Customer Reviews for

Spartan Gold (Fargo Adventure Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

THE BEGINNING OF A BEAUTIFUL COLLABORATION....

I have always been a fan of Clive Cussler and I became a fan of Grant Blackwood's after reading his first three novels. What a treat to find them together, weaving a cunning story with a complex puzzle.
The story swings you across the globe taking in some spectacular l...
I have always been a fan of Clive Cussler and I became a fan of Grant Blackwood's after reading his first three novels. What a treat to find them together, weaving a cunning story with a complex puzzle.
The story swings you across the globe taking in some spectacular less traveled sites and involving unique characters.
Sam and Remi Fargo grab you and carry you along in their daring quest for what they first believe is a Napoleonic treasure. It was fun, exciting and above all entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed the Fargo's and their exploits in this new series excellently fashioned in the grand storytelling tradition of action-adventure.
More, more of the same please.

posted by TheBookMaven on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed!

Having read many of Clive Cussler's novels, I was very disappointed in this one. It simply did not follow the style of Clive's other books like the Oregon Adventure or Dirk Pitt series. Within this story about the Fargo's latest adventure, too much time was spent on h...
Having read many of Clive Cussler's novels, I was very disappointed in this one. It simply did not follow the style of Clive's other books like the Oregon Adventure or Dirk Pitt series. Within this story about the Fargo's latest adventure, too much time was spent on historical facts or fiction. Did little to add to the story as a whole. The disposal of the Russian mafia competition was obviously delayed for the purpose of adding additional chapters. Sort of like a carrot on the stick approach. I almost put the book down after Chapter 3, but stayed with it simply out of curiosity. Sorry I did, after all that.

posted by bobsocean on September 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 301 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    THE BEGINNING OF A BEAUTIFUL COLLABORATION....

    I have always been a fan of Clive Cussler and I became a fan of Grant Blackwood's after reading his first three novels. What a treat to find them together, weaving a cunning story with a complex puzzle.
    The story swings you across the globe taking in some spectacular less traveled sites and involving unique characters.
    Sam and Remi Fargo grab you and carry you along in their daring quest for what they first believe is a Napoleonic treasure. It was fun, exciting and above all entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed the Fargo's and their exploits in this new series excellently fashioned in the grand storytelling tradition of action-adventure.
    More, more of the same please.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Disappointed!

    Having read many of Clive Cussler's novels, I was very disappointed in this one. It simply did not follow the style of Clive's other books like the Oregon Adventure or Dirk Pitt series. Within this story about the Fargo's latest adventure, too much time was spent on historical facts or fiction. Did little to add to the story as a whole. The disposal of the Russian mafia competition was obviously delayed for the purpose of adding additional chapters. Sort of like a carrot on the stick approach. I almost put the book down after Chapter 3, but stayed with it simply out of curiosity. Sorry I did, after all that.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    Not the usual Cussler

    Not the usual "page-turner" that I've enjoyed from Cussler. It wasn't bad but I found it a lot like "National Treasure" type of book. The characters are OK and the historical references are typical Cussler but I just couldn't really get into this one. If he continues the character line I will probably get the next one and make a decision after that. But it's not one that I can't wait to get my hands on. I prefer the Dirk Pitt, Oregon Files, or Kurt Austin lines. Those have always been good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Cussler always delivers

    Author always weaves fascinating history, good characters, and slightly over-the top adventure all into one story

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    A Realy Great Read

    Very exciting. Hard to put down. You can't beat Cussler's books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Read! I enjoyed Spartan Gold!

    Extremely entertaining adventure and its NEW from Clive Cussler :)
    Grant Blackwood did nicely too writing his part.
    Ancient history, and mysteries with a charming husband and wife team.
    Im looking for the second book in this series right now!
    Thank you Clive Cussler :)


    Dave

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    don't listen to the others

    a bit different then the other cussler books but a grest read. I could not put it down. Sometimes it is could to go down a new path

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    More Twists and Turns than a Rollercoaster!

    Open the book and travel the world! The best part of Cussler's writing is always the tie-in to history wrapped up in a darn good story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A Story that Falls Surprisingly Short of the Mark

    The plot and characters had, at one time, an excellent opportunity to develop into something incredibly interesting. It is unfortunate that the author fell far short of what could have been an excellent story.

    The many events that create the plot are predictable. Some of the characters are not fully developed and as a result, there are some disconnects in the storyline.

    The book is worth reading, but I would not interrupt anyting to make time to read it as I would in other Clive Cussler novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Typical Cussler thriller

    The subject matter is different than the NIMBA series which is a good idea. I feel that it is close to the perfict book for light reading. In my opion it is close to "The Chase" in style of moving in rapidly from place to place in the story line. I am looking forward to the next in this sreies in the Fargo books to see if Cussler and his co-author can continue with the repid style of plot movment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Spartan Gold

    Not one of his best works, but still very entertaining. As always, any Cussler book is a good read and an escape from everyday life. New characters still need development, but are still pretty authentic. Not one of his better story lines, but still gets you to not want to put it down. There are different twists in this than most other Cussler reads. Still a great value and good read!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Another Hit for Cussler

    Another outstanding book by Cussler. I've read every book he has written and this one is right there with all the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Solid Cussler book

    This is not one of Clive's best books, but it is pretty solid all around. Its got good characters and the treasure they are looking for is interesting. Great for a rainy day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Lt. COMMANDER KIRT

    LINE UP SOLDIERS!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Sara

    -,-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Heh

    "What happens if somebody joins and happens to not play halo? "

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    2birdz1stone

    I can help either of you two. Sorry if you guys dont like meh talking here. Just say so

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Sergeant Forge

    At ease. *Walks by and walks into the armory.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    The war torn

    "Not at all. Im just trying to speak with spade without getting killed."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Fast paced; never boring. Great read and sets the stage for more Fargo adventures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 301 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16