Customer Reviews for

Sparrow Road

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Sparrow Road

    I loved this book i am in sixth grade and think it would be good for grades 5th-11th this is a must read and would be great for a mother and daughter read toghter!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect summer read

    Twelve-year-old Raine is not happy. Her mother just took a summer job at an artist's sanctuary called Sparrow Road and she's forcing Raine to go with her. Raine would rather stay in Milwaukee with her Grandpa Mac, working in his store and eating all the candy she can get her hands on. It's always been that way, and she doesn't understand why it has to change now. To make matters worse, Sparrow Road has all sorts of rules, the worst being that you are not allowed to talk except for after dinner and on Sundays. As soon as Rainne arrives, she is devising an escape plan. Surely her mother won't make her stay here all summer. Maybe she can convince Grandpa Mac to come get her. As Rainne settles in at Sparrow Road, she gets to know some of the quirky artists and writers that reside there, and she begins tapping into some of her own unknown talents. She also learns that Sparrow Road used to be an orphanage and there are many secrets waiting to be discovered. As the days pass, and Rainne settles in with the artists, a number of things begin taking place that Rainne doesn't understand. Why does she get the feeling that her mother knows Viktor, the caretaker, better than she lets on? Why is Rainne not allowed to go into town with her mother when she runs errands? Why do the residents of Sparrow Road still talk about the orphans that used to live there as if they still exist? As the summer progresses, Rainne will uncover the answers to these questions, and some of them will change her life forever.

    I fell in love with this book from the very first page. The prose is fluid and very descriptive. Every scene is painted so vividly I felt as if I was there. The characters are all very well drawn and realistic and the story itself is filled with the right amount of humor, mischief, mystery and hope to keep the reader wanting more. The story is told from Rainne's point-of-view, but the rest of the characters are just as colorful and very important in moving the story forward. Though the novel is geared toward middle-grade readers, adults and young adults alike will find much to love in Ms. O'Connor's story of family, self-discovery and forgiveness. This is the perfect book to take to the beach, or to curl up with under a tree this summer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Sparrow road

    This book is a great intriging story that will take you through the life of one little girl?


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a charming relationship drama

    Without an explanation, her mom Molly takes Raine with her as they move for the summer from Milwaukee to an artist retreat Sparrow Road overlooking Lake Michigan. Raine is upset that they are leaving beloved family especially Grandpa Mac behind while unsure why her mom apparently quit her job to take a position as cook and housekeeper.

    She wonders about the relationship between her mother and the Sparrow Road caretaker Viktor, who greets her with strict RULES about no noise before 5:00 PM and leave the artists alone among others; and why her mother (and seemingly the other adults) never allows her to be alone. Diego the artist encourages her to write down her questions, which he says will help her figure out the answers. However, like all youngsters she begins to meet the other eccentric residents on Sparrow Road. Josie tells her about the orphanage that was once here. Other artists encourage her to open herself up to beauty, which she does somewhat, but still ponders about her mom and the "Iceberg" owner.

    This is a charming relationship drama as mother and daughter love each other, but are frustrated with one another as well. Upper elementary school children will relish walking Sparrow Road with Raine as their guide; as she has so many questions in which answers lead to more questions.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Enjoyable

    This book was an enjoyable quick read. Enjoyed it alot

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED this book!!!! It was a great story!! I just didn't like the ending though i wish Raine would have made the opposite decison, but i still loved this book and recommend it to everyone!!!!! : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Review

    This story was a feel good happy story. And you never want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Sparrow Road is awesome. There is a lot of mystery and a lot of

    Sparrow Road is awesome. There is a lot of mystery and a lot of questions. Why is Raine at Sparrow Road? Who is Victor and what type of relationship does he have with Raine’s mom? Why is everyone not allowed in the attic? And how can she have fun this summer when she has not TV and isn’t allowed to talk? This book has a little bit of everything. The reader follows Raine as she goes on one of the biggest journeys of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Awesome book

    It was a great book, even though its a little confusing. It made me smile, even through the sad parts. I totally recommend this book for every dreamer out there!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Great

    This is a great book love it !!!!!!!! :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    OMG

    This book is fuuny and crazy it mad me laugh a lot Aprilgrace has a weird family you need to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    This book just isnt for me.

    Its hard to belive that everyone fell in love with book when for me it was the kind of book that just wouldnt get better i keeped reading and reading but nothing happened that pulled me in. Im in 6th grade which seems to be the age alot of people reading this book are and me and my friend both said that this book just wasnt interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Great book for all ages

    Great book! I loved it! You should defanatly read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved this book. The best book in the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    AWSOME

    BEST BOOK MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Sparrow road

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    It was so good. I love how they keep you guessing all the way through. About a girl and her mother who move away from their grandfather. They move to an artists resort and the mother is the cook their. They learn how to love it their by having parties and going into town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE IT! MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Sparrow road

    This is very good book to read even though there are some sad parts and some hard times for Raine and her dad and mom but especially Raine and her dad since her mom never let Raine see her dad the only time she seen him and lived with his when she was a baby and she finally found him and now she knew why her mom didn't won't her to see her dad until now and until she was ready to see him again in her life !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2