Customer Reviews for

Spanking Shakespeare

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious

Very funny and captures the readers attention.

posted by 16880388 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An okay read

It is an amusing read. However, i think that it comes off as a crude kind of book.

posted by 17097427 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Hilarious

    Very funny and captures the readers attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JodiG. for TeensReadToo.com

    Shakespeare Shapiro hates his name. It is one in a long line of things that his parents have done to make his life miserable. The rest of his life isn't going very well either. Shakespeare actually describes his life as a series of catastrophes. Now he is beginning his senior in high school, has never kissed a girl, and has only made two friends. His younger brother, Gandhi, is popular and has a girlfriend. And his parents, well, they are a unique force to be reckoned with.<BR/><BR/>Now that he is in the twelfth grade, Shakespeare has to do his school's senior project; write a memoir about his life so far. The good news is that Shakespeare is a skillful writer. The bad? How truthful would you want to be if your life was made up of mortifying, embarrassing moments? <BR/><BR/>In addition to his memoir, Shakespeare is also dealing with the usual high school issues: girls (or a lack of them), sex (or a lack of it), popularity (againâ¿"a lack of it), and family. And now his two best friends, Neil and Katie, are hooking up. <BR/><BR/>SPANKING SHAKESPEARE is a hilariously funny look at the life of a very unique teenage boy. It is written in a dual style; a narrative of Shakespeare's everyday life combined with chapters from his memoir. Author Jake Wizner takes readers through the life of one of the smartest and funniest characters in young adult fiction today. SPANKING SHAKESPEARE will have you laughing out loud.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    An okay read

    It is an amusing read. However, i think that it comes off as a crude kind of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!

    I've never read anything like it. Would make a hilarious movie. One of the top best books I've ever read, and I read alot. BUY IT NOW!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've never laughed so hard in my life.

    I have to say, this is by far the funniest book I've ever read.
    It got me in a great mood. Personally, 150 pages is a little short for me, but this book was definitely worth it.
    I would recommend this book to anyone above the age of 12.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Pleasantly surprising

    This was a fun read with quite a few laugh out loud moments. The author's devil may care style of writing was spot on and really help bring his version of high school to life. I will totally read this again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So worth Reading

    this book was a heck of a lot of fun to read.I never wanted to put it down. If you have read works by Ned Vizini, Judy Bloom, Meg Cabot, or any adolecent aurthor, than i recodmend this book for you. i am a 16 year old girl and happed to love it. it is very humorous, and it keeps you entertained. if you looking for an easy going, easy to reed book, then i suggest you buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    I loved this book. As a young teenager, this book was extremely

    I loved this book. As a young teenager, this book was extremely ammusing. It was recommended by an older person who told me that it was a great book to remind older folks of the good old days in high school. For me though, it was a guide into what my next four years in high school was going to be like. This book was relatable to my own life. The author leaves out no detail of what Shakespeare Shapiro experiences in his high school life. This book is too hard to put down. Coming from a person who doesn't read unless assigned, this book is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I loved it!!

    This book is halarious and has become one of my favorites. This book is a teens book so please don't judge it by the over-use of the word sex... please. Friendship, parents, school,prom, and shakespeare's memoir will have you rolling with humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    hilarious read

    this book is one of the best comical book ive ever read, but the humor iscrude and is intended more for teenage boys, i loved this book i couldnt get through one page without laughing my butt off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Offensively hillarious.

    If you get offended by crude humor or religion this book is not for you. That being said if you like that kind of humor you will love this book! It is easily one of my favorite books. I laughed from start to finish. As a junior in high school the characters are easy to relate to. They are very real and accuratly portrayed. That's not to say thought that adults wouldn't like this book as well. It has a few twists but is mainly straight forward. Shakespeare (an amazing writer) writes about his life (which is stringed together by embarising if not uncomfortable events) up until that point. This book is a great page turner. If you ever need to laugh just pick up a copy. I would definitly recomend for anyone over the age of 15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Funny right from the beginning!

    This book first caught my eye while i was browsing through books with my friend. I picked it up and read the first couple of pages and couldn't help laughing out loud. It was funny and ridiculous. I was looking for a funny read at the time and this book seemed perfect. It absolutley did not disappoint as i read more of it. It's definitely a book to read if you're looking for something with humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book! Read it Now!

    I thought this book was hilarious! I didnt expect it to be that good. As soon as you pick it up, you just want to keep reading untill the end. I have recommened it to all of my friends and they all loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    To be or not to be...

    Spanking Shakespeare was not what I expected when I first picked it up. I thought it might be okay with a touch of humor and I'd eventually grow bored. Jake Wizner seems to have proven me wrong. This book was hilarious, from Shakespeare's parents' embarrassing stories of his conception to his visit with a sex doctor, his quirky points of view lead you through his life at high school and the laughable events of his childhood. I look forward to more of Jake Wizner's exceptional and questionable humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book made me pee my pants!

    Seriously, this novel is hilarious. I definitely would recommend it to anyone who likes a raw and crude sense of humor. The characters witty banter through his unique and "charismatic" writing (if you will), show the perverted side to your average teenage guy. This novel is real, honest, and by far, now, one of my favorite teen books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Airplain Read... and thats about it.

    When I say airplane read, I'm not talking abut a giddy trip to the sunny shore- I'm talking about the red-eye, 14 hr flight to Europe when you have nothing to do and you can't force yourself to sleep.
    This book kept me attached, and it over-all wasn't that bad-- I really liked the style this author used, and it had it's sweet moments. But the whole theme of a boy starving for sex just doesn't appeal to me. I only truly liked 2 characters, but the rest of them were really corny.
    Secondly, I didn't find the humor so humorous. "Then when I was 6 I had an experience with a wall" 'HAHAHAHAHA oh wow! That's so original and funny! Gee I love this book!' Seriously? So, most of the chapters of Shakespeare's memoir I just skipped (because I couldn't be less interested).

    If you like sexual innuendo, sexual content, and just good ol' sex, this book is for you.

    But if you are debating between this book and another, I would go with the other book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    spanking shakespeare

    This book is histerical. Shakespeare is a senior in high school who is going through high school trying to find a girlfriend, trying not to be jealous of his little brother, and more all while writing his senior project memoir that tells all of the extremely odd, but hilarious experiences in his life from his first plane ride alone to his grandmothers, to his drunken experience with his father in Italy. Its an amazing book, and anyone who loves comedy and wants to laugh should read this book. Actually, everyone should read this book whether you like to read or not. I usually dont read a lot of books but i could NOT put this book down. I finished this within a matter of a few days. I truly recomend people to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Spanking Shakespeare

    Shakespeare Shapario is one of the dorkiest kids in his highschool. His parents blessed him with that title the moment they named him Shakespeare.HIs dad is an alcholic and his mom hates to do anything. They fight constantly. SHakespeare has a gift though. He is a genius when it comes to writing. His two best friends are right by his side all the way. Niel Wasserman is obsessed with his bowel movements and Katie Marks love calling them both freaks. This book was by far one of the funniest books i have read all year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    UM???WOW!

    THIS BOOK IS SO HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!! Its like this book was written for me. Its an awesome story with nice twists. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I totally encourange you too read this wonderful hilarious story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4