Customer Reviews for

Specials (Uglies Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 903 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(580)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Specials

I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough...
I can honestly say, this is Scott Westerfeld's finest. It was published by Simon & Schuster publishing division, and made the New York Times best seller list. You could say it was one of his best books yet. Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough humor to keep you interested. The 'Uglies' series is my favorite series, and this is my all time favorite book in the series.

Tally still doesn't believe it's true. But according to the doctors, Dr. Cable, and the Crims, Tally has become special. Not just special, a Cutter. The coolest clique around. She had an operation, to make her frighteningly beautiful, dangerously strong, and breathtakeningly fast. A newly programmed robot, but a robot with a past. Looking at herself in the mirror, Tally doesn't recognize the person standing across from her. It wasn't about fitting in or her new appearance, it wasn't that her bones were light as bamboo and tough as diamonds, or even that the smokies were taking over the town. She was missing something. She was missing Zane.

Tally was in a new clique. Crims was way old news. Tally was now a cutter, cutting herself gave her an 'icy' feeling that kept her excited, happy, and entertained. The gashes and scars on her arms and hands only made her that much scarier. But Tally and her old friend Shay have gotten some bad news; news that could destroy the world completely. She has to fight for love, strength, and friendship. But with Zane in the hospital from brain damage, Tally trying to focus only becomes harder when all she can think about is Zane getting better. She begins to think herself out of 'special-mind'. She starts thinking as she did as an ugly. That just makes her life a whole lot more complicated.

There has not been a war in the world for at least 300 years. The pretty minds were supposed to keep people stupid so they would not take risks. But when a cure comes-a pretty cure--that makes the pretties think and the Uglies understand, not only your looks change during the operation, your mind changes. Tally then has to choose whether her special-ness makes the world a better place, or if everything she worked for has just been a huge mistake.

You must read this book, it's the best thing that happened to the 'Uglies' series. Reading this book is not only entertaining and exciting, it could actually happen. Showing how much everyone depends on technology and the adventures of a girl who just decided looks weren't everything, makes this book unforgettable. Reading this will give you a whole new look on the world, and it will become your favorite book in the first chapter.

posted by SheaFritz on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Why Did It Have To End This Way?

This book was a major disappointment to someone who, like me, loved Uglies and Pretties. As the final book in the trilogy I was expecting some glorious ending but instead I was left with a mundane closing to Tally's adventure from ugly to rebel special. The whole time I...
This book was a major disappointment to someone who, like me, loved Uglies and Pretties. As the final book in the trilogy I was expecting some glorious ending but instead I was left with a mundane closing to Tally's adventure from ugly to rebel special. The whole time I was reading Specials I felt like I was being set up for something that never came.

posted by fluffymarshmellow on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing but sad book

    This book, best out of the tree in my opinion, is one of the best books I have ever read before. It is thrilling and emotional and excellent and very hard to put down. In some parts it gets very frustrating and very sad, but the book is still amazing nonetheless. Everyone must read this book, and the whole series, of course!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book. IT was amazing. Probally my favorite. I started this tril. w/ Pretties then Uglies. I then read this book. It was AMAZING! I liked Extras too but this one is by far my favorite. You need to read it b/c it is good and has a little bit of everything.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Westerfeld keeps it up..

    I read books pretty fast, I'll admit. But 'The Uglies' series was so amazing, I think I read about 60 mph FASTER (if that's even possible..) This book, though, was probably my favourite/least favourite. In the Uglies && The Pretties, Tally was so self-concious, weak, fragile, etc. But with every book, you could see her grow stronger and more aware. In 'Specials,' Tally spices up her relationships, finds herself, and goes through a lot of pain (which explains why its my least favourite. I can only cry so much, you know.) But this book was absolutely amazing and it a must-read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    my favroite book ever

    I am in love with this book it's very intersing The plot us amazing i couldnt put this book down this is my all time fav book ever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    read it, Read It, READ IT!!!

