Customer Reviews for

The Spectrum: A Scientifically Proven Program to Feel Better, Live Longer, Lose Weight, and Gain Health

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend

The book is well researched and contains useful information. However, with the Nook book, the charts are too small to be read. Definitely purchase a print copy of this book.

posted by 6216130 on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I only recommend if you know what type you are

Took too long to get to the point. I had to read and read and then figure what "type" I am and then found there were really no solutions to fit me and didn't ever decide what type I was.
I've always like Dr. Ornish, but was disappointed this time. Old themes and not ah...
Took too long to get to the point. I had to read and read and then figure what "type" I am and then found there were really no solutions to fit me and didn't ever decide what type I was.
I've always like Dr. Ornish, but was disappointed this time. Old themes and not aha moments.

posted by missionlady on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    The book is well researched and contains useful information. However, with the Nook book, the charts are too small to be read. Definitely purchase a print copy of this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spectrum treats our lives with versatility and options

    What a wonderful book! Though I'm not all the way through it (I skipped around a bit) I've found that this book, and Dr Ornish's thinking is logical and healthful and helpful. The premise of the Spectrum, that there is a range of healthful things we could be doing in our lives, is fast becoming a guide for me. My spouse read this first and he's already following the principles, and has lost a pant size or two in a month. I'm just starting to progress in my eating spectrum, but have learned that I feel better already. hooray!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Read it and then do it!

    The book is well written and the Nook is a great way to read it. The information is well researched and the authors lifestyle.

    Thank you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful Book!

    What an encouraging book for those who need hope when faced with health issues that are in part due to poor choices or uninformed choices in their past. It's inspiring, informative and puts you in charge of regaining the health and vitality you once enjoyed (not preachy). This book is so much more than a 'diet book' as it goes through the entire 'spectrum' of what we need to live a joyful, vibrant life and has the scientific research/evidence to back it up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book

    Very good book to change your attitude, I have the book and the CD's, the CD is very good and the guided meditation is excellent. I have read Dr. Ornish's books for years, always they inspire me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Another great Ornish book

    Once again, Dr. Ornish has written an outstanding book that will help us live longer while living better. His books are written for the layperson, so this one is easy to read and filled with useful tips.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    I only recommend if you know what type you are

    Took too long to get to the point. I had to read and read and then figure what "type" I am and then found there were really no solutions to fit me and didn't ever decide what type I was.
    I've always like Dr. Ornish, but was disappointed this time. Old themes and not aha moments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Spectrum by Dean Ornish

    This book is full of good information which, I believe, would benefit all of us. It includes ideas for healthier eating AND some great recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for Heart and Stress

    Purchased the book as a gift for a friend with heart disease. She enjoyed it very much. A radical approach to heart disease, life changing to accomplish. The DVD with the book is awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Really the Spectrum not only gives you a new path to health and well-being, it may also help reverse the worldwide epidemics of diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity, elevated cholesterol levels, and other chronic conditions. But readers must also learn more about coffee and health as the book has little informations about the most popular beverage in the world nowadays...coffee!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Lorna

    Disappears into the forest

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3