Customer Reviews for

Speechless

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hey, "Too much cussing"--guess what?

I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks,...
I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks, "Too much cussing"!
Oh yeah, there's absolutely nothing wrong with being gay. That was actually an important message in the book! So, "Too much cussing", I suggest you become more accepting of real life and the people who live in it.
(And yeah, this is getting ridiculously long, but I have to say this; it's a high school book. Of course there's cussing and sexual themes. Have you even BEEN to high school?)
If you read all this, thanks! This book totally rules, and so does the author!

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Too much cussing

The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending ...
The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending your money on. DO NOT BUY!!!!! It involves drinking, gay scenes and so much more that it makes u feel guilty for even reading the first chapter. :(

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     think I'll start this review saying that Speechless left me spe

     think I'll start this review saying that Speechless left me speechless. I'm pretty sure I just lost half my friends by that horrible pun, but it's true. It's brilliant, and I'm sure it'll be a favorite of many people, but after reading The Sea of Tranquility, this pales in comparison.




    Everyone knows a person like Chelsea. She's that person that, no matter what, cannot keep a secret. Usually, she's best friends with one of the most popular people, possibly for that reason.




    One night, at a party, she sees two guys getting together, and comes downstairs and tells everyone. One of them gets beat up so severely that he goes into a coma. When Chelsea finds out about this, she tells her parents, and that's the last thing she says for a while. After this, she becomes a pariah, and everyone stays away from her.




    In the beginning, Chelsea isn't likeable. In fact, I hated her with a passion. But then, she went through a magical thing called character development. Hear that, other YA books? Character development. Where a character actually changes into a better person.




    Even though I didn't like Chelsea at first, she was still relatable, and she stayed relatable throughout the book.




    Though Speechless is very easy to read, it deals with very dark issues, and it deals with them well.




    I recommend this for people who want something that deals with LGBT acceptance in a light-hearted way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When you read this book, be prepared to have it rattle your emot

    When you read this book, be prepared to have it rattle your emotions. Written so explicitly well, this story will steal your heart.

    Obviously it is the plot that totally rocks! What happens when something you said takes an unexpected turn? It causes anger and almost death. WOW! Let me tell you that this girl took a lot. I mean A LOT! Some of the things that are done to her, said to her...it got me so angry! I just couldn't understand these people ignorance. But then again, that's what happens in high school. People are small minded and do not understand the impact that those things can have.

    There wasn't so much of a love interest but there are some amazing friendships that are established. I really enjoyed watching some friends come along to give her chance and know her. Even though they heard rumors, I loved that they didn't care what others thought. They were selfish in any of their actions despite what Chelsea.

    I think the greatest lesson in this book is to SPEAK UP! Despite what your beliefs are, of who you are, nobody deserves to be bullied. PERIOD.

    Speechless is an amazingly raw book. Fresh and unique, Speechless depicts the acts of human idiocy. The horror of single secret let out into a world of bullies make me shutter. If you truly want to dive into a world of selfish people, read Speechless. It will change your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. Chelsea made a huge mistake by immediately out

    I love this book. Chelsea made a huge mistake by immediately outing Noah Beckett at a party- which lead to him being severely beaten up by star basketball players. Racked with guilt, Chelsea reports them to the cops, but she still feels so bad about what she did she's taken a vow of silence. By having the main character be silent, you can see more about her character and personality through actions and thoughts. You see the full extent to how awful harassment can be when dialogue isn't there to take away from its impact. This author amazingly portrays selfishness, selflessness, compassion, anger, self-worth, and how to forgive. The characters are very relatable and you can see the story unfold in your imagination. I would highly recommend this to anyone at all, especially to anyone who feels that they can't forgive themselves or anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Chelsea reminds me of Sam from Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall in

    Chelsea reminds me of Sam from Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall in that both are characters that are hard to like at first. While she has somewhat of a sense of right and wrong, she's also pretty clueless about the implications of her actions. All she wants is a little fun. But then her idea of fun sets in motion events that send a boy to the hospital, and she takes a vow of silence, believing that no good can come out of her words. Her story that follows is one of self-discovery, love, and forgiveness.




