Customer Reviews for

Specials (Uglies Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 900 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(579)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Specials

I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough...
I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough humor to keep you interested. The 'Uglies' series is my favorite series, and this is my all time favorite book in the series.

Tally still doesn't believe it's true. But according to the doctors, Dr. Cable, and the Crims, Tally has become special. Not just special, a Cutter. The coolest clique around. She had an operation, to make her frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakeningly fast. A newly programmed robot, but a robot with a past. Looking at herself in the mirror, Tally doesn't recognize the person standing across from her. It wasn't about fitting in or her new appearance, it wasn't that her bones were light as bamboo and tough as diamonds, or even that the smokies were taking over the town. She was missing something. She was missing Zane.

Tally was in a new clique. Crims was way old news. Tally was now a cutter, cutting herself gave her an 'icy' feeling that kept her excited, happy, and entertained. The gashes and scars on her arms and hands only made her that much scarier. But Tally and her old friend Shay have gotten some bad news; news that could destroy the world completely. She has to fight for love, strength, and friendship. But with Zane in the hospital from brain damage, Tally trying to focus only becomes harder when all she can think about is Zane getting better. She begins to think herself out of 'special-mind'. She starts thinking as she did as an ugly. That just makes her life a whole lot more complicated.

There has not been a war in the world for at least 300 years. The pretty minds were supposed to keep people stupid so they would not take risks. But when a cure comes-a pretty cure--that makes the pretties think and the Uglies understand, not only your looks change during the operation, your mind changes. Tally then has to choose whether her special-ness makes the world a better place, or if everything she worked for has just been a huge mistake.

You must read this book, it's the best thing that happened to the 'Uglies' series. Reading this book is not only entertaining and exciting, it could actually happen. Showing how much everyone depends on technology and the adventures of a girl who just decided looks weren't everything, makes this book unforgettable. Reading this will give you a whole new look on the world, and it will become your favorite book in the first chapter.

posted by SheaFritz on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Why Did It Have To End This Way?

This book was a major disappointment to someone who, like me, loved Uglies and Pretties. As the final book in the trilogy I was expecting some glorious ending but instead I was left with a mundane closing to Tally's adventure from ugly to rebel special. The whole time I...
This book was a major disappointment to someone who, like me, loved Uglies and Pretties. As the final book in the trilogy I was expecting some glorious ending but instead I was left with a mundane closing to Tally's adventure from ugly to rebel special. The whole time I was reading Specials I felt like I was being set up for something that never came.

posted by fluffymarshmellow on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    dissappointment

    Read uglies in a day...pretties the next...enjoyed each of them for what they were...could not wait to get to the next book...but I was thoroughly disappointed when the book ended. Truly the worst ending to a series I have ever experienced. Not sure if i will ever read Extras.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    While good, it seemed like near the end was rushed, wrapping it

    While good, it seemed like near the end was rushed, wrapping it up too quickly. Anyway, a good finale. Even though there's another book which I might read. Good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    This is one sequel too many.

    I thouroughly enjoyed the first two books in this series. However, all three plot lines are fairly repetitive. I would recommend, after finding out the hard way, reading at least one other novel in between each one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    ?

    Should i get the book or not. Not sure about the sample and the series is getting a little vegue but thx Scot W.!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    The beginning was rough for me. It started out very fast paced.

    The beginning was rough for me. It started out very fast paced. Tally is now in a special group who themselves the Cutters. They are like one person in five bodies. Shay is the leader of this new group. Their main goal is to bust the new Smokies and stop the spreading of the nano pills. 




    The story Takes place a couple of months after book two. Tally has been in training to be a special. They are fast, intimidating, intelligent, and dangerous. I am not sure how I felt about this particular part of the story since I had grown to dislike Special Circumstances so much. I was hoping, like the other two books, she would overcome this roadblock. Tally’s character has always been a pleaser, and she is no different in this book.




    The struggle between the Specials and Smokies heat up in this book. The new Smokies are more prepared than they used to be. They have unknown allies lurking in the shadows. I liked this turn of events! I hate when people rush head first into things so it was good to see some improvements on their part. Their ally is a neighboring city by the name of Diego. The city is extremely tolerant and allows the Smokies to hide out there and to also bring runaways in. They allow their citizens to have any kind of surgery they wish. This was a little weird for me at first. The way Westerfeld described these people’s “surges” was just silly. The part that made me laugh was when I read that some of these folks went as far as to put snakes on their pinkies. WOW! I would have never thought to do something as outrageous as that. I was constantly eager to see what would happen next.




    The cities in this book are beginning to fall through. The cure is working better than ever and more and more pretties are regaining their ability to think for themselves. This was one part of the book I thought turned out well. I liked the fact that these mindless citizens were finally granted the opportunity to have a free will. I was not so certain that immediately curing them was the answer. They have been so controlled for so long I figured all hell would break loose. Yet, surprisingly they were all living a peaceful existence. 




    Although I was on a neutral level with Shay’s character in the past, I had come to fully dislike her in this book. She has become cruel, self centered, deceitful, and manipulative. The worst part is she seemed to enjoy it. Shay had become the villain in this book. Then out of no where, Shay saves the day. ( Yes, I understand mind control plays a huge part of her personality throughout the book, but I was just very thrown off by her anger). Shay never seems to find happiness in anything she does. She always has to find ways to make things good for herself. In this book, it involved cutting. I am glad that Westerfeld touches base on the fact that cutting is a fake pleasure that only makes you “icy” (happy) for a short while. I believe this is a message that a lot of teenagers could learn from.




