Customer Reviews for

Sparkly Green Earrings: Catching the Light at Every Turn

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I loved every second of reading this book! I laughed and cried,

    I loved every second of reading this book! I laughed and cried, all the while nodding and actually saying "YES!" out loud! It made me thankful for motherhood, and I didn't want it to end! My only question is - when is the next book coming out? 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    As a long time fan of Melanie's blog, I was so excited when I fo

    As a long time fan of Melanie's blog, I was so excited when I found out she was getting a book deal and anxiously awaited the day it would be available for purchase.  And I was not disappointed.
    I was moved to laughter, to tears, and to tears through laughter as I journeyed through each chapter. Her wit and candor regarding motherhood were both delightful and refreshing.  She makes me want to move to Texas and sustain on a diet rich in friendship, love, laughter, the Holy Spirit, and queso.  I was encouraged as a wife, mother, and woman by her story.  Devoured it one sitting!  I hope this book will be followed by many others!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I am not much of a reader- but polished this off in one "si

    I am not much of a reader- but polished this off in one "sitting."
    God makes some people authors....and after reading this, it is clear to me that Melanie Shankle is one of them.

    My only complaint? this should have come with a pair of Depends and a box of Kleenex.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    I'm not a mother, and I don't know if or when I ever will be. Ho

    I'm not a mother, and I don't know if or when I ever will be. However, Sparkly Green Earrings still resonated with me. Yes, it's a book about "motherhood," but it's so much more than that. It's really about relationships and friendships and trusting God when we don't know why things happen like they do. It's about growing up and growing out of our selfish tendencies so that we become more like Christ each and every day.

    Melanie has a special gift for writing about her personal life experiences in a way that still strikes a chord with readers. I found my eyes misting over as she talked about her miscarriage, and then mere paragraphs later (not even the next chapter!) I was guffawing loudly enough for Hubs to roll over and ask what was wrong. (I have GOT to stop reading in bed after my husband has already fallen asleep!!!)

    This is an incredibly charming book, one I am happy to recommend! [5 stars]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I could read it again and again

    I adore this book and was so sad to get to the end. Melanie's writting is so honest and pure. She will have you laughing out loud through most of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    This book will make you laugh and cry, especially if you have a

    This book will make you laugh and cry, especially if you have a daughter. You feel like you are sitting and sharing mommy horror stories with a girlfriend over a cup of coffee, yet at the end you both know you wouldn't trade it for the world. This book is heartwarming, honest, and so very relatable. This would be a great gift to a friend who has a little girl. It's very encouraging and also a very quick read. The chapter are short and easy. Would be great for the beach or a plane ride. 5 stars for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    HILARIOUS and Heartwarming!! Melanie does a beautiful job of ma

    HILARIOUS and Heartwarming!! Melanie does a beautiful job of making the mundane aspects of motherhood funny and touching at the same time. Thanks for sharing your heart, your story and your faith with us!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    A great way to spend a few hours!

    This book is hilarious and heartwarming. I read it in just a few hours. Mothers to young children will relate to the stories she shares about raising her young daughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Get this book and share it!

    This book was inspiring and it gives me the courage to face motherhood with an open mind and heart. It is relatable to any one who is a mother. Tears and laughter come for free with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I can't recommend this book enough. Such and easy read...I laugh

    I can't recommend this book enough. Such and easy read...I laughed out loud, I cried, and I was so sad to see it end. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I cried just reading the back cover of the book...so touching an

    I cried just reading the back cover of the book...so touching and heartfelt!  A must read for any Mama.  Mel, aka Big Mama, is able to put into words all of the emotions we mothers experience.  As with her blog, you will double over with laughter and cry tears of joy.  Can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    This is a must read! What a great story for all moms to read.  I

    This is a must read! What a great story for all moms to read.  I have been a fan of her blog and was very excited for her upcoming book and she delivered.  I laughed and laughed and loved the lessons within the story.  So excited to read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    Sparkly Green Earrings is a great book on parenting! I loved th

    Sparkly Green Earrings is a great book on parenting!

    I loved this book and often found myself laughing at something that had happened in the author's
    parenting journey.  This book took an honest and hilarious look at the author's parenting journey of her 
    young daughter and life's many adventures that come with a small child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    A funny, laugh-out-loud book about trying to get pregnant, her p

    A funny, laugh-out-loud book about trying to get pregnant, her pregnancy & daughter's birth, being a work-outside mom & then a stay-at-home mom. Her comparisions are hilarious (staying at home morning vs. visiting doctor offices morning for example). It's a bit over the top so I will wait a bit to read her next book. Her faith in God, letting go of the idea of having control of her life, comes through clearly which was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Amazing gloriously genius!

    Truly loved every single page of this book! I did not want it to end! Melanie truly takes you on a journey throughout her life! You will fall in love with being a parent, a spouse and a lover of God :) soothes the heart and soul!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Sparkly Green Earrings is a tremendous book! The writing will ma

    Sparkly Green Earrings is a tremendous book! The writing will make you seriously laugh out loud, cry and then laugh again. Melanie Shankle has an incredible way of making the everyday life of a mom extraordinary. This is a book I’d buy for every mom-to-be, new mom, and experienced mom from this time forward. It’s a joyful journey into motherhood. There were many times I had to read entire chapters to my husband because he wanted to know what was making me laugh so hard! She always brings her analogies back to the heart of God and makes each story applicable to every women longing to live for Jesus. I absolutely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hmm¿this is a tricky one¿ On one hand I liked this book¿for the

    Hmm…this is a tricky one…

    On one hand I liked this book—for the sweet, tender moments, and the humor.

    On the other hand, I felt the author harbors resentment and disappointment. 

    I read to be uplifted and entertained, which this book did in places, but there were many instances where I felt the entertainment value was overshadowed by negativity and whining. Because of this, I didn’t finish the book. 

    I’ve heard great things about this author/blogger, but this particular read didn’t do much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Perfect read for newborn feeding times !

    I laughed and cried as i read this book in the middle of the night while feeding my daughter ! It was just what t i needed to read in those first few hard weeks and months of new motherhood , and i reccommended it to all my friends !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Read as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program and I l

    Read as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program and I loved it! A must read for all moms because it's relatable and a great laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3