Customer Reviews for

Space Junque (Apocalypto, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book Alert Review: Space Junque

Space Junque
Author: L.K. Rigel
Genre: Science Fiction novella with Fantasy elements
Rating: 4 Stars
Summary:

The world is dying. Ecological destruction and mutation run rampant. Many of the wealthy have fled the planet and live in orbital stations, aloof from th...
Space Junque
Author: L.K. Rigel
Genre: Science Fiction novella with Fantasy elements
Rating: 4 Stars
Summary:

The world is dying. Ecological destruction and mutation run rampant. Many of the wealthy have fled the planet and live in orbital stations, aloof from the concerns of the suffering people below them. All the while, the genocidal Defenders of Gaia continue their plan to save the planet by eliminating all humans. When Char Meadowlark, a scientist, attempts to flee into orbit to escape a Gaian attack, she gets caught up in an adventure both terrifying and thrilling.


Review:

Though the above summary is accurate in terms of describing what happens in Space Junque, it does not perhaps get across the true tone of this story. While this is most definitely not a comedy, it does maintain a light enough atmosphere at many points that the rather dark events permeating the plot don't overwhelm the story and turn it into some sort of depressing mess. In that way, the atmosphere and a story defined by both a wounded world and emotionally wounded characters first brought to my mind not other books, but instead shows like Firefly and Cowboy Bebop. In addition, at the center of much of the darkness is the hint of hope that helps prevent a total emotional disengagement from the storyline.

With only a brief introduction to the main character before throwing her into the middle of action, Space Junque sets its tempo right away. While the entire book isn't defined only by breathless action, this is definitely not a story anyone would accuse of being slow. There was a lot going on and a lot of characters weaving in and out of the narrative. By the time I reached the end, I was rather surprised by just how much had occurred in the span of only 28,000 words. Both the reader and Char Meadowlark don't get much of a chance to catch their breath between crises.

Despite the often furious pacing, the author manages to craft a compelling, developed world. What I found particularly interesting were the various small background details she often employed instead of pace-killing exposition to give us a very clear insight into the kind of place the Earth had become. This novella actually packed more world building in its short length than many full-length novels I've read recently.

The importance of the world crafting was made obvious by the inclusion of fantasy elements in the story. In a less well-developed and actualized world, the introduction of such elements might have seemed forced or unnatural, but in this story they came off as a natural outgrowth of the themes and setting that were already being explored. They also turn what appears to be a mere dystopia science fiction story into something a bit more unusual.

A large and diverse cast of characters made their way in and out of the story. Sometimes, however, the cast was perhaps too large. The same pacing that kept the story from ever dragging also limited the amount of time available for character development and engagement. I felt a strong connection to Char while reading the story. She is a woman who is forced to deal with many emotional scars and new wounds to her heart, but all the while manages to keep from collapsing into complete self-pity. On the other hand, many of the secondary characters danced in and out of the story quickly enough that it was hard for me to really develop a

posted by JA_Beard on May 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting novella

Space Junque is the first book in the Apocalypto series. It's a short read - a novella set in the future. I've never read science fiction before, but this was pretty interesting. It's basically the end of the world and Char has to leave Earth. Since all of this is set o...
Space Junque is the first book in the Apocalypto series. It's a short read - a novella set in the future. I've never read science fiction before, but this was pretty interesting. It's basically the end of the world and Char has to leave Earth. Since all of this is set off by the oil spill that happened in 2010, a real event, I think that makes this story that much more interesting. It's crazy to think about people actually living in space. It's a very imaginative story.

I really liked the character of Char. Her fiance was killed and she may never see her twin sister again. She has gone through a lot, her life is in danger, but she stays strong. She is rescued from this impending doom, and pushed into this crazy world of space. The story is quick paced, which I like, but I was a little overwhelmed with everything that was going on. I liked the little romance that falls into Char's lap. I thought Jake was a great character - I liked his sense of humor and thought he was good for Char.

This is definitely an action-packed book. It has some paranormal elements, a lot of danger, and some sad moments. Overall, I thought it was a pretty good story. Even if you're not a sci-fi fan, I'd still give this book a try. It's a short book, and will give you a preview of the author's writing style.

posted by Tishia on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    A Good Book Alert Review: Space Junque

    Space Junque
    Author: L.K. Rigel
    Genre: Science Fiction novella with Fantasy elements
    Rating: 4 Stars
    Summary:

    The world is dying. Ecological destruction and mutation run rampant. Many of the wealthy have fled the planet and live in orbital stations, aloof from the concerns of the suffering people below them. All the while, the genocidal Defenders of Gaia continue their plan to save the planet by eliminating all humans. When Char Meadowlark, a scientist, attempts to flee into orbit to escape a Gaian attack, she gets caught up in an adventure both terrifying and thrilling.


    Review:

    Though the above summary is accurate in terms of describing what happens in Space Junque, it does not perhaps get across the true tone of this story. While this is most definitely not a comedy, it does maintain a light enough atmosphere at many points that the rather dark events permeating the plot don't overwhelm the story and turn it into some sort of depressing mess. In that way, the atmosphere and a story defined by both a wounded world and emotionally wounded characters first brought to my mind not other books, but instead shows like Firefly and Cowboy Bebop. In addition, at the center of much of the darkness is the hint of hope that helps prevent a total emotional disengagement from the storyline.

