend this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    A wonderful read

    I couldn't put this book down. I loved the relationship between these two women and their families and, even though they claim to be so close, the reality is there is a large space between them. I recommend this book to any woman who likes a story about women and friendship--you will enjoy this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    graceful

    This was a wonderful read! I really couldn't put the book down once I started it. The characters, the words, the themes were all filled with such depth. You will truly feel like you are living in Bombay with Bhima and Sera. Their stories, the pain, the happiness - we can all share in this. What a gracefully told story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    One of the best on contemporary India

    This novel is beautifully written. Umrigar potrays two different worlds one being the world of genteel parsis while the other is that of India's poor and the downtrodden. Although, these worlds exist, literally, a few feet apart, the enormous figurative gulf between them and Umrigar's evocative potrayal of this distance and closeness between these two worlds makes this book an instant classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Loved this story. Ambiguous ending?

    I definitely agree with all the positive reviews. Loved these women and their struggles with families and life. I found the ending ambiguous even after rereading it. Does anyone else have that reaction? It's not a negative but would be interested in hearing from other readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Mystic's rper

    Have you heard of creation? If you haven't please open a Bible and start at Genisis 1:1.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    |\/|atrix

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    If you enjoy word paintings, this is a Picasso

    Expert description combined with gripping details of a story so touching, foreign yet so close to home. Thrity crosses the seas with boundless tales of class warfare, family ties and work life balance in such a convincing way that I wanted to reach out to help the characters myself...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    To waterpekt

    We are in desperate nee of a med cat..location is at winter soda result 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Brambkefur

    Waits

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Goldenwolf to every one!

    Go to wolf eyes i want that pack elimanatid but dont hurt sunwolf.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Amazing

    This book introduced me to one of my new favorite authors. Truly wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5