Customer Reviews for

Specials (Uglies Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 900 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(579)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Specials

I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough...
I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough humor to keep you interested. The 'Uglies' series is my favorite series, and this is my all time favorite book in the series.

Tally still doesn't believe it's true. But according to the doctors, Dr. Cable, and the Crims, Tally has become special. Not just special, a Cutter. The coolest clique around. She had an operation, to make her frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakeningly fast. A newly programmed robot, but a robot with a past. Looking at herself in the mirror, Tally doesn't recognize the person standing across from her. It wasn't about fitting in or her new appearance, it wasn't that her bones were light as bamboo and tough as diamonds, or even that the smokies were taking over the town. She was missing something. She was missing Zane.

Tally was in a new clique. Crims was way old news. Tally was now a cutter, cutting herself gave her an 'icy' feeling that kept her excited, happy, and entertained. The gashes and scars on her arms and hands only made her that much scarier. But Tally and her old friend Shay have gotten some bad news; news that could destroy the world completely. She has to fight for love, strength, and friendship. But with Zane in the hospital from brain damage, Tally trying to focus only becomes harder when all she can think about is Zane getting better. She begins to think herself out of 'special-mind'. She starts thinking as she did as an ugly. That just makes her life a whole lot more complicated.

There has not been a war in the world for at least 300 years. The pretty minds were supposed to keep people stupid so they would not take risks. But when a cure comes-a pretty cure--that makes the pretties think and the Uglies understand, not only your looks change during the operation, your mind changes. Tally then has to choose whether her special-ness makes the world a better place, or if everything she worked for has just been a huge mistake.

You must read this book, it's the best thing that happened to the 'Uglies' series. Reading this book is not only entertaining and exciting, it could actually happen. Showing how much everyone depends on technology and the adventures of a girl who just decided looks weren't everything, makes this book unforgettable. Reading this will give you a whole new look on the world, and it will become your favorite book in the first chapter.

posted by SheaFritz on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Why Did It Have To End This Way?

This book was a major disappointment to someone who, like me, loved Uglies and Pretties. As the final book in the trilogy I was expecting some glorious ending but instead I was left with a mundane closing to Tally's adventure from ugly to rebel special. The whole time I...
This book was a major disappointment to someone who, like me, loved Uglies and Pretties. As the final book in the trilogy I was expecting some glorious ending but instead I was left with a mundane closing to Tally's adventure from ugly to rebel special. The whole time I was reading Specials I felt like I was being set up for something that never came.

posted by fluffymarshmellow on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Specials

    I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough humor to keep you interested. The 'Uglies' series is my favorite series, and this is my all time favorite book in the series.

    Tally still doesn't believe it's true. But according to the doctors, Dr. Cable, and the Crims, Tally has become special. Not just special, a Cutter. The coolest clique around. She had an operation, to make her frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakeningly fast. A newly programmed robot, but a robot with a past. Looking at herself in the mirror, Tally doesn't recognize the person standing across from her. It wasn't about fitting in or her new appearance, it wasn't that her bones were light as bamboo and tough as diamonds, or even that the smokies were taking over the town. She was missing something. She was missing Zane.

    Tally was in a new clique. Crims was way old news. Tally was now a cutter, cutting herself gave her an 'icy' feeling that kept her excited, happy, and entertained. The gashes and scars on her arms and hands only made her that much scarier. But Tally and her old friend Shay have gotten some bad news; news that could destroy the world completely. She has to fight for love, strength, and friendship. But with Zane in the hospital from brain damage, Tally trying to focus only becomes harder when all she can think about is Zane getting better. She begins to think herself out of 'special-mind'. She starts thinking as she did as an ugly. That just makes her life a whole lot more complicated.

    There has not been a war in the world for at least 300 years. The pretty minds were supposed to keep people stupid so they would not take risks. But when a cure comes-a pretty cure--that makes the pretties think and the Uglies understand, not only your looks change during the operation, your mind changes. Tally then has to choose whether her special-ness makes the world a better place, or if everything she worked for has just been a huge mistake.

    You must read this book, it's the best thing that happened to the 'Uglies' series. Reading this book is not only entertaining and exciting, it could actually happen. Showing how much everyone depends on technology and the adventures of a girl who just decided looks weren't everything, makes this book unforgettable. Reading this will give you a whole new look on the world, and it will become your favorite book in the first chapter.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    ?????????????

