Customer Reviews for

The Spectacular Now

Average Rating 3.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

PLEASE READ AND REMEMBER THIS MY OPINION

So far from what I have read in the comments most people have said that the ending is bad and has no answers, but isn't that the point of the book. There are no real answers in life, but to live in the now. If you spend to much time thinking about the future you won't s...
So far from what I have read in the comments most people have said that the ending is bad and has no answers, but isn't that the point of the book. There are no real answers in life, but to live in the now. If you spend to much time thinking about the future you won't see the real beauty in living.

IF YOU HAVE READ THROUGH ALL OF THIS CONGRATS AND REMEMBER THESE ARE MY OPINIONS SO IT IS NOT REQUIRED YOU TAKE THIS TO HEART AND START JUDGING THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ THIS.

posted by 6718889 on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Melissa

At the beginning of this book I was hopeful for Sutter, and he is a very likeable character but as the book continues I realized that the way he describes and sees certain situations isn't always the truth and the way he solves his problems is in a way that benefits onl...
At the beginning of this book I was hopeful for Sutter, and he is a very likeable character but as the book continues I realized that the way he describes and sees certain situations isn't always the truth and the way he solves his problems is in a way that benefits only him. Until the very last page of the book I was hoping he would change and start doing and seeing what's right but I finished the book feeling completely unsatisfied. The book ended with the main character just as he was in the beginning and it just felt like a waste of time.

posted by lovebooksMC on March 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    This book is just like Sutter. It only cares about now. It doesn

    This book is just like Sutter. It only cares about now. It doesn't think about solutions, resolutions, or even conclusions. Just the now. It is not spectacular, it ends up passed out in the bathroom with puke on it's face.

    I don't say this often or even lightly, the movie looks better than the book ~ The fabulous MS X

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I was all hyped up to read this book after seeing the trailer fo

    I was all hyped up to read this book after seeing the trailer for the movie, but I have to say that I am sadly disappointed. There was little to no character development and really no plot. I couldn't put this book down and finished it in one day but I think that was mainly because I was waiting for something to actually happen.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Personally, I did not enjoy this book as much as I was hoping I

    Personally, I did not enjoy this book as much as I was hoping I would. I saw the trailer for the movie and was immediately drawn to the plot. At first, I liked Sutter. He had problems, but I felt like there was hope for him by the end of novel. I read it all in one setting, though only because I kept hoping for something 'spectacular' to happen. But it never did. Sutter ended the book as selfish and drunk as he was in the beginning. Overall, the book felt static. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I was pretty disappointed in this book. I had read reviews that

    I was pretty disappointed in this book. I had read reviews that said how amazing it was, and saw the trailer for the movie, so I decided to read it. I'm one of those people who will only watch a movie based on a book if I've read the book first. Sutter has no character development, there's no plot or story arc, he learns nothing, and if anything, is a less like-able character at the end of the book than he is in the beginning. It's a waste of time and money to read this book. You're almost left scratching your head at the end of the book thinking, "Really? That's it?" I hate to say this because I mostly dislike when books are turned into movies, but I am pretty sure the movie will be much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    "Goodbye, I say, goodbye, as I disappear little by litt

    "Goodbye, I say, goodbye, as I disappear little by little into the middle of my own spectacular now."

    Sutter Keeley is great in his own mind. Larger than life, always the life of the party. Sutter is, surely, as irresistible as he is wise.

    The reality, unsurprisingly, is a little different. What Sutter defines as a life as "god's own drunk" is a boilerplate drinking problem. The rest of Sutter's charms are debatable at best and vary wildly depending on if you're asking one of his beautifully amicable ex-girlfriends, his family who is legitimately worried, or his friends.

    Sutter is content to live the moment, whether it involves trying to win back his gorgeous, fat ex-girlfriend Cassidy or befriending the mousy, painfully nerdy Aimee, or getting a drink. The problem with living in the moment is that eventually everyone else starts to pass you by in The Spectacular Now (2008) by Tim Tharp.

    Your reaction to this book is going to depend a lot on how you feel about Sutter. Tharp provides another fine addition to the already well-populated world of lovable alcoholics in fiction. The problem--not just here but in general--is that this general affability belies the fact that alcoholics are train wrecks and only very rarely lovable.

    There are no consequences for Sutter in his own mind or in real life. Drunk driving never leads to an arrest or even a ticket. Drinking only impairs his judgement so far as it needs to go for the plot. While no story needs to have a message or a moral, it felt strangely one-sided to read this story and watch Sutter skate through life on his charms, his flask, and very little else.

    Following the story thread with Aimee and Sutter, it's possible to argue that Sutter is a Manic Pixie Dream Boy meant to flit through life, fall in love and leave his love interest the better for their acquaintance. Except Sutter is a really terrible MPDB and profoundly bad at making anyone's life better.

    The other reading, the one I favor, is that Sutter is a sociopath. Everything in the narrative is sinister. Sutter is sinister. Ideas and themes are touched upon but never fleshed out enough to really matter or leave an impact. Sutter's unreliable narration raises more questions than the story ultimately answers.

    While Tharp's writing is excellent and completely on-point The Spectacular Now is lacking in character development and, on a smaller level, heart. With a narrative that reads more as a mid-life crisis than teenage unrest, this book is interesting but ultimately frustrating.

    Possible Pairings: Someday This Pain Will Be Useful To You by Peter Cameron, I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga, Slumming by Kristen D. Randle, The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider, Wild Awake by Hillary T. Smith, Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    It's something

    Well, I honestly think Stutter ruined aimme. Turned her into "God's own drunk". I thought at the end of the book, maybe Stutter would realize he was making mistakes with is life. No. He goes to a bar with grown ups letting him illeagaly drink and party. The end of the book has NO awnsers. Does aimme turn out okay? Does cassiday turn out okay? Not worth $8.00 and I don't reccomend reading it if you are under 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Eh. I found this book to be just okay. I thought some miraculou

    Eh.

    I found this book to be just okay. I thought some miraculous transformation would happen for either Sutter or Aimee, but nope, just 300 pages 
    stupid high school debauchery. I really wish it would have ended different. All in all, I'm glad I got it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I enjoyed this book for the most part....and then it ended and t

    I enjoyed this book for the most part....and then it ended and there was no resolution. It was a huge disappointment. I was so hoping for a good read, but this was a letdown.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Whiny and redundant

    Like most other reviewers, I saw the trailer and decided to read the book. Sorely disappointed. Sutter is frustrating and flat, though I think he was supposed to seem philosophical and mature. The plot lacks direction and I think I would have gone crazy if I read the words "whisky and 7 up" one more time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1