BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Spectacle of Corruption (Benjamin Weaver Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Excellent Read

    I won't give the general synopsis; that is covered quite sufficiently already. Will just say that Liss writes a wonderful story; characterization, plot, layers of intrigue and personalities are enough to make the reader engrossed. With Liss's writing, you're always struggling with that need to know the resolution of the problems but a strong desire for the story to go on forever. Just what you hope to find in a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Liss Keeps Getting Better

    This is now the third of Liss' historical fiction novels that I've read and I've enjoyed each one of them. Enough plot and suspense to keep you turning the pages while offering an insight into life in 18th century London (17th century Amsterday in one of the books). Liss has one modern novel I've yet to read but that's easily remedied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Landscape in shades of gray

    As slimy as today's politics may be, our political candidates are cub scouts compared to those of early Georgian England. The spectacle of corruption referred to by the title encompasses the unabashed vote-buying and physical intimidation at the polls that surrounded the parliamentary election of 1722 in London. These stranger-than-fiction historical scenes provide the best moments in an otherwise rather conventional effort by an author who is capable of better. Jewish thief-taker Benjamin Winter has been framed, convicted and sent to Newgate for a murder he did not commit. Someone is out to get him for reasons unknown -- is it the Whigs? the Tories? shadowy Jacobite agents? While Benjamin tries to exonerate himself, the saving grace that keeps it all from becoming tedious is that there are flawed and complex suspects wherever we look -- there are no completely untainted good guys here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    A Wonderful Sequel

    I first read The Conspiracy of Paper and enjoyed it so much that I immediately read A Spectacle of Corruption. I hope that we hear more about Benjamin Weaver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Solid sequel to Conspiracy....

    This was a solid sequel but at times Liss throws too much into the book about Tories, Whigs, and The Pretender. I realize the plot is set to the political season in early 18th century England, but I can see how it can get away from some people at times. It was nice to hear the return of Elias and Meriam, Wild and Mendes. Overall still a great book, but not as good as A CONSPIRACY OF PAPER, which was one of the better books I have read. Look forward to another Ben Weaver adventure in mid 2006.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    Benjamin Weaver Returns

    There's an old saying that goes,'No good deed goes unpunished.' It's 1722 and Benjamin Weaver finds himself on trial for a murder he didn't commit.This just after deciding to help a local minister in finding the source of threatening letters.As the trial progresses,Weaver finds the deck stacked against him or is it?Shortly after his guilty verdict is announced(death by hanging at Tyburn)as he is being led away a beautiful,mysterious woman slips him a pick and file.In a prison escape worthy of Jack Shepard,Weaver sets forward to clear his name and find the source of the letters.What is the connection?Who would want good guy Weaver dead?Aiding Weaver in his search is the lothario,Elias Gordon and Jonathon Wild's top man Abraham Mendes(an 18th century Hawk; think Spenser)Also in the mix is a raucous nationwide election which is every bit as dirty as our upcoming presidential election promises to be.Mr.Liss captures the sights and smells of a London centuries gone by quite graphically.A brilliant addition to the Weaver series.One can only hope that he returns soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2