Customer Reviews for

Speaking of Now

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Absolutely fabulous album as most of them are. These guys never

    Absolutely fabulous album as most of them are. These guys never cease to amaze. One thing I would like though ... I can't find a translation of the lyrics to "Afternoon" and would really like to know what that song is about. If anyone has them please post them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That's what I'm tawkin' bout!

    I've been a Pat Metheny fan since I was ten, and he's still the man! NO ONE TOPS METHENY. NO ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pat and group come thorough again!

    With "Speaking of Now" Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, and Steve Rodby bring in Richard Bona, Antonio Sanchez, and Cuong Vu to flesh out the sound, and the results are nothing short of spectacular! Pat once again proves that you can be virtuosic and accessible musically without falling into the twin traps of "Wow, I can play faster than you! or bottom-of-the-barrel scraping pablum. All of the tracks here are standouts, but "As it Is", "Proof", "Another Life", and "You" deserve special mention, as the PMG are at the absolute top of their games, and incidentally, these fine performers really need to be seen live to truly appreciate their brilliant musicianship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is first album Pat Metheny which I heard....

    This is first album Pat Metheny which I've ever heard.... and I think that Pat is a great musician. He is wonderfull person.I was on his concert in Warsav, it was fantastic. I am searching his fans, because I have his unique CD to sell. This is CD from Poland. It was add to polish newspaper. I think that a lot of poeple which are abroad want to bue it. Greetings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Metheny does it again!

    Pat Metheny, with the help of his backing band (including 3 new menbers) scores another hit with Speaking of Now. I have followed Pat and Co. now for 20 years and keep waiting for him to have a dud record. I should know better...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome As Usual!!!

    Not since the group's Still Life Talking and Letter From Home have I heard such a masterpiece. Metheny seems to have new life breathed into his playing with the addition of Antonio Sanchez on drums. This album has the gentle melodies of earlier Metheny releases yet with the improvisational ferver of his trio efforts. Track 2 ''Proof'' has Metheny smoking out an awe inspiring solo with Trumpet master and new addition Cuong Vu adding a soulful interlude that is climaxed by Lyle Mays' burning solo. This is not your Dad's Pat Metheny Group. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New Great Energy

    The group has new found energy and talent. The 3 new additions are incredible musicians and add a new drive and chemistry to this already fine group. Sanchez is an incredible addition on drums. Just saw them on their tour in Detroit. Better in person. Hard to believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Getting better and better with age.After nearly 25yrs of writting and playing music,Pat Metheny & Lyle Mays continue to push the limits of what contemporary jazz is.These two are the Lennon&McCartney of jazz.For all you PMG fans you know what I mean and won't be disappointed.For all of you who aren't familar with this group,explore, and broaden your horizons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    These guys just cannot seem to find an end to their talent...Simply amazing

    Having a single opportunity to listen to this album has left me only wanting to own it on the 12th. For all those awaiting this release...Just you wait..it's almost here. It has all been worth every year since Imaginary Day. The sound that eminates with each track, and I'm sure on subsequent listening will increase with enjoyment has me saying to myself... ''I wish to do something in my life as fullfilling and fun as these jazzmen obviously have every day they get to play.'' Get ready for some fun listening to Speaking of Now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely kills!!

    No real surprise here, just another great Metheny album, with absolutely fantastic jazz improvising over beautiful melodies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1