    The book was outstanding as was the rest. it was sort of a copy of the last few books but it was still great. the plot, the characters,everything in this story drew me in. it is extraordinary as were the others.i would recommend this book to anyone. The only thing i hated was the suprise with Zane which wont say just in case someone is reading this and has not read he book. I was so upset. I thought they must have been joking. I think i was gonna cry because i was so into the story when it happened. Zane was my favorite character and i am sad that they did that to him. I bet you can guess what it is. are you not outraged? Other then that disappointment the rest was amazing and i had it done before the day ended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Best of the series

    i loved this book the most. i loved tough tally. not that she hadnt always been tough. it kind of bothered me how she thought kind of different,but that changed. good good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Specials

    Tally really changes straight from the beginning and throughout the book. Not just her completely new, dazzling and powerful looks, but also her personality, and her thinking. The change was so sudden it almost seemed that Tally was a whole new different person, maybe with a Dr. Cable brain in her. She seemed kind of unnatural, although it somewhat was. Specials had a great storyline and great characters. Although some parts of it was kind of slow, the action and suspense in other parts made it worth it. Events in this book were so sudden at times, like at the very end or when she arrives at Diego and she returning to Special Circumstances. Altogether this book was nicely put together and I really enjoyed reading it. The ending was more satisfying than the first two books, Uglies and Pretties, but i just wish Extras was more about Tally also.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    A little bit less interesting, but still really good.

    This book in the series I felt a bit less interesting like mockingjay to hunger games or allegiant to divergent. It just didn't hit me as much. Nutother than thati loved to see her change to fight her mind back as a special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Great 3rd Book

    With a series or trilogy, it is not uncommon for the storyline to deteriorate as the books progress, but Specials is an amazing addition to the Uglies series, exploring more human inclinations and drives. It syncs well with its two predecessors, while still offering its own unique contribution to Westerfeld's Distopia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I read the first 2 books and liked them well enough.  Specials,

    I read the first 2 books and liked them well enough.  Specials, however, was a disappointment.  Seriously, its so much of the same story as Pretties.  Tally gets sent back to the evil people that run the city and she is given lesions in her brain that make her conform.  Except this time the story involves superhuman strengths that are unbelievable.  In Pretties, I could get "plastic surgery" to make people more of the society's version of beautiful, but in Specials they are covered in "flash tattoos" and have all their bones replaced to be ceramic?  Don't forget to mention razor sharp teeth and fingernails.  Just not believable.  I finished it so I could see if there was a love story (since I am a sap) but even that left me disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Hate it yet love it

    I love this series so much but at first i was really mad at what happened in betwwen this book and the last one but i kept reading and it was AMAZING though when zane died i started yelling at my nook lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Third book

    At first i didn't know if i would like the series but as i keep reading i keep wanting more all the action is not at once but in waves and it reallyworks for this series. Looking for more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    It's a good read

    I read this book a couple years ago and reread it recently and i like it a lot i enjoy Scott's books any book of his is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    In a futuristic world built on the ruins of our own where extreme cosmetic surgery makes everyone beautiful, some people stand out for other reasons.

    Tally Youngblood has always been special. She uncovered, betrayed, and ultimately aligned herself with a resistance group known as The Smoke while she was an Ugly. Her Pretty clique, The Crims, changed life in New Pretty Town forever and sparked the beginnings of revolution.

    But Tally doesn't care about any of that anymore. Because she's a Special, part of the elite group of enforcers known as Special Circumstances. Enhanced to be a deadly predator, Tally doesn't want to hurt you. But she will if she has to in Specials (2006) by Scott Westerfeld.

    Tally didn't plan on becoming Special, let alone joining Special Circumstances after being exploited by the group for so long (two whole books!). But when her best friend, Shay, and the Cutters become Specials, Tally once again finds herself at the mercy of other people's plans.

    When one of Tally and Shay's botched schemes leads to the first all out war since ancient times, Tally and the Cutters will have to race against the clock to prevent the inevitable. As Tally struggles to save her world from the ravages of war, will she be able to save herself?

    I really love all of Scott Westerfeld's books. Because he's awesome. That said, the Uglies trilogy (not including its companion book Extras) lost momentum for me as the series progressed with this one being the slowest, and in a lot of ways the most disappointing, of the three.

    On her blog Westerfeld's wife and fellow YA author Justine Larbalestier recently mentioned reviews suggesting that Specials starts off slow despite its being filled with insane action sequences which she thinks is a silly thing to suggest. Which is true. Specials is jam packed with new technology, epic battles, and action-packed chases. Unfortunately that doesn't leave a lot of room for character development or "real" (by which I mean not involving a chase or battle) plot development.

