Customer Reviews for

Spark (Brigid Kemmerer's Elemental Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Gabriel Merrick is not your typical high school senior. Sure, he

    Gabriel Merrick is not your typical high school senior. Sure, he goes to
    classes, plays school sports and argues with his three brothers, one of
    which is his identical twin, but he has an unusual connection to fire.
    He's drawn to fire. Fire speaks to him. He just can't control it...yet.
    But that's not his only problem. Lately several houses have been
    torched, and firefighter personnel think he might be involved. Witnesses
    claim to see someone fitting his description at those fires. And then
    there's quiet Layne, who sits near Gabriel in pre-Calculus class. She's
    a bright sophomore who tries to hide behind turtlenecks and baggy
    clothes to protect a secret of her own. Somehow Gabriel's always around
    to rescue her deaf brother, Simon, when he's bullied and abused by a
    mean jock. Though afraid of his inability to control his element of
    fire, Gabriel won't share his fears with anyone. Unless he confides in
    someone soon, he might not only lose the very person who understands him
    most, he stands to jeopardize his freedom too. This is an excellent
    addition to the Elemental Series. Loads of action, great dialogue, and
    layered, well-developed characters kept me reading and enjoying this
    quick-paced story. If you liked the first book of the series (STORM),
    then you'll definitely love SPARK !!! I was thrilled to be given a
    copy of this book by the author, but I did not let this kindness get in
    the way of an honest review. I enjoyed SPARK and think anyone who likes
    the YA paranormal subgenre will too.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spark by Brigid Kemmerer is amazing. Not just amazing, but a-ma-

    Spark by Brigid Kemmerer is amazing. Not just amazing, but a-ma-zing. I
    liked Storm, but Storm was nothing compared to Spark. This book was
    action packed in every page, and just so addicting! In Spark, the main
    protagonist is a different Merrick brother, and this time it's Gaberiel.
    Gaberiel has the fire element, and actually likes to play with it. In
    this book, Gaberiel is a pretty tough guy. I don't know what to expect
    from him, and I really think he's got a bad temper. Gets upset pretty
    easily, and anything can lead to a fight with him. Despite all those
    qualities, he's a great guy as well! I feel like Brigid portrayed a
    teenage guy pretty well. He had a very strong act from the outside, but
    he's actually very nice from the inside. Gaberiel really cares about the
    people around him, but because he doesn't want to show that he cares, he
    messes everything up with his brothers and friends. It was awesome that
    for once, the "cool" guy develops an interest with the class
    "nerd". I found that very different, but interesting to read!
    What I really liked in this book, that unlike Storm, everything was
    clear to me. I was never confused, and there was never any boring part!
    The fights the brothers had with each other were very understandable. I
    have siblings and I can understand how anything can piss you off. I
    really liked the relationship between Layne and Gaberiel. Layne is the
    nerd, while Gaberiel is the jock, and you don't really see these type of
    people together. Even though at times it might have felt a bit draggy,
    it was still really cute. While reading, nothing really felt annoying or
    out of place. The flow was fantastic, and I really want to give a big
    clap to Brigid for writing such a great novel! Overall, I liked that the
    book wasn't concentrated on the magic elements a lot, and that made the
    book balanced. Sometimes to much fantasy just makes me all confused, so
    I'm thankful for that not happening. I loved every single character in
    this book, and everything felt so realistic and believable. It felt like
    all the characters were real! If you haven't started The Elemental
    Series yet, you really should, because they will not disappoint you! I
    really do recommend this to all young adult readers! A very beautiful,
    action packed, story that will leave you wanting more!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Reading Spark was like falling in love all over again, with the

