BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Spectacular Now

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE READ AND REMEMBER THIS MY OPINION

So far from what I have read in the comments most people have said that the ending is bad and has no answers, but isn't that the point of the book. There are no real answers in life, but to live in the now. If you spend to much time thinking about the future you won't s...
So far from what I have read in the comments most people have said that the ending is bad and has no answers, but isn't that the point of the book. There are no real answers in life, but to live in the now. If you spend to much time thinking about the future you won't see the real beauty in living.

IF YOU HAVE READ THROUGH ALL OF THIS CONGRATS AND REMEMBER THESE ARE MY OPINIONS SO IT IS NOT REQUIRED YOU TAKE THIS TO HEART AND START JUDGING THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ THIS.

posted by 6718889 on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Melissa

At the beginning of this book I was hopeful for Sutter, and he is a very likeable character but as the book continues I realized that the way he describes and sees certain situations isn't always the truth and the way he solves his problems is in a way that benefits onl...
At the beginning of this book I was hopeful for Sutter, and he is a very likeable character but as the book continues I realized that the way he describes and sees certain situations isn't always the truth and the way he solves his problems is in a way that benefits only him. Until the very last page of the book I was hoping he would change and start doing and seeing what's right but I finished the book feeling completely unsatisfied. The book ended with the main character just as he was in the beginning and it just felt like a waste of time.

posted by lovebooksMC on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    PLEASE READ AND REMEMBER THIS MY OPINION

    So far from what I have read in the comments most people have said that the ending is bad and has no answers, but isn't that the point of the book. There are no real answers in life, but to live in the now. If you spend to much time thinking about the future you won't see the real beauty in living.

    IF YOU HAVE READ THROUGH ALL OF THIS CONGRATS AND REMEMBER THESE ARE MY OPINIONS SO IT IS NOT REQUIRED YOU TAKE THIS TO HEART AND START JUDGING THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ THIS.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    amazing.

    I loved this book. I mean im only fourteen...considering. Regardless, the book just completely entertained me, it was too funny. I think Sutter is my new favourite character, and Ive decided I will too, embrace the weird. Worth your money!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Melissa

    At the beginning of this book I was hopeful for Sutter, and he is a very likeable character but as the book continues I realized that the way he describes and sees certain situations isn't always the truth and the way he solves his problems is in a way that benefits only him. Until the very last page of the book I was hoping he would change and start doing and seeing what's right but I finished the book feeling completely unsatisfied. The book ended with the main character just as he was in the beginning and it just felt like a waste of time.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Hmm.. spoiler alert ahead

    I watched the trailer before reading this book and was really pumped. Apparently the movie will be very different from the book.. i feel like the character was a fun guy, yeah, but it all got a bit annoying after a while. The ending mad me want to scream at the author. But i read this book in one sitting, so i guess that shows it was still pretty addicting and a good read nevertheless.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Very Realistic

    Honestly, this book was amazing! Sure the ending wasn't great but it was realistic! You don't need sutter or anyone to have character developement because in real life, sometimes people don't change! This book was real and truly amazing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    This book is just like Sutter. It only cares about now. It doesn

    This book is just like Sutter. It only cares about now. It doesn't think about solutions, resolutions, or even conclusions. Just the now. It is not spectacular, it ends up passed out in the bathroom with puke on it's face.

    I don't say this often or even lightly, the movie looks better than the book ~ The fabulous MS X

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I was all hyped up to read this book after seeing the trailer fo

    I was all hyped up to read this book after seeing the trailer for the movie, but I have to say that I am sadly disappointed. There was little to no character development and really no plot. I couldn't put this book down and finished it in one day but I think that was mainly because I was waiting for something to actually happen.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    The Spectacular Now Fan

    I would have to agree with all of the people below about the ending but i just have a few things to add. When i finished reading this book i was insanely upset with the ending. But when i got past that and looked at the book as a whole i realized that sutter although sadly probably won't change did do something good. If sutter wasn't around then Aimee wouldn't have ever gpne to college and started her life. So sutter might be a bit hated but atleast he effected aomwone's life for the better in the long run. If you goten thus far onto reading this then congrates because most people wouldn't read this long review. This all an opinion and you don't have to agree. I just tjpught i would put it out there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    The story was ok. There were parts where I was anxious to see wh

    The story was ok. There were parts where I was anxious to see what happened but that was only in the last 5 chapters. The ending was poor. I still dont understand it mostly. Not worth my time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Who can not like it?

    I love it so much i accualy like the main cherector unlike some people. I like the plot as well. It is realistic and well writen. I recomend it. I also saw the trailer for the movie and really want to see it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Unsettlingly Realistic

    Very real, raw. Ending was one to think about but sadly very realistic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Loved it!

    It only took me around two days to read it! I really liked it. Cant wait to see the movie

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    I was dissapointed in how the main character developed. Nothing

    I was dissapointed in how the main character developed. Nothing was resolved and the story just went on and on without any answers. Terrible ending!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Not the best

    The book did nothing for me. It was doing good but the ending left me wondering what happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Suuuuch a great booook!

    It's very different from your normal young adult books
    , but trust me it is very worth the buy and very worth the time reading:):):)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Must read!

    AMAZING BOOK! Could not put it down. Definitely wouldve wished the ending wouldve ended differently but overall the story of two opposites falling in love really makes this book a must read. Highly recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    A Masterpiece.....

    A unique high school story. It tugged all the emotions, I laughed, I cried, & got frustrated with the characters. Overall, it was amazing. Super excited to see the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Embrace the wierd!

    Why not? This is one of my favorite books. At times, it can get a little............uh, sexual, but nonetheless, it's a great book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    awe inspired

    amazing edition of a true novel

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Watch it

    I just watched the ending and oh my holy cheese! I completly broke down. What happens after that. It is so beautiful.... u have no idea unless u've seen it. People who have, am i right or am i right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4