Customer Reviews for

Speechless

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hey, "Too much cussing"--guess what?

I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks,...
I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks, "Too much cussing"!
Oh yeah, there's absolutely nothing wrong with being gay. That was actually an important message in the book! So, "Too much cussing", I suggest you become more accepting of real life and the people who live in it.
(And yeah, this is getting ridiculously long, but I have to say this; it's a high school book. Of course there's cussing and sexual themes. Have you even BEEN to high school?)
If you read all this, thanks! This book totally rules, and so does the author!

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Too much cussing

The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending ...
The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending your money on. DO NOT BUY!!!!! It involves drinking, gay scenes and so much more that it makes u feel guilty for even reading the first chapter. :(

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Hey, "Too much cussing"--guess what?

    I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks, "Too much cussing"!
    Oh yeah, there's absolutely nothing wrong with being gay. That was actually an important message in the book! So, "Too much cussing", I suggest you become more accepting of real life and the people who live in it.
    (And yeah, this is getting ridiculously long, but I have to say this; it's a high school book. Of course there's cussing and sexual themes. Have you even BEEN to high school?)
    If you read all this, thanks! This book totally rules, and so does the author!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Too much cussing

    The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending your money on. DO NOT BUY!!!!! It involves drinking, gay scenes and so much more that it makes u feel guilty for even reading the first chapter. :(

    8 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Speechless

    I was speechless when i read this. Very good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    There were grammatical errors in the book. I'm not sure if it wa

    There were grammatical errors in the book. I'm not sure if it was purposeful, or if nobody caught it before the final cut. Anyways, I couldn't bring myself to keep reading the book, I gave up reading it not even half way through. It dragged on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Back in the old days, when I was a teenager, bullying was a rar


    Back in the old days, when I was a teenager, bullying was a rare thing in the public schools I attended. That’s not to say cruelty to others didn’t exist but it took a much quieter form, that of dismissal. There were three distinct social groups. The top rung was the popular kids, the “pretty ones”, the jocks and their friends, and they simply ignored the existence of everyone beneath them. The lowest group was a collection of hoods (black leather, no weapons, maybe a little marijuana), nerds (although I don’t think that specific term existed then), economically deprived, shop classers, those bound for blue-collar jobs after graduation. Everybody else fell into the middle stratum, generally those who were college-bound and sociable, on an economic level with the top group but not accepted into the inner circles. Essentially, all three groups cohabited nicely during classes but not in the halls or outside the school grounds. Even with such distinct lines drawn, though, the three groups didn’t actively try to make life miserable for each other. We managed to get along because people “knew their places”.

    Today’s world is much different for teens and middle-graders and bullying is visible and frequently vicious, whether it’s physical, verbal or emotional. Physical appearance is a common cause and I can’t help thinking that our love affair with TV, movies and celebrities has fed that particular worm. Sexual orientation is another major platform and I believe that has become more of a bullying issue as society has changed and LGBT kids are less likely to hide than they used to be. If there were LGBT kids in my schools, I never knew it, and I had known many of my fellow students since first grade. That lack of knowledge is not a good thing, just different from today’s atmosphere.

    Author Hannah Harrington has taken an all-too-common problem and expanded it. In Speechless, the victim is not just the gay teen who is exposed and subsequently attacked, it’s also the girl from the highest echelons who not only outed Noah but then turned in the jocks who beat him to the police. Her betrayal of her circle is what they find unforgiveable, not the hate crime itself. Chelsea starts out as a shallow girl whose interests lie in shopping, gossip, partying, and being BFF to the top girl in school but, for some reason, a spark of real decency exists in her. Her vow of silence is at first rather quixotic, an escape from reality, but could it become the means of her salvation?

    Chelsea is a complex character, much like a teen in real life, and it’s a pleasure to follow her search for redemption, her journey to maturity. Along the way, the reader meets some people it would be a delight to know and they’re well-rounded with problems of their own while being very appealing individuals, Asha and Sam in particular. Even some of the bullies have the occasional mitigating aspect which surely is the case outside the realm of novels. Ms. Harrington presents a storyline and all its side issues that grips the reader from the very beginning and her characters bring it to life. I wish that any teen in a position of power over others would read Speechless and perhaps gain a little insight into how that power can be misused.

    One last note—kudos to the publisher for such a great cover. Think about it. Speechlessness can lead to invisibility, can’t it?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Love it everyone should read it

    This book is my type it's mystery,thriller combined with a danger and hint of romance haven't read it yet but i must buy no exceptions

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    I read this book in two days. Amazing! I loved the concept and t

    I read this book in two days. Amazing! I loved the concept and the story line in this book. I  highly recommend it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     think I'll start this review saying that Speechless left me spe

     think I'll start this review saying that Speechless left me speechless. I'm pretty sure I just lost half my friends by that horrible pun, but it's true. It's brilliant, and I'm sure it'll be a favorite of many people, but after reading The Sea of Tranquility, this pales in comparison.




