Customer Reviews for

Spain...: A Culinary Road Trip

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    For those on a budget!

    The trio of Batali, Paltrow and Bittman provides a diverse and indepth special culinary treat - more than a cookbook. It is very much like taking a trip to Spain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Visit Spain with Mario and gang!

    What a great way to get a little Spanish culture/history and also get a 'flavor' for their cuisine. I lent the book to a relative and had trouble getting it back, there are some great recipes in it. I enjoyed having an American view on Spanish food. I just wish he would do the same to the various regions of Italy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    Travelling-Cooking and Eating Guide

    This book is wonderful not just as a cookbook, but also as a travel guide. It not only includes good recipes, but also great pictures, places to eat and a general description of the places they visited in Spain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    A wonderful addition to my culinary library

    The presentation of recipes combined with traditions and photographs create a wonderful book that brings back memories of my trip to Spain. It was very difficult to find a recipe book in English during my trip so this is greatly valued and appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    As insipid as the series

    Perhaps I am prejudiced after sitting through several episodes of the series where the participants blathered on about nothing and only Mario had anything at all of interest to say. The women were particularly bad and Bittman is a very unnattractive personality. Book reminded me of that bad experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    Interesting concept that fails in execution

    I admit that I have not watched the TV series, which perhaps changes my perspective. I hoped that this book would be a great hybrid between travel book and cook book to begin my planning for a trip to Spain.

    In my opinion, it was an interesting concept that just didn't work. The book's premise of following the famous chef, the publisher, and the two actresses around an eating tour of Spain was intriguing, but the novelty wore off after three chapters. I felt like I was learning more about their various travel schedules and road trip preferences (Gwyneth is flying home with her kids; Mario's favorite candy bar?) than gaining insight into the various regions and foods of Spain.

    The way the road trip evolved made learning the geography confusing, and the recipes, although authentic, seemed more focused on obtaining authentic Spanish ingredients than any culinary technique...On the whole I was disappointed, although the photos are gorgeous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    Great Companion Guide

    This book is better than the series because it gives more in depth material. It is a great companion guide to the DVD, really you should have both. There is a lot about the small towns of Spain that make it culturally enriching that you just don't get to see on the DVD. I would use it as a travel guide before I bought a lot of other guides. Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    GET YOUR PLANE TICKETS READY!!

    Being a native from Spain myself, I find that some books about Spanish culture and food, misrepresent the true nature of my country (or the myriad of "regions" inside Spain). A Culinary Road Trip is a great and wonderful exception! ...as you read the book and look at the pictures ..you can feel you are sitting in a "terraza" in a "Plaza Mayor" with a group of good friends.. just be sure you open a good Spanish wine to enrich your experience! y BIENVENIDOS A ESPANA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    loved it

    I love all the different regions of food

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    great book

    I loved this book. It's really two books in one. A travel vision of Spain, along with wonderful cultural recipes. The photography says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Gorgeous and Enticing Gastronomic Tour of Spain

    The TV series and the book are both mouth-watering; you'll want to hop on a plane and visit some of these Spanish towns after reading some of the recipes and looking at the exquisite photos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Outstanding Book!

    Unforgettable recipies and photographs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Fun and tasty at the same time.

    After reading through this book all you want to do is catch the next plane for Spain and drive around just like the author and his companions did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    Follows The Series Well

    I enjoy the Spain On The Road Again series and this book follows the series. It is as much a travel guide as it is a cookbook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful picture book

    I expected more travel with lots of recipes. There isn't enough of either. It is a beautiful picture book and interesting in what it does have but I would have liked more commentary and recipes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Spanish food!

    This is a book about Spanish food, which is a wonderful thing. Is it not?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2