BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Speaking from among the Bones (Flavia de Luce Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    By far the best Flavia book yet. I could not put it down until

    By far the best Flavia book yet. I could not put it down until I read the entire book. I was not in shock at the end; I have been waiting for this. I can't stand the idea that I have to wait a year for the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    love the book Alan Bradely has found a way to mix Homes, Christy

    love the book Alan Bradely has found a way to mix Homes, Christy and even Nancy Drew into one mystery solving crime fighter. Love the whit and how he makes you think that you know how the crime is going to end. but then a sudden twist that you did not expect to happen. can not wait to read the others and so hope he keeps writting love his work.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    I truly love Alan Bradley and Flavia de Luce. Each book gets be

    I truly love Alan Bradley and Flavia de Luce. Each book gets better, and I feel as though I know Bishops Lacey intimately. Love the development of the characters, and some of the new characters introduced in this book. The ending is a true cliffhanger, but I will wait patiently for the next installment as don't want anything less than the perfection I have come to expect. I must admit, I would appreciate a Flavia in my neighborhood

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Delightful. Highly Recommended for All Ages!

    The entire Flavia series is delightful and is perfect for anyone who likes books that are charming, well-written, and wholesome. I have given many of these books as gifts and everyone who reads them becomes a fan of Flavia De Luce. The hardbacks are adorable decorative, and colorful, and make a charming addition to one's library.

    The only negative was B&N delivery which was not as promised, and the customer service which was less than helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    DELIGHTFUL!!!

    I am a great fan of Flavia. Delightful may sound strange for a murder mystery, but I use this as I would to describe a Miss Marple mystery!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Another fun read about the girl genius Flavia

    I am a Flavia admirer and this book was just as amusing and well written as the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    I began the book about two months after publication; I was keenl

    I began the book about two months after publication; I was keenly aware of its existence, but I was none too anxious to dive in.
    I mean, #5 in a series? It's like James Bond - "Shaken, not stirred" works only so many times. (About 20 times if you're a man.)
    My point is this: DO NOT HESITATE TO DROP EVERYTHING, AND READ THIS BOOK NOW.

    You're always in good hands with Allstate, and Alan Bradley. Excerpts:


    Antigone smiled upon me like a madonna who had just had a foot massage. 


    and


    Feely was gazing into her teacup, admiring her own reflection. She insisted on drinking it plain, "no cream, thank you," the better
    to see herself in the shimmering liquid surface. At the moment, she was blowing on it gently to see what she'd look like with wavy hair. 


    and of the "cooking" of the governess Mrs. Mullet:


    The very thought of this gray guck sticking to my ribs - or anything else - was enough to make my stomach go into hibernation.
    "Thank you, Mrs. M", I said groggily, adding a generous slosh of milk to the oatmeal. Perhaps I could sip away at the liquid
    and leave the quivering horror hidden beneath the surface like the Loch Ness Monster.


    With writing like this, a great plot and goose bump guaranteed climax are almost beside the point. Almost.
    I urge you not read any "spoilers" of this book. Heed the "spoiler alerts" and direct your eyes elsewhere.

    Buy it. Read it. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Flavia

    She is so awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Flavia rules!

    I've read the whole series and I absolutely adore Flavia , her family, and her community

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    These books are the best!  I want to go back to teaching and mak

    These books are the best!  I want to go back to teaching and make all these books part of our literature sessions and have read aloud with my students at the edge of their seats!   Flavia is such a brilliant character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    A cliff-hanger not to be missed

    Flavia is at her best in SPEAKING FROM THE BONES and the family's plight plays no small part. You will find yourself immersed in Flavia's latest adventure while worried about the DeLuces' future. Flavia is up to her second floor bedroom in bodies and suspects and uncovers something very revealing about herself in this story. Bradley has done it again -- Thank you Alan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Love flavia...can't wait for the tv show!

    Good as always...this girl is a pip!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Fun Mystery Series!

    I have read each of the Flavia DeLuce mysteries, and they are consistently good fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    "Childish," but always lots of fun.

    This is one of the better books of this series. It is a series that I have enjoyed unexpectedly. The protagonist is a child and the story can be enjoyed multigenerationally. The mysteries are cute and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    FUN READ

    Being new to the Flvia de Luce books starting with the last bok and this one I'm glad I found it. I look forward to reading another addition in the future.Flavia is a wonderful character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Maybe not a "5" but 4.7 for sure.

    I LOVE this series. Alan Bradley may you live forever and you too, Flavia de Luce. This 11 year old genius (chemist and super sleuth) is bold and unpredictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended - be sure to read all of the Flavia series!

    I have been fortunate to follow Flavia de Luce's adventures from the beginning - I was hooked by the ex-Girl Guide's narrative as she investigated a mysterious event at her ancestral home - and also by her love of science (especially poisons). Alan Bradley's book is the best of all worlds - a mystery, a "cozy," a family tale - all featuring a plucky young detective and the characters she encounters. His dialogue is spot-on - Flavia comes across as a "real" person, not an on-the-page over-developed 11 year old. And the situations she finds (or gets) herself into are part humorous, part horrible, part I-told-you-so.

    I hope that there is a 6th book in the series and that it is published very soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly recommended for mystery lovers who want a quick read.

    I have loved all the "Flavia de Luce" books. These are quirky mysteries because the heroine is an 11 year old chemist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    lives up to expectations!

    I have always loved Flavia's flair for adventure and her compassion for others. Also her clear view of others faults!
    Bradly comes thru again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Another great one from Bradley

    I love mystery novels, and the Alan Bradley series starring Flavia de Luce are delightful in their quirkiness and refreshing. Always a good murder plot, and fun interactions between Flavia and the adults and siblings that people her world. I await the next installation in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3