Customer Reviews for

Spades

Average Rating 3
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Aggravating at times

Good except for your computer partner playing like a five year old! It will go nil and lead with aces and when you go nil it will lead it twos, other than that, great game

posted by 8622352 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

True spades

By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this g...
By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this game of spades, there is little protection at the beginning of the hand for your top cards. A good spades player counts on being able to "clear out" the spades so that his top cards in other suites have a better chance of winning the book.

It is also a shame that players are penalized for making more books than they bid. For one thing, part of the reason you can make more books than you bid is because of the flaws in the game itself. The bots are still "cutting" hearts, diamonds & clubs with a spade when they have these cards, as evidenced by the fact they will play these cards later in the same hand. They also sometimes play spades at inappropriate times.

I would gladly purchase this game again with these updates because even with the flaws, I still play the game every day. Please consider a new game without all these skill hindering rules.
May I suggest that you consult with an African American because maybe the rules you have is the way White people play. So this could just be a cultural difference. If you made a different spades game with the changes I've suggested, you would tap into a whole different market - the African American market, which is often overlooked. Make these changes, then just sit back and watch as your new game goes flying off the shelves, so to speak!!!

posted by caramel61 on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    True spades

    By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this game of spades, there is little protection at the beginning of the hand for your top cards. A good spades player counts on being able to "clear out" the spades so that his top cards in other suites have a better chance of winning the book.

    It is also a shame that players are penalized for making more books than they bid. For one thing, part of the reason you can make more books than you bid is because of the flaws in the game itself. The bots are still "cutting" hearts, diamonds & clubs with a spade when they have these cards, as evidenced by the fact they will play these cards later in the same hand. They also sometimes play spades at inappropriate times.

    I would gladly purchase this game again with these updates because even with the flaws, I still play the game every day. Please consider a new game without all these skill hindering rules.
    May I suggest that you consult with an African American because maybe the rules you have is the way White people play. So this could just be a cultural difference. If you made a different spades game with the changes I've suggested, you would tap into a whole different market - the African American market, which is often overlooked. Make these changes, then just sit back and watch as your new game goes flying off the shelves, so to speak!!!

    43 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Partner stinks

    Love the game, hate my partner he is out for himself , I help him he helps himself. LOL

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Thowing off

    They throw off suits when they bid nill... i threw a low card to set the other team and they threw anoyher suit. I pkayed my ace then and they had a queen of that suir but threw off the hand before.... so frustrating

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Fun...

    Fun to play, but the computer partner is stupid

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Ok

    When i get into a good game it cut off

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Partner

    My computer partner stinks, upgrade to better partner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Disappointed

    My game keeps starting over after only a few hands :( Is there any way to correct this?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Game is okay

    This game would be more fun if your partner played like one and if the bots didn`t cheat. I hope there`s eventually an update that fixes these bugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Worth the price but ooohhhh so aggravating.

    Partner plays so dumb. No protection when you bid nil. Bids outlandish dumb sometimes. Bids nil even with 5 or more spades. Still a great time passer you just have to play with the knowledge that your partner is not the brightest bulb in the fixture....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Not Bad

    It's not fast paced but it does keep you entertained

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Annoyingly flawed

    Its no fun playing a team game when your partner is playing for himself. The AI is clueless on protecting a nil-bidding partner, will take extra tricks unnecessarily when team already has made book, and doesnt mind cheating every now and then by not following suit when able. The poor partnering I have learned to adjust to as just something to make game moe challenging but I just quit any game where i spot cheating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    pretty cool

    I like it. Nothing to playing real spades.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    A good game.

    I notice if someone leads with spades, the computer will sometimes throw off with a different suit so it looks like its out of spades. Then on next turn throw a spade down. Otherthan that its a good game

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Scoring

    Doesn’t consistently keep score well after a hand is played. The total bids and the "OK" on the bids confirmation are too close and easy to confirm a total bid that was not intended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Nil bid for Spades

    This is wrong , the way it is set up to play
    Anywhere else you play this bid your partner helps you and DOES NOT PLAY AGAINST YOU!
    I get mad each time I try.


    I'm stopping, it is too frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    computer partner does not know how to play well

    good game, good graphics, challlenging play
    computer partner makes stupid mistakes, tending to over bid and under bid hand frequently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1