    Though Chelsea can be pretty insensitive, she's well-meaning at heart and a likable character. As much as she cares about some shallow things, she's willing to make sacrifices to do what her heart tells her is the right thing to do, and she proves capable of learning from her mistakes. That isn't to say that she has strong conviction. The whole reason that she takes the vow of silence is because she doesn't trust herself to say the right things. This made her all the more endearing and realistic. As much as I love a strong, independent female character, I also love the ones that need encouragement and support to move forward.




    The side characters were equally quirky and endearing. I love the cast the work at the diner. They're a bunch of fun characters that I would love to be friends with. They're down to earth and not afraid to call people out on their b***s***. (Yeah, there's some language flying around here, but not THAT much.) I don't want to start naming all the individual characters because that would be another review on its own; just know they're awesome, and I wish they had more screen time. If I have (and am) to give a special callout to someone though, it has to be Sam. I love me a dorky, imperfectly cute boy, and the scenes between him and Chelsea are so, so cute and giggle worthy. They had me smiling, in my happy place. They are beautiful and precious.




    I especially love how, while the book tackles some deep issues, it does so with fun and humor. It fits in with Chelsea's personality and make the book a quick, easy read. I also love how Chelsea is close with her parents. While she does sneak around a little, her parents are a constant presence, and it is obvious that her family is close-knit despite the problems they encounter. The only complaint I really have about the story is that the narration jumps around a little and doesn't really explain how some things come to be or does so later in the story, such as Sam deciding to befriend Chelsea. Something or someone would be mentioned here, and then it will pop up again later. Plot threads and characters weren't developed all that much, though not to the point that it's unbearable.




    Overall, Speechless is another powerful contemporary story from Hannah Harrington. While there are some problems with the writing, the message comes across, and I very much enjoyed the light style of writing. This is certainly a book that I will be recommending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    I was "Speechless"

    Ok i must admit, I did not think this book was going to be as amazing as it was. I loved the way the author described everything! I related to thia book a lot because I was bullied for pretty much the exact reason and that's really how people treat you. Like a pile of dirt that's caked to the bottom of your shoe. It's a horrible feeling but then unexpected friends come out of the dark and make everything ok. This book tells a lot people that you are never alone. And don't let other people ruin your life because they are not worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    This book did have a lot of cussing and wrong things in it but i

    This book did have a lot of cussing and wrong things in it but it still was an enjoyable book. I think while reading this you have to understand the wrongness of it. I read it and it didnt have an affect on how i talk or my views. This book gives a realistic view of how high school really is now in days. This book was amazing! I couldnt put it down! I recommend it for anyone that likes realistic teenage high school stories with a hint of romance :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The story is essentially about what happens when you can¿t keep

    The story is essentially about what happens when you can’t keep a secret. Or that you just enjoy spreading gossip so much, you don’t see the ramifications of what your actions have on other people.

    Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret.

    This is the very premise of the story. Chelsea at the beginning is your stereotypical teenager who has been granted access to the popular crowd because she’s best friend with the queen bee of the school. The reality is Chelsea at the beginning of the book is the most annoying, self-serving and vindictive person I think I’ve read in quite some time. In fact, after the first section of the book, I had to put it down because of how strongly I despised Chelsea’s voice. Thankfully I decided to pick it back up after a few days.

    Now I have to give major props to Hannah Harrington for managing to turn my opinion of the main character completely around by about a third of the way into the book. See, Chelsea lets a very personal secret out that ultimately almost costs someone his life. When she finally decides to do the right thing, she becomes an outcast in her school. She decides to take a vow of silence since she can’t seem to say anything that doesn’t get her in trouble. Once we’re allowed into Chelsea’s thoughts, her annoying teenage verbal diarrhea ends and we actually get a glimpse into someone who actually has to think before she writes out what she wants to say to someone.

