Customer Reviews for

Spanish For Dummies (with CD)

Average Rating 3.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Very good book to learn spanish.

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Useful and Entertaining

I¿ve always wondered if the ¿for dummies¿ theme of this particular series of books has been bad for sales. If you¿re turned off by the idea of being told you¿re a dummy, don¿t let the tongue-in-cheek title fool you: Spanish for Dummies is a comprehensive teaching tool...
I¿ve always wondered if the ¿for dummies¿ theme of this particular series of books has been bad for sales. If you¿re turned off by the idea of being told you¿re a dummy, don¿t let the tongue-in-cheek title fool you: Spanish for Dummies is a comprehensive teaching tool for those interested in learning to speak Spanish. Covering vocabulary, pronunciation and grammar is next to impossible in just one book, so don¿t expect Spanish for Dummies to teach you to be fluent in Spanish ¿ it can¿t and won¿t. It¿s a great start, though, and fun to read. The dialogs are interesting and fun to follow, and the layout is pleasant and easy on the eyes. Honestly, though, if you¿ve read one ¿for dummies¿ book, you¿ve read them all. You either enjoy the style or you don¿t. I have to say that I¿m generally biased toward the series, so take that into account. If you¿re really going to drill down and master Spanish (or any language, for that matter), I have to recommend a good CD set for repetition and mastering pronunciation. Phonetic spellings from books just don¿t cut it when trying to master all the nuances of speaking a foreign language. The best tool I¿ve found for this is the Learning Spanish Like Crazy CDs. Everything from the structure to the lessons is excellent in this series. It¿s well worth the purchase.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    Useful and Entertaining

    I¿ve always wondered if the ¿for dummies¿ theme of this particular series of books has been bad for sales. If you¿re turned off by the idea of being told you¿re a dummy, don¿t let the tongue-in-cheek title fool you: Spanish for Dummies is a comprehensive teaching tool for those interested in learning to speak Spanish. Covering vocabulary, pronunciation and grammar is next to impossible in just one book, so don¿t expect Spanish for Dummies to teach you to be fluent in Spanish ¿ it can¿t and won¿t. It¿s a great start, though, and fun to read. The dialogs are interesting and fun to follow, and the layout is pleasant and easy on the eyes. Honestly, though, if you¿ve read one ¿for dummies¿ book, you¿ve read them all. You either enjoy the style or you don¿t. I have to say that I¿m generally biased toward the series, so take that into account. If you¿re really going to drill down and master Spanish (or any language, for that matter), I have to recommend a good CD set for repetition and mastering pronunciation. Phonetic spellings from books just don¿t cut it when trying to master all the nuances of speaking a foreign language. The best tool I¿ve found for this is the Learning Spanish Like Crazy CDs. Everything from the structure to the lessons is excellent in this series. It¿s well worth the purchase.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Very good book to learn spanish.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    really good book!!!!!

    I think this book was really good and also really helpful. I used it for Spanish 1 and also for Spanish 2.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    It help me pass my beginner class

    I still carry it around with me, just for reference, but definitely a winner for begginers!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    Don't be a dummy, do not buy this book

    I bought this book to help with my beginning Spanish class, because it was the only one I saw with a CD. It was a terrible disappointment. Very few of the basic words I looked up are in the 'mini-dictionary' which only spans a few pages. Keep looking --

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, really really helped me!

    I had to start Spanish 1 in high school 2 years ago and my friend had given me this book for my birthday as a joke. Before I started Spanish class, I started to use this book. It really helped me and maybe even gave me an advantage over the other students. I did all the exercises at the end of the chapters. I completed 2 years of Spanish in HS and am now going onto being a Spanish major in college. I would really recommend this book for anyone looking to learn to speak Spanish, although it will not make you fluent. That can take years. Also, not really satisfied with the Spanish-English dictionary. Overall, great book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    simple

    it's easy to understand. anyone can learn how to speak apanish through this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty decent book!

    This is actually a very good book. I had taken three year semesters of Spanish in high school/college but I wanted to refresh and become more fluent in the language. This is a fun way to refresh your language skills, where it seems like the author is right there to support and encourage you as you progress. For individuals that know little Spanish, are just learning a new language, or want to brush up on the commonalities of the language (along with some good grammar lessons), this is a great book to start with. It's not for the already-fluent speakers looking for more in-depth analyses of grammatical function, but it's just a great little guide for brush-ups and improvements!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Spanish for Dummies

    This book was not helpful at all. It is geared more toward someone who is traveling to Spanish speaking countries. I was looking to learn just some basic everyday phrases. Asking where a restaurant is was not what I was looking to learn. This was a waste of money.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2002

    Comprehensive & well-written

    Personally, contrary to what the other reader has written, i find this book comprehensive and well-written. I agree that the 'dictionary' at the back is short, but who doesnt know that any person learning a new language should get a proper and at least a few-hundred-page dictionary?? This is one book which helped me through my Spanish. Interesting and funny.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Disappointing at best

    I thought with dealing in an area with a lot of diversity I could use this book to speak more fluent Spanish with some of my clientele. The basics of the book are boring and useless as it give you ides on how to conjugate different words but does not tell you what the words mean or their specific conjugation translations. To add to the frustrations the table provided that do actually review specific words or explain the conjugation do not expand out even when you increase the size of the font, which makes it impossible to read without a magnifying glass. I am going to request my money back on this one as I find the book useless and boringly frustrating.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    not enough spanish for dummies

    not what I was expecting.thought it would contain english/spanish dictionary.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    I use it as a reference to supplement my Rosetta Stone Course

    Seems to be adequate for my needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Lola

    Hola quien eres

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Me!!!!!!!

    Me learnin portuguese italian german french spanish and emarican

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Como te llamo

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Does the audio work

    It says it comes with audio does that work?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    HOLA

    Hola. Como estas? Me llamo Maria. Yo hablo usted ingles?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Ahola read

    Me illamo alaina but my spanish name is cristina i am muy bein if you sneeze say sauld it means bless u adiose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Hola

    hola chicos soy Tori lo que pasa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3