Customer Reviews for

Spades

Average Rating 3
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Aggravating at times

Good except for your computer partner playing like a five year old! It will go nil and lead with aces and when you go nil it will lead it twos, other than that, great game

posted by 8622352 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

True spades

By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this g...
By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this game of spades, there is little protection at the beginning of the hand for your top cards. A good spades player counts on being able to "clear out" the spades so that his top cards in other suites have a better chance of winning the book.

It is also a shame that players are penalized for making more books than they bid. For one thing, part of the reason you can make more books than you bid is because of the flaws in the game itself. The bots are still "cutting" hearts, diamonds & clubs with a spade when they have these cards, as evidenced by the fact they will play these cards later in the same hand. They also sometimes play spades at inappropriate times.

I would gladly purchase this game again with these updates because even with the flaws, I still play the game every day. Please consider a new game without all these skill hindering rules.
May I suggest that you consult with an African American because maybe the rules you have is the way White people play. So this could just be a cultural difference. If you made a different spades game with the changes I've suggested, you would tap into a whole different market - the African American market, which is often overlooked. Make these changes, then just sit back and watch as your new game goes flying off the shelves, so to speak!!!

posted by caramel61 on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    True spades

    By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this game of spades, there is little protection at the beginning of the hand for your top cards. A good spades player counts on being able to "clear out" the spades so that his top cards in other suites have a better chance of winning the book.

    It is also a shame that players are penalized for making more books than they bid. For one thing, part of the reason you can make more books than you bid is because of the flaws in the game itself. The bots are still "cutting" hearts, diamonds & clubs with a spade when they have these cards, as evidenced by the fact they will play these cards later in the same hand. They also sometimes play spades at inappropriate times.

    I would gladly purchase this game again with these updates because even with the flaws, I still play the game every day. Please consider a new game without all these skill hindering rules.
    May I suggest that you consult with an African American because maybe the rules you have is the way White people play. So this could just be a cultural difference. If you made a different spades game with the changes I've suggested, you would tap into a whole different market - the African American market, which is often overlooked. Make these changes, then just sit back and watch as your new game goes flying off the shelves, so to speak!!!

    40 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Aggravating at times

    Good except for your computer partner playing like a five year old! It will go nil and lead with aces and when you go nil it will lead it twos, other than that, great game

    31 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Update 1.1 is available

    Update 1.1 is available. Fixes partner AI bug. Get it.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Works Great!

    I Love Spades and very happy to be able to get it for my Nook Color. The graphics is great and the gameplay is very smooth. It works great without any problems on my Nook Coler.

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Very Nice!

    Nice version of spades here for only a few shekels. The graphics are pleasing without overwhelming you. The game play is nice and smooth. The software plays a good solid game. You can play nil and blind nil. Min score can be set
    between -100 and -1000 and Max between 100 and 1000.

    Just a nice decent version of Spades. ^_^

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Real Spades Playa!

    This game is awesome. I would give 5 stars, and recommend everywhere if I could control my fool of a partner. That guy cost me the game everytime. It's like playing by yourself.
    The play of the app is awesome, but the need to let me control the partner especially in a game where the partner is necessary.
    Good work though, still fun to play.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Thanks!

    I have been waiting for a Spades app to come to the NC.

    I agree with the other poster your "partner" does not seem to play like a partner. My partner will trump my tricks on occasion.

    Overall I love the app.

    Thanks Agile Fusion!!! Keep bringing us your stuff.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Poor partner

    Wouldn't you think a partner with a high card would play it on an opening nil bid so the nil bid wouldn't be lost in the opening round?

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    I love spades...but....

    The partners seems to be playing an individual game, and not a partners game. The throws are not logical, and spades are broken even before being played. When in nil, neither partner covered each other. Despite all this, we still won the first game! But who cares....its SPADES on the nook, and its only 99¿! Would pay more for a better version! >>-------->

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Fun, but it cheats!

    I really enjoy playing spades. The only thing bad I have to say is that it cheats. When one of the other players has gone nil and a spade is played sometines it will play a card of another suit instead of a spade. It does this on occassion to avoid loosing a bag. I can't do it, so I think that the computor should not be able to. Either way though, I still enjoy playing.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Partner stinks

    Love the game, hate my partner he is out for himself , I help him he helps himself. LOL

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Thowing off

    They throw off suits when they bid nill... i threw a low card to set the other team and they threw anoyher suit. I pkayed my ace then and they had a queen of that suir but threw off the hand before.... so frustrating

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    For all Spades fans

    I've been playing Spades for 20 years and this app works as good as most of the real players I've seen. If you like to play Spades, you will find this app to be just what you needed to pass the time!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Works good now!

    Looks like it has been updated because it's works pretty good! Worth the money spent.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great game.

    Have been waiting a long time for a spades app. Great game. Lots of fun.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Keeps shutting down

    I love playing spades. This needs an update to fix this, please!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Well Done

    The game play is very good and the graphics are great. This is well done game.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Partner stinks

    You bid nil, partner doesn't cover you. Partner bids horribly, either bags heavy or doesn't cover the bid.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Fun...

    Fun to play, but the computer partner is stupid

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Rests it middle of games.

    Playing the game and about 50% of the time the game restarts. It either looses the game or reset back to when u started. Very poor

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5