BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Speaker for the Dead (Ender Quintet #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 689 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(434)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended-a must read!

Posted 11/02/10: This book was written as the second book in a series but Orson Scott Card. Card tried to write it in a way that you could read it without any background knowledge. I have not read the first one yet and I would agree that you can read this book by itself...
Posted 11/02/10: This book was written as the second book in a series but Orson Scott Card. Card tried to write it in a way that you could read it without any background knowledge. I have not read the first one yet and I would agree that you can read this book by itself; however there were some points in the book where a little background knowledge would have been nice. Orson Scott Card is an excellent writer. I loved how the main character, Ender Wiggin, seemed to know everything about other peoples past without really knowing anything at all. The tone in this book was excellent. The main character is portrayed as a brilliant and understanding person. However, some of my favorite characters in the story were the piggies, an alien species discovered on a planet that was going to be settled for human use, who got their nickname piggies from their pig like faces. Card dives so deeply into the feeling and emotions of each and every character that it is very easy to relate to each one. Another thing I like about this book was how life like the struggle was shown between the humans and piggies to understand and learn from each other. I didn't like the point in the book where the piggies innocently and ignorantly murdered two of the humans studying them. It was frustrating reading that part because the actions of the piggies were not explained until a lot farther into the book. I often enjoy science fiction books that take place in the future. In this book Card writes about the future in a believable fashion. I think the overall lesson that can be learned from this book is lying and hiding the truth will just hurt a lot worse in the long run. This is shown though both the humans and the piggies. One of the main human characters hides the truth from her family and does everything in her power to keep it hidden. When Ender comes he dives deep into her past and finds out the truth, it is hurtful to everyone especially her and her family. It takes some time, but life moves on much easier after everyone knows the truth. I really liked how Ender used his high position as Speaker For The Dead and his ultra smart computer friend to get information and respect from un-willing people, and it is amazing what he does with the information. The ending of this book doesn't really seem like an ending. The book seems to end with one chapter left. The last chapter seems to be dedicated to the groundwork for the next book. It has a cliff hanger ending for this reason which I didn't really like. I like books to come to a clear conclusion at the end but where this book is not the last book in the series Card still has a chance to wrap things up and I look forward to the place where he does. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book.

posted by 5063579 on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A character shoehorned into the wrong book

When you read how Orson Scott Card came to write Speaker for the Dead, it's all but specifically stated that the entire book was conceived without the character of Ender existing within its text. It comes as no surprise that when he plucks his biggest character from hi...
When you read how Orson Scott Card came to write Speaker for the Dead, it's all but specifically stated that the entire book was conceived without the character of Ender existing within its text. It comes as no surprise that when he plucks his biggest character from his biggest hit and inserts him into a storyline thousands of years in the future, it's a slightly uncomfortable fit. At 3000 years old, Ender is all grow'd up and is now plodding forward in a new story that bears little connection to his previous existence in Enders Game. He now finds himself wrapped up in a bio-evolutionary mystery plot, with a rag tag bunch of natives and his trusty omnipotent sidekick cracking wise from the ether of the universe. Will Ender somehow unravel the mystery of the Piggies? Will Ender fall in love? Will Orson Scott Card introduce a predictable ticking time bomb and then leave a rack of open questions so that the next book is more of a "part 2" then a squeal? I'll save you the trouble, the answer is yes.

posted by Barnesie on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 690 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Even better than Enders Game

    Read the book which is better than the movie Enders Game. but also read this one. If you want to read it first that is okay. May make you want to read the other book it is that good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommended if you want to know what happened to Ender after the Bugger Wars.

    I enjoyed "Ender's Game". This was a darker, more difficult book to follow. It tired to take up where "Ender's Game" left off. But I just could not get my mind wrapped around the that this book took place 3000 years after the end of the Buggers war. The extremely disfunctional family was heart breaking at best and overwhelming sad. None of the action was there, as in the first book. I can omly hope that the third book in the series is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Great read, better than the first Ender book

    Humans and an alien species slowly learn to live together having solving each other's riddle. This is a strange book, more fantasy than Sci Fi, really, and it is not surprising that Card gave up on Sci Fi for a few years after that and instead dedicated himself to fantasy. I would not call Card's writing the most enchanting I have met so far in the English language, but his ideas and his taste for the most bizarre settings make this a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Amazing!!! Five stars!

    This is one of the most amazing books i've read in a long time. If you loved first book in the series,ender's game, as much as i did you are sure to love this one! This book and enders game entirely changed my point of view of sci-fi stories, as i used to hate them, and i cant wait to read the next book, The Xenocide. I would reccomend either of the first two books to anyone, and will gladly give my input on the next books when i have read them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    To Julie

    You should read it, but it does get little boring at times. A good read nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Brilliantly done

    This book confused some readers, but only those who are not accustomed to brilliance of writng as such Orson Scott Card has put forward. It may not have the appealing elements of zero gravity combat and a direct mission to be fulfilled; however it does begin to explore some philsophical issues of humanity. It exposes Ender as a human adult now, and how he chooses to live his life a Speaker for the dead. Ender changes everyone around him. The delicate, subtle relationships of Novinha and her family are key. Of course the piggies are he main focus of the book. If you are looking for wild adventures don't read this book and complain of its boring storyline and confusing events. Appreciate instead the way in which Card has truthfully portrayed humans and our morals.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Boring and confusing

    I read this book thinking it would have more space action and stuff like that. I was totally dissappointed. Enders game was great but the rest of the series is crap. If you want to read more of the enders game like stuff, read the enders shadow series

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Loved it! Definitely not light reading though. 

    Loved it! Definitely not light reading though. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Dont buy

    Not worth it (1 star b/c i had too)

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Speaker For the Dead

    I read Ender's Game a few months ago and I was absoulely and utterly in love with it. I read that Speaker for the Dead wasn't that great and I'd have to agree. I love Ender and if you haven't read Ender's Game you could probably understand the book. But, there were sooo many characters and just a very dull plot line that gets very complex sometimes. I will probably not read the next books in the Ender series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Its good but its not like enders games

    Its good but no as good as enders game

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great read!!

    This book is one of my favorites. Dont expect it to be like Enders Game though. It is more profound and spiritual rather than action based. It is very slow in the beginning but I promise you if you stick with it, it wraps together nicely at the end and could possibily change the way you perceive those around you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    This book sucks

    Way to many characters with silly names that sound the same.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great follow-up

    This is an amazing second installment. Card chooses to go in a completely new direction, but Ender, the other characters, and story still shine.

    Don't expect the same kind of book as the first, but just as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Should I read this?

    I have read enders game and enders shadow and they were both really good. Is this a good book? It sounds like part two to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Huh

    What is with the piggies? Not focusing enough ond Ender (Andrew)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    long book

    book is to long and boring

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2014

    amazing book.

    amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Confusing

    I am confused by this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    I did not like this one as much as Ender's Game. It started out

    I did not like this one as much as Ender's Game. It started out a little slow and I almost gave up on it half way through. I did finish it and it was alright. I probably will not read the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 690 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35