    Reading Spark was like falling in love all over again, with the
    Elemental series storyline and even more importantly, with the Merricks.
    You can clearly see where my priorities lie Although we got a decent
    introduction to Gabriel Merrick in book one, Spark takes us on a deeper
    journey into the inner workings and musings of our favorite pyro.
    Gabriel is hot-tempered and unpredictable, much like the flames that he
    has the ability to manipulate. He’s very “fists flying” first,
    “thinking” second. I was initially worried about Spark. After completely
    loving Storm book one, I feared that a complete character POV switch
    would leave me either bored or let down. That was not the case! I loved
    Spark SO MUCH. Perhaps even more than Storm!! (haven’t fully decided
    yet…) So my initial thought and the accumulation of the review to come
    is this: If you loved Storm than you sure as heck will LOVE Spark. And
    well, if you didn’t particularly love Storm (there’s something wrong
    with you! HAHA just kidding… maybe) there’s still a good chance you’ll
    love Spark regardless. Although set in the same world and around the
    same characters, the atmosphere and overall story is just completely
    different and intriguing due to Gabriel’s and newcomer, Laney’s POV. You
    really get a different look at the Merrick brothers – Nick, Gabriel,
    Michael and Chris along with the other characters introduced in Storm.
    Plus! There’s a whole sleuth of new characters to love and get invested
    in. Out of all the Merrick brothers, I think Gabriel has suffered the
    most. There may have been various incidents caused by all four Merricks
    brothers that led to their parent’s tragic death, but in the end it was
    Gabriel’s uncontrollable emotions and rampant fire that killed them.
    Between guilt over his parent’s death, disfunction and overall
    disagreements with his brothers and consistent struggles in math class,
    Gabriel has more than enough fuel to feed the emotional fire in his
    mind. On a daily basis he struggles to keep his temper down and not
    unintentially cause his surrounding to go up in flames. His one solace
    has always been his twin brother, Nick affectionately known as “Nicky”.
    However, after a silly fight the two are at odds for a good chunk of the
    book leaving Gabriel feeling truly alone. Then enters Hunter. In Storm
    Hunter never truly made a great impression with the Merricks due to
    certain circumstances (that I won’t spoil). I really enjoyed the new
    interaction between Hunter and Gabriel along with their budding
    bromance. I never in my wildest dream thought that these two would so
    much as become friendly acquaintances, so you can imagine my surprise
    when they truly begin to hit it off. We’re talking regular xbox
    sessions, daily jogging and general hanging out. Spark was a fabulous
    book. Not only did we get a continuation of the story we loved SO much
    in Storm we also got a better look at who Gabriel truly is. Although
    from the surface he seems ill-mannered, hot-tempered, and overall jerky
    (which he definitely is at times) there’s more to him. He’s filled with
    sorrow over his parent’s death and uncontrollable anxiety over not being
    able to fully control the fire that constantly beckons and calls out to
    him wanting him to “play”. He struggles with not only reigning in his
    anger but also finding a place in the world. He longs for purpose. Then
    there’s Laney who we meet for the first time in Spark. Although her
    first appearance is quick, she sure as heck makes quite the impression.
    From the outside she look’s meek, quiet, and shy or in other terms “a
    nerd”. However, that is not the case. Although it takes her a while to
    truly stand up for herself, we find out that she’s incredibly smart and
    strong all along; just needing that extra boost of confidence. Although
    she doesn’t really affect much of the Elemental storyline, she does
    affect Gabriel’s. Once again I am satisfied yet still thirsting for the
    next Elemental book. If you have or plan on starting this series make
    sure to checkout the novellas as well. They’re just as good as the
    full-length novels!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    SO GOOD!!!!!

    Most amazing book ever!! Everyone should read this book and the rest of the series!!! Cant wait for the next one to come out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Holy awesomeness, this book was amazing!! Being able to control

    Holy awesomeness, this book was amazing!!
    Being able to control fire isn't exactly easy for Gabriel Merrick. He is addicted to it and can't stay away from it. Unfortunately for him, there is an arsonist in town and his brothers suspect he may have something to do with it. Unable to turn to his brothers with his problems in math, Gabriel finds himself seeking help from Layne, a sophomore in his math class. She tries to blend in, but ends up being bullied by the other girls in class. He works hard to hide his secret from Layne, but at the same time, she has secrets of her own.
    Gabriel has a short temper and has a habit of ending up in fights. Layne is quiet and smart and stronger than she realizes. Though they are different, I could not help but root for them to get together.
    Spark is full of humor, action, and romance. I really enjoyed it, and can't wait for the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Feel the Heat! Brigid Kemmerer returns with a ┬┐burner┬┐ of a bo

    Feel the Heat!