    I really enjoyed how Chelsea grew as a person and ultimately how the rest of her new friends grow by being friends with Chelsea too. Friendship is a two way street and it was lovely to see the new relationships blossom underneath her silence.

    Of course no Y/A books are complete without some sort of love interest, and Chelsea does eventually find someone unexpectedly in Sam. He’s pretty swoon worthy all the more because he’s not someone she would have ever seen herself being attracted to when she was still perched among the popular crowd.

    Aside from a few minor editing problems and that my nook hates PDFs, it was a lovely read.

    I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to my young adult genre readers out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I have heard so many good things about Hannah Harrington's

    I have heard so many good things about Hannah Harrington's "Saving June". When I got a copy of this book, I started building so many expectations that when they didn't all come true, I got depressed and disappointed. But overall, this was an insightful read.
    Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot cannot keep a secret. She has always been the gossip-girl, spreading gossip and secrets about everyone, without thinking about the consequences. When she discovers a new secret at a party, she immediately tells her friends. But what should have been just a little joke, turned into a disastrous fight that lead someone to the hospital.
    Chelsea decides to take a vow of silence. She needs to keep her mouth shut, so that nobody else will get hurt. Turns out, being mute has its advantages. Chelsea gets to make many new friends, build strong relationships, know her true self, and even fall in love. But a journey like Chelsea's is not so easy to start, to keep going, or to stop.
    What did Chelsea do that caused so much trouble? What will she learn from her vow of silence? Will she find her true self or stay speechless forever? Find out much more when you read Hannah Harrington's realistic, thought-provoking novel, Speechless...
    I liked this book VERY much. I was pretty confused while rating it between 3.5 stars or 4 stars. But I decided to go for 4 stars. I have to admit that I LOVED Hannah Harrington's style. I am such a sucker for simple and straight-forward writing. It was a beautiful style, a little amount of description, and a whole lot of feelings laid bare.
    The thing that I didn't like about this novel is some of the characters. Some were hallow, like a pieces of card box. I admit that I still don't like Chelsea very much. She was an arrogant and a little self-centered girl. But as the plot progressed, she began to grow on me. I began to respect her decisions and admire her strength to keep the vow of silence even when she get bullied, and assaulted. Overall, I think that I like her. The secondary characters were believable and relate-able, I loved them!
    This book addressed a very interesting subject and I got to see it from a very different perspective. The plot plays out very well and the story is deeply intriguing. Even though it lacked the "wow" factor, I still enjoyed Chelsea's journey. I will be going back to read Hannah Harrington's "Saving June" very soon! Speechless is recommended to every contemporary lover, old or young. Specially the ones who have been through a tough high school life, or the ones who are still going through it. You'll find out that YOU are not ALONE when you read this heart-wrenching journey, SPEECHLESS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific bildungsroman

    Speechless is a bildungsroman (coming of age story) in the truest sense of the word. Chelsea literally grows before the reader's eyes. I thoroughly enjoyed watching her transform from a bratty mean girl into an actual human being. While she was annoying at times, she was real. Every character in the story was realistic, unique, and flawed. There isn't a ton of action in this story, but I still couldn't stop turning the pages. I had to know what happened to Chelsea. This is one book that you don't want to miss.

    Chelsea is the narrator of the book, and while she's difficult to trust in some ways, I knew she was telling the truth right off the bat. She isn't shy about disclosing mistakes she made or that others made. I really didn't like her for the first half of the book, but once she started maturing, she really grew on me. My dislike for her during the first half of the book is what made me rate this novel a B instead of an A. I didn't enjoy the first half because I wanted to smack Chelsea, but I still had to see what ended up happening to her. I wanted to know if she'd turn into an actual human or stay a brat forever. Also, I am completely in love with Sam, and Asha is a fun character, too. Everyone at the diner is terrific. I enjoyed getting to know all of these unique characters. Harrington did a terrific job of creating realistic, flawed characters.