    “pretty heads” would say, “totally bogus!” The fact that she thought they had to better themselves to be with her set my blood to boil. Let’s just say I did not get along with her personality in this book very well.




    I gave this book in the series three stars instead of five because I was slightly disappointed with the story line. I felt that it was at this stand still throughout half the book. It was more of the same things happening over and over. Yeah, the story in general is good, but I found myself expecting a little more. The only big changes that saved this book for me was at the end. ******SPOILER SKIP TO NEXT PARAGRAPH**** The war between the cities, Zane’s death, the despecialization surgeries, Dr. Cable cured, and Tally and David running off together to save the world! This is where all the interesting parts happened for me. This is what made me antsy to read the last book.




    The other reason I gave this a three star is because the romance in this book dwindled away. I wanted to see maybe a come back with David, or at least a spark with Zane. Instead, I got a self indulgent, superficial Tally who believes they need to become better for her to want to be with them. She seems to continually struggle with her self throughout the book. Tally hates the fact that she sees Zane as weak and 




    Overall, Westerfeld has shocked and pleased me so far. This is definitely a series I would recommend. Although this book was kind of slow, the story is still great. It was not until the end that I found myself unable to put this book down. I am eager to pick up with Extras where he left off. I cannot wait to find out what happens in the end of it all. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More like 3.5 stars. It was really good, not as good as the firs

    More like 3.5 stars. It was really good, not as good as the first 2. It lost some steam somewhere in the middle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good 3rd book in the series

    Quick easy read. This is a nice follow up to the previous books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    Better Than Pretties

    I really liked Uglies. I really couldn't stand Pretties. This book falls somewhere between the two. It was okay but there was often a lot of suspense built and then nothing happened. The book was mostly Tally's inner conflicts with occasional dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    liked it until the end. . .

    I enjoyed the book but a little disappointed with the ending. Overall, the series was fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Special Conclusion to an interesting series

    I enjoyed reading Specials because it expanded on the ideas started in Uglies, and Pretties. I enjoyed the surprising twist at the end, and the conclusion of the book was satisfying in that it tied up all loose ends and rounded out the story. The only thing I disliked was that I was beginning to get bored with the characters about halfway through the book. Their growth and development was fairly predictable but it did keep the story moving. The story is a continuation of Uglies and Pretties, but it is being "special" from Tally's point of view and it is not exactly what you might think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better of the three

    I preferred this book to the other three, maybe because I thought the series could have been done in one book instead of three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not very good but better then the first two

    not good but better then the first two
    this is a reveiw on the whole series:
    ok so this series wasn't "horrible" but i wouldn't necessarily call it "good" either. i love to read books- i mean LOVE to - and alot of the books that i read captivate me so much that i cant put the book down and i keep checking to see how many pages are left because im scared that it will end. the uglies trilogy never captivated me like that and when i checked to see how many pages were left, it was because i couldn't wait until it was over. i found my self reading just so that i could finish instead of reading for fun -- i kept hoping it would get better -- i kept hoping it would get better threw specials and it didn't so i have no desire to read extras. this book wasn't right for me so if i were you i wouldn't waste my time on this series. however, if you want to read something science-fictiony and futeristic then i recommend the host by stephenie meyer. if your into books where the main characters go on journeys away from home, then i recommend My fair godmother by jenette Rasilion and wing by e.d. baker and the s.a.s.s. series by various authors. however if you absolutely loved this book then a book that i found had similar writing style is magic or madness by justine larbalestier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Specials

    Specials was an interesting book. It was an intriguing twist on the future. I enjoyed the interesting charactors and the semi- believable plot. Also the setting of the story greatly improves and helps the plot to achieve a hold over your mind. In conclusion this book is a futuristic page turner that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Nothing 'Special'

    I have to say that I was some sort disappointed in the Specials. Being that I've read the complete Uglies Trilogy, I realize that it was nothing to get out of your seat and cheer for. In a way, each book in the Uglies Trilogy is the same. Tally is some sort of 'species' (depending on the title) and she thinks its great at first, but something happens, she ends up going some place... etc. It also angers me that Shay is always changing her 'species' and Tally somehow thinks that she should just tag along and become whatever her friend became. This may have been a theme in this book, but its not a very good one to base it off of. There were some intriguing parts, but 'some' is not enough. Overall, I'd have to say that I was disappointed, bored, angry, confused, and left 'hanging' (and not in a good way). The book had its moments here and there but I expected more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Specials

    I can't tell you how ecstatic i was when i picked up Specials on the shelf at Barnes and Noble. I was anticipating something great. I was actually really disapointed with the book in general. I would reccomend it to others who have read the others two books in the trilogy because it offers some closure but it still wasnt one of the best books. I didnt like the way a lot of the characters acted about stuff i.e. Shay. And i didn't like the whole idea of them being special it just complicated things more and i felt like the ending just didnt reallt cover all that it needed to. This was an okay book, but not great. Read it if you want to know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Predictable

    Specials was very disappointing to the book collector. The first two books written in the trilogy were written in paperback whereas, due to the astounding response to the book, specials was printed in hardcover. Pretties left the reader yearning for more as did Uglies, Specials however was not particularly interesting. Many parts possessed suspense but much of the book was very plain. It was a disappointing end to this entralling series but should definitely be read in order to conclude it. The idea that Tally becomes an ugly from a littlie and then from and ugly to a pretty and from a pretty to a special was too predictable and made the series seem stretched out. Possibly if there was not just one main character the story would be a bit more interesting. Although it took a lifetime to be released it was an overall good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5