Customer Reviews for

Spades

Average Rating 3
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Aggravating at times

Good except for your computer partner playing like a five year old! It will go nil and lead with aces and when you go nil it will lead it twos, other than that, great game

posted by 8622352 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

True spades

By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this g...
By structuring this game so that you can't lead off with spades, you take away one of the most competive parts of a true spades players game which is the ability to "set" or prevent your opponents from making all the books they bid. The way you are forced to play this game of spades, there is little protection at the beginning of the hand for your top cards. A good spades player counts on being able to "clear out" the spades so that his top cards in other suites have a better chance of winning the book.

It is also a shame that players are penalized for making more books than they bid. For one thing, part of the reason you can make more books than you bid is because of the flaws in the game itself. The bots are still "cutting" hearts, diamonds & clubs with a spade when they have these cards, as evidenced by the fact they will play these cards later in the same hand. They also sometimes play spades at inappropriate times.

I would gladly purchase this game again with these updates because even with the flaws, I still play the game every day. Please consider a new game without all these skill hindering rules.
May I suggest that you consult with an African American because maybe the rules you have is the way White people play. So this could just be a cultural difference. If you made a different spades game with the changes I've suggested, you would tap into a whole different market - the African American market, which is often overlooked. Make these changes, then just sit back and watch as your new game goes flying off the shelves, so to speak!!!

posted by caramel61 on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Update 1.1 is available

    Update 1.1 is available. Fixes partner AI bug. Get it.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Works Great!

    I Love Spades and very happy to be able to get it for my Nook Color. The graphics is great and the gameplay is very smooth. It works great without any problems on my Nook Coler.

    22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Very Nice!

    Nice version of spades here for only a few shekels. The graphics are pleasing without overwhelming you. The game play is nice and smooth. The software plays a good solid game. You can play nil and blind nil. Min score can be set
    between -100 and -1000 and Max between 100 and 1000.

    Just a nice decent version of Spades. ^_^

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    For all Spades fans

    I've been playing Spades for 20 years and this app works as good as most of the real players I've seen. If you like to play Spades, you will find this app to be just what you needed to pass the time!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Works good now!

    Looks like it has been updated because it's works pretty good! Worth the money spent.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great game.

    Have been waiting a long time for a spades app. Great game. Lots of fun.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Well Done

    The game play is very good and the graphics are great. This is well done game.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    great game

    play it all the time great game.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Finally!

    Thank you for bringing spades to nook! Works great!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Great game.

    I really enjoy this game. It improves your technique and speed. Fast moving and fun.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    AWESOME GAME!

    I love playing the game spades! It is a very fun time passing game. I can't seem to stop playing is very addicting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Lots of funn

    Looovee iit

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    One of my Favorite Games

    Even though the partner "Ann" doesn't cover your low toss when you go nil or blind nil (dang her) its still a fun game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    So fun!

    I absolutely love this game! It works perfectly!
    I love it! It never messes up on me and it's always working! it works perfectly! Never had a glitches in it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    ROCKS!!

    This game rocks. I love their design of cards. A must get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Nice time killer!

    This a simple and pleasant way to while away the hours. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Fun!!!

    I have this app on my nook color. It is such a great way to waste time. Tons of fun.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Must have!!!

    I'm new to card games and this was a perfect purchase. Simple tutorial and gorgeous graphics. A must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good Game

    Fun great to pass time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    Excellent In joy this game.

    Thank you wonderful game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2