    Everyone knows a person like Chelsea. She's that person that, no matter what, cannot keep a secret. Usually, she's best friends with one of the most popular people, possibly for that reason.




    One night, at a party, she sees two guys getting together, and comes downstairs and tells everyone. One of them gets beat up so severely that he goes into a coma. When Chelsea finds out about this, she tells her parents, and that's the last thing she says for a while. After this, she becomes a pariah, and everyone stays away from her.




    In the beginning, Chelsea isn't likeable. In fact, I hated her with a passion. But then, she went through a magical thing called character development. Hear that, other YA books? Character development. Where a character actually changes into a better person.




    Even though I didn't like Chelsea at first, she was still relatable, and she stayed relatable throughout the book.




    Though Speechless is very easy to read, it deals with very dark issues, and it deals with them well.




    I recommend this for people who want something that deals with LGBT acceptance in a light-hearted way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Speechless

    I always judge a book by its cover. This one intriged me. But i havent read it yet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I. Adored. This. Book.  There were actually quite a few revi

    I. Adored. This. Book. 




    There were actually quite a few reviews of this book that mentioned how they liked Saving June, Harrington's debut, a lot more then Speechless. I'm really happy that I read Speechless first because maybe I wouldn't have liked it as much as I did. Also, this means I have Saving June to look forward to reading!




    While this may sound like an insult to some people, I think of it as a compliment: Speechless made me feel like I was watching a really good Lifetime movie. Almost like a moderately different but still similar version of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. And while there are similarities, the differences are large enough so I don't feel like I'm reading the same book.




    Two of the main characters, Sam and Asha, are some of the most lovable characters I've had the pleasure to meet. What I loved the most about Chelsea and Sam's relationship, is that it took time. Yeah, they connected and there might have been some instant chemistry, but it took time for the both of them to realize that. It was real and believable. Asha (Chelsea's new BFF,) is the sweetest girl ever. I hope I get to meet someone like her someday, because she's absolutely perfect. 




    Let's talk about the cover. I know there's a few different covers for Speechless, but I prefer the blank white one. It's definitely risky, because it's so blank. A lot of people (including myself) choose books by their cover. That's exactly what attracted me to this book though! The cover made me curious enough to figure out why it's so plain. I like how it fits the novel so well and I hope other readers can agree with that! 




    I've had a craving for contemp novels lately, and Speechless definitely helped while making me want more. Overall, I'm really pleased that I read this book and I would recommend it to anyone in the mood for a great contemp and fans of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When you read this book, be prepared to have it rattle your emot

    When you read this book, be prepared to have it rattle your emotions. Written so explicitly well, this story will steal your heart.

    Obviously it is the plot that totally rocks! What happens when something you said takes an unexpected turn? It causes anger and almost death. WOW! Let me tell you that this girl took a lot. I mean A LOT! Some of the things that are done to her, said to her...it got me so angry! I just couldn't understand these people ignorance. But then again, that's what happens in high school. People are small minded and do not understand the impact that those things can have.

    There wasn't so much of a love interest but there are some amazing friendships that are established. I really enjoyed watching some friends come along to give her chance and know her. Even though they heard rumors, I loved that they didn't care what others thought. They were selfish in any of their actions despite what Chelsea.

    I think the greatest lesson in this book is to SPEAK UP! Despite what your beliefs are, of who you are, nobody deserves to be bullied. PERIOD.

    Speechless is an amazingly raw book. Fresh and unique, Speechless depicts the acts of human idiocy. The horror of single secret let out into a world of bullies make me shutter. If you truly want to dive into a world of selfish people, read Speechless. It will change your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Chelsea reminds me of Sam from Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall in

    Chelsea reminds me of Sam from Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall in that both are characters that are hard to like at first. While she has somewhat of a sense of right and wrong, she's also pretty clueless about the implications of her actions. All she wants is a little fun. But then her idea of fun sets in motion events that send a boy to the hospital, and she takes a vow of silence, believing that no good can come out of her words. Her story that follows is one of self-discovery, love, and forgiveness.




    Though Chelsea can be pretty insensitive, she's well-meaning at heart and a likable character. As much as she cares about some shallow things, she's willing to make sacrifices to do what her heart tells her is the right thing to do, and she proves capable of learning from her mistakes. That isn't to say that she has strong conviction. The whole reason that she takes the vow of silence is because she doesn't trust herself to say the right things. This made her all the more endearing and realistic. As much as I love a strong, independent female character, I also love the ones that need encouragement and support to move forward.