    I luv this book soooo much!! It is the best book I've ever read!!! It is action-packed and adventure filled!!! Everyone should read it!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    A fantastic book!!!!!!

    This book has to the best book in the series! It is awesome! Uglies was great. Pretties was greater. But Specials is the greatest!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good

    Okay, Specials. Where do I begin? Of course, Westerfeld did it again. This book is amazing, yet it had me tearing out my hair and throwing the book across the room at parts. I love the world and characters Westerfeld created, yet I grew frustrated at times. Overall, this was one heck of a series. It is truely amazing how an author can take one character (Tally) and make her change personlities. Amazing. 5 stars. A must read series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Worn Pages and Dusty Shelves

    Specials is by far the best in the series. I can't wrap my brain around how awesome it is...and that's saying a lot. Tally gets another operation that she doesn't want and ends up a special Special. Dr. Cables group of specials, that is. Along with Shay, Fausto, and other Crims (all of which are now specials and are now called Cutters) they're out hunting Smokies, trying to stop the spread of the cure. At least, that's how it is up until their plan goes awry. This time, Tally really confused me. She has so much going on, so many things conflicting, it was hard to decide if I liked the new Tally or hated her. She didn't have Zane to keep her grounded. She had only the Cutters to rely on. Even though she's a special, deep down, she's always Tally and I couldn't help but like her. Zane, my cool cat, isn't a special. I don't want to say too much, but he still has cognitive problems thanks to taking the wrong cure pill in Pretties. Zane doesn't have much face time in Specials and neither does David for that matter. That's truly the only problem I have with the Uglies series. Her love interests don't have enough time in all the books. I like David, I like Zane. Tally likes David, Tally likes Zane and vice versa. Do you see the problem? Tally has been cut up, manipulated, and she still can't get a decent kiss in with a love interest. Now that, my friends, is just criminal. Once again Tally is tromping through the the wilderness and saving people and trying to 'rewire' herself. The girl can't catch a break no matter what she does. Tally's adventure this time is actually my favourite out of all three books. She has so much to get over and I feel so terribly sorry for her because of it. All throughout the book you can see the change that being a special has done to her as she's trying to cure Zane, find the New Smoke, it's all just breathtaking (and heartbreaking) at what she has to do. There's a lot of stuff blowing up, people jumping off of buildings, causing trouble, and basically just trying to save the world from being brainless Pretties. You definitely won't be disappointed in Specials.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Best book Ive ever read

    Most amazing story line ever! It really pulls you in and you never want to stop reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    ???

    Shiuld i get the book? I read the first and second ones but i dont know if i should get this one or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Hey

    I love this book it really never gets boring but i just want to know who is the person on the cover i am guessing Zane but im not sure

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Many of the most helpful reviews are a little of base I believe.

    Many of the most helpful reviews are a little of base I believe. It might be because they are older, but this book series is not a trilogy so the disappointment in the ending shouldn't be taken as seriously when considering there is another entire book. I felt like this book was paced wonderfully and was just as great as the first and second books. This entire series is one of my favorites in a while because if I want to I can read an entire book in one day because they are that encapsulating, but if I NEED to go to sleep I don't feel restless all night wishing I didn't have to put it down. It is by far the saddest of the books, but I feel like it was honest to who the characters are and where they are going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    It was the awsomeist

    Coooooooooool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Very good book

    This book makes you think compared to a lot of other books. Definitely a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Awesome

    I have been reading this seires for a while now and out of all the books I read this seires is the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Map

    Result 1 rules
    Rule 1 there is no rules

    Result 2 bios
    Result 3 camp
    Result 4-9 cabins
    Result 10 lake
    Result 11 forest
    Result 12 training ground

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Very good

    Great third book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    ?

    AMAZING stacy icy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    It is SO awesome

    i love this book oh ps tally isnt just a special shes a cutter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    It good book

    :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29