Customer Reviews for

Spare Change

Average Rating 5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A memorable heart-warming tale.

    Every once in a while you read a book with characters that touch you. It’s the kind of book you want to share with others. Spare Change is that type of book. It’s the story of a woman who fears marriage and children at a time when all women long to walk down the aisle. It is a beautiful, heartwarming tale about love, loss and unexpected gifts. It deals with a violent murder, a witness and those who wish to keep it a secret. Above all, this novel offers characters you won't soon forget. Told from multiple points of view, this tale seeped from the pages and wrapped itself around my heart. I loved Crosby’s writing style. She took me into the mind of each character and with the character of Ethan Allen; she touched my heart. I am the mother of three and I had this overwhelming desire to scoop him up and hold him. Olivia cracked me up with her fears and superstitions and touched me with her bravery. Ethan Allen's mother is a memorable character who will shock you with her antics. The folks within the apartment community were delightful and I loved the way they protected Ethan Allen. While Spare Change, could have been delivered in a dark tragic tone; Crosby focuses’ on the strength of humankind and the power of faith and love. I highly recommend Spare Change to everyone. I read this novel in a few hours, but it will stay with me a lifetime. In my opinion this novel could find itself on the classics bookshelf. This would make an excellent book of the month, as it is sure to create discussion and evoke emotions. I am adding Betty Lee Crosby to my list of must read authors. I want to thank the author for providing me with this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is full of southern charm and wit. This heartwarming s

    This book is full of southern charm and wit. This heartwarming story pulled me in from the beginning and didn’t let me go. The characters are dynamic, endearing, and unforgettable. I would highly recommend this finely crafted, wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Spare Change is a wonderful, uplifting and heart tugging gem of

    Spare Change is a wonderful, uplifting and heart tugging gem of a little book.
    I love the southern “lingo” it makes me smile and reminds me of the time I spent in the south.
    Olivia is a woman who is sure children will never be in her future, she sees no need of them at all.
    Ethan Allen (I had a good laugh at this name!) is a little boy badly in need of some love and attention especially when he witnesses the death of his mother.
    Afraid for his life, Ethan Allen runs off to find his grandpa but he finds Olivia instead and together with a zany cast of fun characters they find and fend off the man who murdered his mother.
    Olivia & Ethan Realize love can conquer all and that they were meant to find and love each other.
    I very much enjoyed this sweet book Bette offered me for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Great book.Excellent read

    I enjoyed this and Jubilee's Journey both. Character's are well developed. Story weaves nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Great read

    Would recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    Ethan Allen Doyle had a tough life. His mother was so wrapped up

    Ethan Allen Doyle had a tough life. His mother was so wrapped up in herself, and his father had a mean streak.  He had more on his plate than any eleven-year-old should ever have, and then, he witnessed a brutal murder. Fearing for his life, he takes off in search of his grandfather, known only to him by the Christmas cards he received.
    Olivia Westerly is settled into her single life when she meets Charlie Doyle, who sweeps her off her feet.  Her married life quickly takes a turn to the unexpected, and Olivia was forced into a situation that causes her to re-evaluate her life.  Through various events, the most important of which is having the care of Ethan Allen forced upon her, she finds all of her preconceived notions of the kind of person she is, are no longer applicable.  
    SPARE CHANGE is a murder mystery.  The storyline drew me in quickly with its superstitions, mystery, romance, friendship, humor, and its flawed characters that are so realistic that every reader can find them believable.  The story moves quickly and is told from several different points of view. It’s about how we deal with life’s challenges and the power of love in changing who we are.
    When I first started reading SPARE CHANGE, I thought I wouldn’t like it very much, but once into a few pages, I was captivated by the story, the writing style, the author’s voice, and the characters.  I am amazed that so much emotion, mystery, and story is found in just 280 pages.  It is a book I heartily recommend to all readers in every genre.  I look forward to reading more of Bette Lee Crosby’s work.

    I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    This is a great book, a work of literature!  It is sometimes blo

    This is a great book, a work of literature!  It is sometimes bloody and tragic, sometimes crude, sometimes surprising but always riveting, interesting, exciting, loving and well worth the read.  Author, Bette Lee Crosby gave me her book in return for an honest review.  My honest review is that I loved it!  Thanks Bette.  :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Wonderful, heart tugging story. Couldn't put it down, I just HAD

    Wonderful, heart tugging story. Couldn't put it down, I just HAD to know what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Spare Change by Bette Lee Crosby Ethan Allen Doyle, an eleven y

    Spare Change by Bette Lee Crosby

    Ethan Allen Doyle, an eleven year old boy witnesses a brutal murder. He is on the run fearing for his life.
     He has a pocket with a some "spare change" and is set on looking for his Grandfather, a Grandfather
    he never met. What he finds is Olivia Westerly, his grandfathers widow. It took her forty years to marry,
    she is very superstitious and she is not particularly fond of children. But when Ethan shows up at her
    door both their lives are about to change forever.

    I could not help but liking Ethan, he had all odds against him, but he had determination. Determined to
    live a "normal" life. As quirky as Olivia is, I really liked her.She goes through some life altering changes,
    which (to me) built her character. Spare Change is a story of loss , love, family, devotion and redemption.


    Bette Lee Crosby knows how to make words flow off each page, and bring (her) characters to life. A well
    written story told from each persons perspective, the blend of alternating from each (person) worked very
    well. I got the feel of what they were thinking and feeling. I was so engrossed I could not put it down. I
    highly recommend to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Gret Read

    Great Read. Si knows exactly what he is talking about. You just need to Speak Si.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    When Olivia and Ethan Allen meet, it's a shock. She's a widow wh

    When Olivia and Ethan Allen meet, it's a shock. She's a widow who doesn't like children. He is the eleven year old grandson of her late husband. They are both lost souls. Olivia's Charlie died during their honeymoon, She was only a bride for twenty-two days. Ethan Allen's parents were murdered and he was a witness. He's afraid to tell what he saw. Now he is running for his life to a grandfather he never met only to find he's dead. Will Grandma Olivia give him a safe haven and the love and security he needs? Can these two learn to love and trust each other? Bette Lee Crosby has outdone herself. Olivia and Ethan Allen are memorable characters that tug at your heart. It was touching the way the other residents at the Wyattsville Arms help and protect these two. The story is well plotted and filled with both heartbreak and hope. Spare Change brought me to tears. This emotionally intense story centers on love, forgiveness and trust. I love the writing of Bette Lee Crosby. They way she handles the interwoven storylines of Olivia and Ethan Allen is wonderful. This book goes on the keeper shelf.

    I was gifted a copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unscripted review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    GREAT BOOK

    GREAT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Great book

    Really enjoyed the story. Had you wondering until the very end. And falling in love with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Wonderful story

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I could totally relate to the "Grandmother" who didn't want children when she was young, yet changed her mind once exposed to one of age 11. I hope there are more stories like this around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Great book! Really enjoyed this author! Immediately read the n

    Great book! Really enjoyed this author! Immediately read the next: Jubilee's Journey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    Spare Change such a wonderful book.  I loved the characters and

    Spare Change such a wonderful book.  I loved the characters and the dialogue.  I would recommend this book and any by Bette Lee
    Crosby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much. Pleasurable reading.

    I enjoyed this book very much. Pleasurable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Characters you want to know

    I read it with a smile and wished it didnt have to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Heartwarming

    Get story.. each turn leads you on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Good story, but a little too sweet

    Read the book in one sitting on a sleepless night. Good story but a bit too good/bad. A tad bit of Jesus but not so much to annoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3