    The side characters were equally quirky and endearing. I love the cast the work at the diner. They're a bunch of fun characters that I would love to be friends with. They're down to earth and not afraid to call people out on their b***s***. (Yeah, there's some language flying around here, but not THAT much.) I don't want to start naming all the individual characters because that would be another review on its own; just know they're awesome, and I wish they had more screen time. If I have (and am) to give a special callout to someone though, it has to be Sam. I love me a dorky, imperfectly cute boy, and the scenes between him and Chelsea are so, so cute and giggle worthy. They had me smiling, in my happy place. They are beautiful and precious.




    I especially love how, while the book tackles some deep issues, it does so with fun and humor. It fits in with Chelsea's personality and make the book a quick, easy read. I also love how Chelsea is close with her parents. While she does sneak around a little, her parents are a constant presence, and it is obvious that her family is close-knit despite the problems they encounter. The only complaint I really have about the story is that the narration jumps around a little and doesn't really explain how some things come to be or does so later in the story, such as Sam deciding to befriend Chelsea. Something or someone would be mentioned here, and then it will pop up again later. Plot threads and characters weren't developed all that much, though not to the point that it's unbearable.




    Overall, Speechless is another powerful contemporary story from Hannah Harrington. While there are some problems with the writing, the message comes across, and I very much enjoyed the light style of writing. This is certainly a book that I will be recommending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Whats her secret?

    Whats the thing she said that ruined everything?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chelsea Knot has gone too far. She was known to be a gossiper a

    Chelsea Knot has gone too far. She was known to be a gossiper and prattler. Until one day when her thoughtless behaviour nearly gets someone killed and she decides to take a vow of silence to find back to her old self again.
    SPEECHLESS is a story showing that recklessness and thoughtlessness of social groups of teenagers can affect and even ruin the life of other teens. One day you are trying to make a good impression on your so-called friends and the next you see that the things you thought to be important suddently feel like trivial nonense.
    Chelsea's vow of silence is unexpected and radical. Others might think her decision ridiculous and unnecessary, what's done is done. But Chelsea doesn't recognize herself anymore. The vow of silence is the best decision she's ever made. Being silent is so very hard for a communicative person like Chelsea. She is a character with a high growth-potential. It's her choice to change her life, to be more responsive for people's feelings and to make sure to treat them with the respect and kindess they deserve. Her story is very reflective about her past social life and the mistakes she's made and she's more than willing to learn from past mistakes. So she very much deserves a chance at new love, too. With a new boy she meets, Noah. Noah and her love story is more slow and thought-through than Chelsea's previous actions. Chelsea is careful and considerate now. Before she can give him her heart, she wants to be absolutely sure she's a girl worth being loved and who can give as much honesty and love in return without hurting anyone in the process.


    5/5 ***** SPEECHLESS – An efficacious and incorruptible story about a telling vow of silence with social and personal relevance.

    Chelsea Knot is probably one YA character with the smallest share of words, but one with the greatest inner developments. Hannah Harrington's writing was as flawless as in her debut novel SAVING JUNE. Her stories are relevant for teens, encouraging them to show incentive to change and think about their own ways of treating other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Beautifully written

    I bought this book out if boredom. I thought t would just be something to read on the plane. But after I finished reading this, i fund myself really reflecting on various characters and how they changed as the story moved on. I felt ike I was there, watching, as Chelsea stood her ground and refused to give in to Kristen. I was moved when Asha reached out to pull her out of the hell she was in. I cheered Sam on as he stood up for Chelsea, I plotted with her and Andy. I bought this book over two years ago and I still read it, especially when I need a boost of inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Truly beautiful... there's nothing more to say.

    Truly beautiful... there's nothing more to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    surprisingly wonderful, i bought this book out of boredom and i

    surprisingly wonderful, i bought this book out of boredom and i wasn't expecting much, but i ended up really liking it. the characters were thought out and the concept was really original. it gave me a lot to think about and i will definitely be reading more of the author's work. i would recommend to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Speechless

    Well judging by the title rthis book is honestly speechless it is written amazingly and gives great life lessons! But i do have to say this is for mature readers probably around ages 12-14ish that are mature and can handle language and mature situations. Aside from the maturity level i was just stunned by this book i loved it and it even taught me a fee lessons!! It is a magnificent boo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Speechless

    Found this book, hidden back in a bookshelf in Barnes and Noble. The cover really drew me in. Thanks to this book, I do not gossip anymore and I stopped bullying people. This book has helped me change. Might I add, that Chelsea Knot is very similar to me. I love this book. It is also full of amazing quotes.
    "Hate is…it's too easy, Love. Love takes courage."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Speechless

    I loved this book beecause it told areally good message and that is what i look for in books so i LOVED it!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3