    While the conclusion of Specials shakes Tally's world to its very core, the plot is strikingly (and annoyingly) similar to the premise of Pretties once you change some of the slang and substitute settings. In summary, I was excited to see how the trilogy ended, of course, but without the first two books Specials is nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Pretties

    One word: amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Anonymous

    Fun to read and very exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Liked It

    Fast read, sad there is only one more book. I hope it ties everything up and doesn't leave me wanting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    Really good

    The book was amazing! It's really hard to put down. I read it in 2 days. I really hate what they did to Zane. It made me cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Loved this

    A great way to tie it all together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Oooooh!

    This series is the best. Normally I dont like books that take place in the future but this changed my perspective. The way the government controlls these people surprises me and makes me wonder if our socity will ever come to this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    This Was a Great "Ending" to the "Trilogy"

    Specials by Scott Westerfeld was a great book, continuing the story of how Tally was turned into a Special and is trying to live her new life as a Cutter, and trying to live without Zane. When she finds out that Zane is getting the cure from New Smokies, she finds him, and they all escape, aafter the biggest trick that anyone has ever pulled in New Pretty Town. The make their way to a newtown called Diego, where hijinx insue. This book has drama, heartbreak, action, humor, and every emotion that gets people ryled up. This has an ending that no one would have ever guessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Ending for The Series!

    "Specials"...special as the word sounds, it is actually a term used to acknowledge a unique kind of people who are created to aid the Special Circumstances in keeping the pretties stupid, and the uglies out of trouble.

    Tally Youngblood is now a Cutter (a special type of Special), and her brain has been altered to capture the slightest imperfection in others. Being a cutter, Tally enjoys the privileges of changing her appearance as she like. However, she is now very sensitive towards the frailties of human nature and cringes at the very sight of Zane's trembling hands. At last, she decides to listen to Shay's order to carry out a seemingly impossible mission and secretly help Zane to become a Special. The one thing that she doesn't know is that the consequences of her reckless actions will endanger otherrs... and maybe lead to their doom.

    This book makes a good ending to the Uglies trilogy. It is not a really happy ending, but I enjoyed it fairly well. Even though Tally is now a Special, she still has to go through the many events that are similar to real-life happenings, such as love, life and death of someone close as she chooses the path that leads her to her future. You will discover that peace is one thing which is hard to obtain and hard to maintain. It can only be reached if two opposing forces are willing to make a pact and tolerate one another. In Specials, humanity is brought to a new level with the help of Tally and her friends, and is given a fresh start.

    The author delivers a few messages regarding human nature and teenage issues via this book. First of all, there is this "humanity is a cancer" thing. In the book, humans destroyed their own kind because of their selfishness and greed about three centuries ago. This is to enlighten readers about the problems in nature that have arisen nowadays. Secondly, there is this pretty-ugly contrast which reveals the fact that the current society has a tendency to judge people by their appearance over their hearts, admiring the ones who seem pretty and gorgeous and loathing the idea of ugliness. I was horrified when I read the part where Tally and her fellow Cutters practice self-mutilation by cutting their arms with a knife to achieve an "icy" feeling. This is one of the teenage issues in our society. Some teenagers will intentionally injure their body without suicidal intent. Basically, this is caused by mental illness, psychological factors or the effects of drugs. I believe Scott includes these issues so that we can have a better view of some of the atrocious things that some people actually do.

    In a nutshell, I'm satisfied with Specials, and I will recommend it to fans of Uglies and Pretties. Even though I have heard some negative comments about Specials, I still enjoyed it nonetheless because the middle part to the ending was really good and fast-paced, despite the flaws that are found at the beginning at the novel. Specials managed to reach my expectations, and I hope to read more books by Scott Westerfeld in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best in the Series

    I think that this was the best in the series. I almost didn't read it, I was too dissapointed in the second book. Tally is a lot more likeable in this book, can't say the same about "Pretties". It had a lot of action and not as much time spent on angst. Tally is much more sure of herself and the story moves along quickly. I would have given this 5 stars except for the very last page. It was so stupid that I about threw the book across the room, (of course since I read it on my nook, that would have been very bad) I felt like the last page completely contradicted the whole series. It did not fit the characters, nothing in the book led up to what the last page said. If the author had wanted the characters to act and feel that way, then they should have built the characters up for that. (I'm an English Major, so things like that bother me more than it might others)

    Overall, it's an exciting read. Definitely worth your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10