Customer Reviews for

Special Circumstances (Mike Daley Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Captivating

    If you like suspense, action, and drama then Sheldon Seigel and his characters will keep you captivated. From begining to end, Mike Daley, Rosie and all the characters keep you in suspense. You simply can't put it down.The plot of the story the potrayal of the characters and the detail's of the area's of the city take you there and it's almost as if you were there with Mike Daley and Rosie on the streets looking for clues, finding answers and interviewing witnesses. Absolutely excellently written. Mr. Seigel has made himself when one of my absolute favorite writers of all times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    thrilled to the end

    excellent-excellent-excellent...Bravo for well written suspense. Siegel is a worthy rival for the best of the legal thriller writers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2001

    Page Turner Beyond Belief!!!!!

    This was truly one of the best books I've ever read and I am an avid reader, especially of legal thrillers! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good, fast-paced drama. You will NOT be disappointed, I promise!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Read til you drop!

    Far superior to most of the books available today. On par with Grisham's 'A Time to Kill.' Well developed plot and characters. Intelligent dialogue. One of the best books I've read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    A very good debut novel.

    I too was surprised that this was Siegel's first book. It was very tight and well written with a very good plot. The characters, for the most part, were believable and well developed. I enjoyed much of the courtroom dialogue. If you like Grisham, Turow, Lescroart, or Connelly, you might like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    Well Done Sheldon

    I really enjoyed this fast-paced book. I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed the characters great. Especially Mike and the hilarious and ironic conflict between his inner and outer monolouge. The end was great, shocking and captivating. I was shocked when I got to the end and realized it was his debut novel. You know its a good book when you read the About the Author section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    highly recommended

    Very engaging main character. Love the asides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    Great Series!

    I've read all 4 of Sheldon's Michael Daley & Rosie Fernandez books and just found out #5 has been published, which I will buy without delay. Very, very interesting author, well-written books, and likeable characters. Would very much recommend to anyone who likes "lawyer mysteries." First rate and top notch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Entertaining Debut for Siegel, but...

    This book was fun to read. As an attorney, I would have liked crisper dialogue with some stunning revelations in the direct and cross-examinations. At times I felt that the courtroom scenes plodded without drama or comic relief. As a novelist, I would have appreciated greater depth to the characters. Mr. Siegel tells us that Mike Daley is an ex-priest, but none of that part of his main protagonist's background seems to be explored or brought to bear in this story. Just seems like some missed opportunities to me. The 'Joel Friedman' character was the most substantially developed and elicited the most significant emotional responses from me as a reader. Overall, I enjoyed Mr. Siegel's obvious comfort with the written word. The book flows in a very casual manner and it is an easy read. The surprise ending was a nice touch and deftly managed. I will likely pick up Mr. Siegel's second book, INCRIMINATING EVIDENCE to follow his progress as a novelist. --- Robert John Estko, author of the suspense thriller, EVIL, BE GONE (available on BarnesandNoble.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    Read it in three nights! It was a great first novel. Compares to some of Grisham's good stuff. Very satisfying! Looking forward to his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    A PAGE TURNER

    This was a good first book for the author. Will look forward to the next one he is working on. A surprise ending. Keeps you guessing. This book should be out in the book stores where you can find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    Entertaining, Well Written, Didn't Want to Put it Down

    Special Circumstances is very well written and fast paced. I enjoyed the main characters (Mike and Joel) and I also loved the other supporting characters. The twists and surprises were done very well and were very believable. The mix of the main story in with some little side diversions is great. I didn't want to put the book down but I didn't want it to end either. It kept me surprised until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2000

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Towards the end of this book, Mike Daley says that the legal thriller 'has been done to death'. I agree, but Sheldon takes this genre to new heights. I've read a bunch of legal thrillers and this is by far the best of the bunch. His characters are smart and intriguing and the story is relentless. Once you start this book, you won't want to do anything else until you finish it. I can not wait for the next Mike Daley book and look forward to many more books by Sheldon Siegel. Great job on your first novel, Sheldon..... I think you found your calling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    EVEN BETTER THAN VINTAGE GRISHAM!!!

    WOW!!!! THIS IS AWESOME!!! What a refreshing, absorbing legal thriller this is.....it's so wonderful to read words that don't hissssss with condescension but rather show respect for the reader's intelligence!!! I loved the characters, the plot and, of course, the locale since I live just a few blocks away from mike daley in Larkspur...i just hope that this will be the start of a series featuring these same marvelous characters....! 'Special Circumstances' is destined for the nytimes bestseller list soon....it's already on our local one in the San Francisco Bay Area!!! I hope that a reallly big movie deal is on the way as well so Sheldon can stop writing on his laptop on the Larkspur ferry, quit his day job and write fulltime!!!! Kudos to his fantastic editor also......it's so wonderful to read a reallly fine book such as this without having to deal with grammatical errors or typos!! Thanx for a verrrrrry entertaining story and i sure didn't see that ending coming at all!!! I loved this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A graet debut-fascinating legal thriller

    The partners at San Francisco's prestigious Simpson and Gates law firm force Mike Daley into resigning. Mike failed to deliver enough business in his five years in the white-collar criminal division. At the same time that Mike is fired, another Simpson and Gates attorney Prentice 'Skipper' Gates III leaves to begin his political career as the district attorney. <P>While Mike quietly packs and Skipper celebrates, someone kills two other attorneys (partner Bob Holmes and associate Donna Williams) who failed to close a deal. The police accuse another person working the lost deal, Joel Friedman, of murder. Skipper petitions the court to invoke SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES as Friedman deserves nothing short of the death penalty for the cold-blooded killings. Joel hires Mike to represent him even as Skipper sees this case as the media ticket to his higher ambitions. <P>SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES is a special legal thriller that, if justice exists, will make debut author Sheldon Siegel a household name. The story line is well written as Mr. Siegel establishes the identities and personalities of his characters and their interrelationships early in the novel. The court room drama, which takes up much of the latter half of the book, is filled with detail that slows down the fast-paced plot yet adds judicial depth rarely seen in a tale. The lead protagonist is a wonderful character who hopefully will return to provide sub-genre fans with more courtroom excitement. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    A Winning Debut

    In Sheldon Shapiro's first novel, Special Circumstances, he deserves to be placed in the top-tier of legal thriller writers. Siegel has created well-developed characters -- particularly his protagonist, Mike Daley -- and the plot is fast-paced and bristles with energy. Siegel's ability to combine excitement, surprises, humor and suspense makes Special Circumstances a book that you won't want to put down. Without going into detail for fear of providing information which might weaken some of the story's suspense for you, the only thing that kept me from rating this book a '5' is that I felt slightly--and I emphasize 'slightly'-- disappointed in the ending. Nevertheless, Special Circumstances is a book I know you'll enjoy and will want to recommend to your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1