    Brigid Kemmerer returns with a “burner” of a book in the second installment of her Young Adult “Elemental” series, Spark! Filled with heart wrenching emotion, this installment is a closer look into the Merrick family and peels back for us more of the layers that set the foundation of the secrets they all have sworn to protect. Spark is a page-turner of a story that leaves you wanting for more! Gabriel, the most troubled of all the Merrick brothers, born in the middle and the other half of a matched set of twins notwithstanding, finds himself caught up in an internal struggle to control the element to which he is bound. Gabriel holds in his possession the element of fire, while matching his personality to a T, (fiery and restless), the recent changes in the family dynamic leaves him striving to find his place. Unable to resist the unleashed power of his element, Gabriel finds himself helplessly dragged to places fraught with danger, while upon his response, this power will also choose to abandon him even as he heeds its siren call. Powerless to voice how his tentative control seems to be slipping through his fingers, the surprising alliance with the one person who chooses to help guide him is at somewhat comforting. Added to the fact that he is no longer able to switch places with his twin Nick as the need arises, Gabriel must now answer for his other hidden shortcomings. Layne Forrest, studious and sheltered and persecuted by her fellow students also has the unfortunate luck to be sitting next to Gabriel Merrick in math class one of the cutest boys in school; who somehow lately seems a bit different. All too soon, Layne will find out why this brooding stranger now fills the seat beside her and what she chooses to do with this knowledge could burn them both. I cannot wait to see where Brigid is going to lead us next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    The first book was good, this is even better!

    A few months ago, I raved about Brigid Kemmerer’s debut novel, Storm. I loved the characters and the cool Outsiders vibe I got from this book and have been really looking forward to the second book in the Elemental series, Spark. Guess what guys, Spark is even better than Storm!

    I am a very character driven reader and the characters in Spark are fantastic. The plot centers around the four brothers who can control the elements: fire, air, water and earth, and a fifth boy who controls all four elements plus spirit. I love how Kemmerer keeps the focus on the boys’ family dynamics and their friendships. Some of my favorite parts of this book were Gabriel’s interactions with his brothers.

    And speaking of characters, I love Gabriel! True to his fire element, Gabriel is a sarcastic hot head with major issues but Kemmerer makes it work so well. Gabriel is officially one of my favorite book boys for the year! There is romance in Spark and it is sweet, perfect and like everything else about this book, very well developed. While I thought Becca was a decent female lead in Storm, I love Layne in Spark!

    Spark is fast paced and with a different enough focus from Storm to make it fresh even though it is the second book in the series. If you are looking for a paranormal novel that’s fresh, funny, fun, well written with awesome character development and a great plot, Spark (and the Elemental series) is for you.

    I cannot wait to read Spirit, the next book in the series which comes out in May 2013, and pretty much anything else Brigid Kemmerer writes!

    Content: Heavy profanity, underage drinking, bullying, sexual assault, kissing and violence. More appropriate for older/more mature teens and adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    High Rock

    EmberClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Snowmints bio

    12 moon old she cat with grey eyes and white fur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Bios

    Post your bios here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Snowfurs bio

    Eyes#one yellow one blue•fur#white with a hint of yellow•posicion wanting#deputy•personality#active good hunter frendly and can climb like a squrll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Shadow has not come to the battle to protect her kits

    She is not coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Bloodlust to thistle

    No hes getting rid of kit caus of a little power they have and hale the clan ha powers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Frostpaw

    Im there))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Thistlefang

    "Well i can see alot of other ways to solve that issue."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Snow

    The white cat with purple eyes padded back to Bloodclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Screw

    How old are you? Cause using "dragons" and talking like you do. You must be like 6...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Rosetail to envy

    Why did you bring me to a ramdon clan?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Death the kid

    He walks in tired

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5