    The plot is pretty heavy handed with some social issues, and I have to admit that I'm glad Harrington chose to address these problems. Harrington illustrates what happens when hate and bigotry run amok. Hate crimes are never okay, and she makes that point very clear. She also addresses bullying and the problem of athletics in schools. Overall, this is a pretty deep book, and it really makes you think. I'm so glad that dialogues have opened about these issues now and that people are talking about them. That's the only way to change things.

    The plot is pretty steady, and the pacing is excellent. There is no "big reveal" or "action scene" because there is no mystery, and this book isn't an action-filled story. However, there does come a time when Chelsea is forced to face her demons, and that's a very intense point in the novel. Even though there is no action, this book was still an emotional read for me, and I wasn't bored for a second. I literally couldn't put this book down. Be prepared to lose some sleep with this one.

    Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone. It opens up a dialogue about things that need to be discussed, and it shows that sometimes a person has to do what's right, even if it means losing everything they thought they loved. This is a wonderful coming of age story, and it cannot be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book you have to buy it

    This book is really good I read the sample and this is not a bad book trust me.I read books that are worse. Any ways you must read this it's awesome I recommend it to anybody.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great story of self discovery and atonement

    Review:
    The First 20%
    Such a good hook straight into the story. Chelsea is part of the in-crowd and gets noticed. Mainly thanks to her best friend, Kristen, who is the IT girl at school. Chelsea knows the others in the crowd only notice her because of her motor mouth, usually divulging some sort of secret or embarrassing gossip about someone else. But she sees something at a New Years Eve party and, being drunk and without her usual sense of decorum, she announces it to the entire room. She has no regard or care about what she says, and no feelings of who she is about to hurt.

    The Main Characters
    Chelsea showed her first redeeming quality quite soon into the book. Its not often that you read that. Instantly I knew that Chelsea wasn't really as heartless as she appeared. She told her parents EVERYTHING (I cringe because I don't know how she did it but she did) she takes a vow of silence, after reading about a Buddhist monk. For Chelsea this is her way to atone while self punishing herself at the same time. She sees her flaws instantly, she knows what she is and knows that she's hurt people. But how much she's yet to find out. She takes the harsh cruelty of her so called friends, and brushes off the vandalism to her locker and car. She also tries not to let anyone else get involved knowing that this is her fault. Chelsea changes her point of view gradually throughout the book. Its tough for her but necessary.

    Asha is the Indian friend who Chelsea meets in detention. They don't instantly hit it off, but Asha also doesn't point the finger. She's a fun character and very quirky. Her easy friendship with Sam and everyone at Rosie's makes her such a likeable person.

    Sam is the gallant knight. Though Chelsea doesn't understand and is confused by his friendly attitude towards her, especially as Sam is the best friend of Noah, she is almost disarmed by the fact that he doesn't want to start any fights or blame her. Throughout the book his calming demeanour keeps her levelled.

    The Story
    A high school is not a high school without scandal. Chelsea and her friends relish in it. Bigging themselves up on others peoples misfortunes or indiscretions. Believing themselves to be better than others. But when Chelsea takes a step back and starts to analyse her lifestyle she doesn't like what she sees. It isn't an instant 'I'm going to make everything right', because that just isn't possible. Chelsea's announcement has repercussions that travel along unexpected lines. She needed a wake up call and now she's dealing with it, and its a tough journey. This is a story about self discovery in the worst possible scenario.

    The End?
    A great ending!!

    Overall
    I enjoyed this book thoroughly. I knew people like Chelsea so I was genuinely interested in what would happen to her. There are no 'stop the story - I'm going to make a speech to everyone' moments. There isn't a great anti-climax where everyone realises how great she really is and they all 'group hug'. But Chelsea's journey is tough and there's some great life lessons to be learned from her indiscretion. The book held my interest all the way to the last page and I was left feeling happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well I cant keep a secret either. So I think that is something t

    Well I cant keep a secret either. So I think that is something that
    Chelsea and I have in common. Of course non of the secrets I have told
    have gotten anyone killed or almost killed. This story was really good
    but it just seemed like it could have had more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1