BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sparks

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The terrific second Kalinczyk urban fantasy is a great saga

    In Detroit, city fire department arson investigator Anya Kalinczyk works more than just the blazes as she is also a Lantern. Her latter skill is to send spirits into nothingness. Used to 24/7 shifts, six months ago, with her salamander familiar Sparky having her back, she faced the vaunting challenge of Sirrush (see Embers) and has been slow to rebound mentally.

    Recently, Anya feels she is returning to her lifestyle pre Sirrush. However, her two skills merge when she is assigned an investigation into what has been purported to be spontaneous human combustion at the home of elderly wealthy Jasper Bernard who was caught in the inferno but left not an iota of a trace of his remains. Her inquiry leads to Hope Solomon who insists she grants miracles to her donors. While Sparky hatches the next generation, Anya senses something not quite right about her or her charity backers as if evil has taken hold feeding on the souls of the desperate.

    The terrific second Kalinczyk urban fantasy is a great saga that works mostly because of the portrait of Detroit as a city with many ruins, but trying to recreate a new image. The heroine is fabulous as she keeps her wits and sense of humor in the midst of infernos (some created by unnatural arsons) while battling psychopathic and avarice arsonists and supernatural malevolent essences; in this preying on impoverish forlorn seeking miracles.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Apprentace Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Moonstar

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Colten

    kills frank

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Dess

    She teleports in,"Let them go now before i kill you",she says griping a sythe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Sherlok to em

    I untie you and hug you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Emilee

    Let go of me frank i dont know you wht do u want

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Nursery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sparks invites us back into the world of Anya Kalinczyk. This ne

    Sparks invites us back into the world of Anya Kalinczyk. This new plot picks up shortly where Embers left off. Anya gets another arson case that just does not add up, especially when she does not find any human remains. After examining all the evidence she can only conclude spontaneous human combustion. She also finds a connection to Hope Solomon, a TV Evangelist. who she discovery’s is just plain evil. She is collecting spirits.Together with her ghost hunting team she starts looking for more clues to solve this mystery and bring Hope down.

    Laura Bickle astounds readers once again with her arson and crime scene knowledge. The descriptions envelope the reader and you can easily imagine yourself surrounded by the smoking remains of Jasper Bernard’s home. The supporting characters from the last book are still helping out Anya, along with a few new ones. This urban fantasy again show the dark and ugly underbelly of Detroit with Anya and her team fighting on the front lines. This is a fast paced, no nonsense story that throws you into the flames and keeps running!

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the Anya Kalinczyk series by Laura Bi

    This is the second book in the Anya Kalinczyk series by Laura Bickle. Sometimes the best thing about discovering an ongoing series is getting to read the books back to back.  I loved being able to go directly from Ember into Sparks.  This second book could probably be read as a stand alone, but why would you want to? 

    This story opens with Anya at a new arson case she has been asked to investigate.  At a first glance, it looks like Spontaneous Human Combustion. But no one wants that to be the official cause and Anya is ordered to find out what happened.  With the stink of magic and several rooms full of magic artifacts all around, Anya figures it has something to do with magic.  However, without knowing exactly what the items can do, they aren't much of a clue.

    When an apparent break in at the Detrioit Museum of Arts leads to the death of two guards, one suffocated from halon gas and the other from weird burns, Anya struggles to find out just what is happening. She knows the cases must be connected, but with Sparky laying eggs, her energy and attention is divided. 

    This was a wonderful follow up book.  In many ways it was better than the first.  We get a return of DAGR, plus some new characters.  Once again, Detriot plays the part of a secondary character and we are shown both the pride and problems of the city.  And Sparky was so adorable as a Daddy. The world building continued and though we got some answers, for me it just leads to more questions.  Which is what keeps you coming back for more.  Hopefully the Ms. Bickle has plans to release another book soon.  I can't wait to see what going to happen next for Anya.  This is another 4 star book on Goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Fantastic Follow Up In Anya Kalinczyk Series. I received a comp

    Fantastic Follow Up In Anya Kalinczyk Series.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book as a part of a book tour in exchange for a fair and honest review. I rated it 4.5 out of 5 stars.




    Sparks, the second book in the Anya Kalinczyk series, begins a short time after the end of the events in the previous book. Once again Ms. Bickle drew me into Anya's strange and unique world and I didn't want the story to end. Introducing some new characters, both human and paranormal, Ms. Bickle continued the world building which makes this series so unique.




    Trying to solve a series of strange fires, which have the appearance of spontaneous human combustion, which are spreading across town, Anya is still trying to balance her human and her secret paranormal job. When Anya identifies left over magic at the latest victims house, it turns out the man had a loose connection to Ciro, the head of the DAGR (Detroit Area Ghost Researchers). Uncomfortable with the way her investigation is leading, Anya also has to deal with Sparky's (her salamander familiar) changing behavior. She never planned on having to make a trip down the River Styx or on Sparky becoming a parent.




    As Anya begins to suspect a local con-woman turned television preacher of being involved in dark magic and causing all of the fires, she finds herself dealing with her attraction to a fellow ghost fighter and with Sparky's need to nest over his eggs. Spending money on baby supplies has just become another weird thing in Anya's life. When the fight becomes personal, her house is burned down in a dark magic attack, Anya finds herself rescuing Sparky and his newly hatched newts and having to temporarily move in with a friend who's a witch.




    Discovering she'll have to take the battle against the dark magic user to the astral plane and make a visit to Hell is dangerous but apparently Anya's only choice. I really liked how Ms. Bickle continued developing the paranormal world Anya has to deal with and began to address Anya's left over issues from her childhood. Adding a touch of romance also gave Anya a touch of humanity she needed very much. It made it even easier to relate to her since she's got so much bottled up. 




    Will Anya, Sparky and the newborn newts be strong enough to fight their new enemy? And just who is the Ferryman she has to pay to get to her destination?




    You'll have to read Sparks to find out. I really enjoyed it and I think you will to. My question for Ms. Bickle is if we'll get more adventures with Anya and Sparky - I'd really like to see more books set in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Scorching sequel to Embers - I hope there will be a third in the series!

    "...Sparks has every bit as much page-turning intrigue as its predecessor; it's gritty and gripping. There's still a romantic element between Anya and Brian, but things get a little complicated on that front (without being melodramatic or plot-dominating). And just as with the end of Embers, there is another sweet boss fight at the end of this one.

    If you're looking for something other than the usual vampire/werewolf fare in the genre, you need to check this out. Bickle has something special and original in Anya Kalinczyk."

    For full review, please visit me at Here Be Bookwyrms on Blogger:

    herebebookwyrms dot blogspot dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2