Customer Reviews for

The Spare Room: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Ridiculous

    I found this story short, and quite frankly absurd. The author obviously has a problem with homeopathic or hollistic treatments to write about it in this perspective. I understand that its not everyones choice but it is certainly some peoples decision and the main character of this book definitely comes across offensively. Also i found that the main character or narrator if you will is somewhat rude at times to her friend who is ridden with cancer often wishing shed die soon or treating her as if she was a burden, being someone who has lost a grandmother to cancer , even on their worst days you dont wish for them to be dead. I also have a grandmother who is at a hollistic institute currently for 3 weeks hoping to fight this with treatments that wont be as harmful and violent as chemo can be and she has shown positive results in her fight against liver cancer cat. 4. This author was way off base although it was short and her ending was abrupt as if she was tired writing and slapped it together, it had bits of moments but i wouldnt reccommend it to anybody especially those struggling with cancer. She disregards any hope might one feel during the dreadful fight against cancer. Call me biased, i know people die of cancer plenty close to me already have but leave hope for the survivors this book is plain cinical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Amazing

    So much emotion in this little book. The story will be indelibly written in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent

    Helen lives in Melbourne, Australia and her friend Nicola from Sydney is going to be staying with Helen for a few weeks while she undergoes a holistic treatment for cancer that no longer responds to normal medical interventions. Helen is unprepared for how sick Nicola is, but also the fact that Nicola is in complete denial about her health. Helen is very suspicious of the treatment Nicola is receiving. As she spends several times a night changing Nicola's sheets and caring for her, Helen wants to call in palliative care. But Nicola won't hear of it. Helen finds that the more Nicola acts as if nothing is wrong, the angrier Helen becomes. She enlists the help of Nicola's family but no one is able to get through to her and Helen finds she can't wait for Nicola to just leave and become someone else's problem.

    My review: I wasn't expecting to like this book. I honestly don't recall requesting it from LibraryThing's Early Reviewer's. Yet somehow I not only enjoyed this, it was one of the books that helped me out of my reading slump.
    Garner writes directly and the story is unsentimental and compelling. And it only 175 pages, I read it in one sitting. Despite it's shortness, the story was fulfilling: funny, smart, touching, and brave.

    "Peggy glanced at me. Horrified sympathy passed along her eye beams. It weakened me. A huge wave of fatigue rinsed me from head to foot. I was afraid I would slide off the bench and measure my length among the cut roses. At the same time a chain of metallic thoughts went clanking through my mind, like the first dropping of an anchor: death will not be denied. To try is grandiose. It drives madness into the soul. It leaches out virtue. It injects poison into friendship, and makes a mockery of love."

    This was a powerful book, very stark and really made me think. How far would we go to care for one we loved? Would I be able to tolerate someone refusing to accept the possibility of death and killing themselves with treatments that have no credibility? I think I would have speak my mind and not hold it all in.
    here Iris, Nicola's niece tries to explain this to Helen.

    "Want to hear my theory? said Iris. There's a lot of horribleness that Nicola refuses to countenance. But it won't just go away. It can't because it exists. So somebody else has to sort of live it. It's in the air around here. Like static. I felt it when she walked into the house tonight...It's like getting a madness injection."

    This was a great book, strong but not depressing. I highly recommend it.

    my rating 4.5/5
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    Friends

    If you are a friend, have lost a friend, or just question the importance of a friend, this is the novel for you. Like a good cup of tea, the novel should be given the right amount of time to "steep" so it can be
    appreciated to the fullest.
    Deby Coley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Thought provoking little gem.

    As a forty something woman married to an older man with no children of my own, this book really drew me in. Because I often wonder what I will do if I have a terminal illness. Who will take care of me? I think about it but don't obsess about it. This book shows the power of friendship, the fraility of friendship and life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Loved this book

    I saw this book at my local library and was attracted by its title, cover, format, author photograph (is anyone else influenced by this?) and opening paragraph. I read this book straight through and loved it. It has great character development and a subject that could be depressing, but is not. We are lucky author Helen Garner decided to write another book after a 16 year hiatus. I hope to find more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fascinating look at friendship

    Dying from bowel cancer, Nicola decides on an alternate treatment method of vitamin C infusions at the Theodore Institute. Her long time friend Helen invites Nicola to live with her as she has a spare room while she undergoes the radical therapy. The terminal ill woman appreciates the kindness and leaves Sydney for Melbourne.<BR/><BR/>However, as Helen observes Nicola¿s efforts to stay alive, she begins to believe the Theodore Institute is filled with con artists providing magical elixirs that do not work. She fears her friend will die soon anyway and is wasting time better spent with loved ones. On the other hand Nicola believes a miracle is forthcoming leading Helen to wonder if she is the right person to help Nicola die with dignity.<BR/><BR/>This is a fascinating look at friendship as the lead couple see the cancer situation radically different. Helen believes Nicola is foolish wasting her precious last moments and money hoping for a Hail Mary miracle instead of spending what time she has left with her loved ones. Nicola believes Helen is a grump who cannot comprehend life and death as dying has not yet confronted her. Although Helen's eternal squabbling and lecturing become irritating as she either needs to support her friend¿s dying wishes, which centers on miracle treatments that probably will fail or toss her out, readers will relish this poignant character study as the reactions to how to behave when pending death seems shortly.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1