    With only a brief introduction to the main character before throwing her into the middle of action, Space Junque sets its tempo right away. While the entire book isn't defined only by breathless action, this is definitely not a story anyone would accuse of being slow. There was a lot going on and a lot of characters weaving in and out of the narrative. By the time I reached the end, I was rather surprised by just how much had occurred in the span of only 28,000 words. Both the reader and Char Meadowlark don't get much of a chance to catch their breath between crises.

    Despite the often furious pacing, the author manages to craft a compelling, developed world. What I found particularly interesting were the various small background details she often employed instead of pace-killing exposition to give us a very clear insight into the kind of place the Earth had become. This novella actually packed more world building in its short length than many full-length novels I've read recently.

    The importance of the world crafting was made obvious by the inclusion of fantasy elements in the story. In a less well-developed and actualized world, the introduction of such elements might have seemed forced or unnatural, but in this story they came off as a natural outgrowth of the themes and setting that were already being explored. They also turn what appears to be a mere dystopia science fiction story into something a bit more unusual.

    A large and diverse cast of characters made their way in and out of the story. Sometimes, however, the cast was perhaps too large. The same pacing that kept the story from ever dragging also limited the amount of time available for character development and engagement. I felt a strong connection to Char while reading the story. She is a woman who is forced to deal with many emotional scars and new wounds to her heart, but all the while manages to keep from collapsing into complete self-pity. On the other hand, many of the secondary characters danced in and out of the story quickly enough that it was hard for me to really develop a

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A Wild Ride

    Plot: This was a wild ride. I have to be honest. I started this book not knowing what it was. I didn’t even read the blurb. The cover looked all sci-fi like, so I was expecting straight sci-fi, which isn’t a genre I read. However, the first few pages caught my interest with the ghosts and all. They kind of reminded me of zombies, but I never really got a full description of them or what the big hoopla was. Then the romantic elements hit, which threw me off guard. No more judging a book by the cover. I looked up the book to find out what I was getting into. Anyway, here’s what I thought Space Junque. Sci-fi: This is only the second sci-fi romance I’ve read. The setting was decades in the future and after the earth had experience several ecological disasters. Ms. Rigel even threw in the oil spill of 2010. Very cool. One thing I can say about Ms. Rigel is she doesn’t waste words. There were a lot of unfamiliar terms in Space Junque, and I think a few could have benefited from additional explanations. Even so, all the elements were there to give the work a great sci-fi feel to it. Space Opera: I had to look up Space Opera to find out what it meant, but I think I have a vague grasp on the genre, so don’t fuss too much if I mess up. In terms of the Space Opera aspect (government versus the DOGs), Ms. Rigel did excellent in this area for such a short span of time. I understood what the government (aka empire) wanted. Of course with all governments, there’s always the threat of corruption. I do wonder what the DOGs hoped to accomplish with their destructive path. I’m thinking this will be revealed in the next novella Spiderwork. Really, I see Space Junque as an intro to a potential epic saga. Could Space Junque simply be Act One? Romance: The romantic aspects were rather low key. Char and Jake had very little face-to-face time together, making it hard to call Space Junque a romance. However, it did meet the happy for now (HFN) requirement, kind of. Again, I’m thinking more will be revealed in Spiderwork. Paranormal: This was another aspect which blew me away. How in the world do you mix paranormal into Sci-fi? Simple: Space Junque. Now I’m not going to go into detail with this, cause I don’t want to ruin any surprises. But from looking at the cover of Spiderwork (yeah I’m still judging books even though I said I wouldn’t), the paranormal aspect gets a lot of play in the next novella. In Space Junque we seem to get the intro. So, my summary of the plot: Basically, it seemed to be the intro of a bigger picture. This book drew me in but left me wanting more. Spiderwork is definitely one to add to my reading list, just to read the rest of this saga. My reclassification of this genre would be Space Opera/Sci-fi with romantic and strong paranormal elements. Characters: The main star of the show was Char. For the most part, she was well-developed. I understood her motivates and even understood the rational behind her spontaneous behavior. She surprised me a few times, but she was definitely realistic. Well done! Her co-star was Jake. I think there was only one chapter in his POV. So calling him co-star is a stretch. Let’s call him a strong supporting character, since I could have done without his POV. I got the feeling his chapter was thrown in to offer back story the reader couldn’t obtain from Char. From Char’s POV, I think we only touched on his personality. It’ll be interesting how he develops in the next book. 3.5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    enjoyable

    I bought this book after the author posted about it at nookboards forums. It was a very enjoyable read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Good book

    You people should read this novel yourselvesand write your own review of this novel.I enjoyed reading this novel.ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Recommend

    Interesting concept. Good characters. Not so sure the goddess aspect really improves the story.

    The romance with Jake was way too quick and Mike's involvement with Sky and Char seemed odd .. which one?

    Still a pretty good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I started this book once and put it down because it was boring.

    I started this book once and put it down because it was boring. Then picked it up again and about 20% though it became interesting and I had trouble putting it down. It didn't end like you think it would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1