Customer Reviews for

Speechless

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hey, "Too much cussing"--guess what?

I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks,...
I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks, "Too much cussing"!
Oh yeah, there's absolutely nothing wrong with being gay. That was actually an important message in the book! So, "Too much cussing", I suggest you become more accepting of real life and the people who live in it.
(And yeah, this is getting ridiculously long, but I have to say this; it's a high school book. Of course there's cussing and sexual themes. Have you even BEEN to high school?)
If you read all this, thanks! This book totally rules, and so does the author!

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Too much cussing

The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending ...
The author combines cussing along with innapropiate thems that even an adult would be disgusted with this book. She throws cuss words, and even God's name around like it's no big deal. I am ashamed at this book for the horrible rep it gives to teens. Not worth spending your money on. DO NOT BUY!!!!! It involves drinking, gay scenes and so much more that it makes u feel guilty for even reading the first chapter. :(

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Hey, "Too much cussing"--guess what?

    I was considering getting this book. Then I read your review and decided to buy the book, because honestly, your review kinda pissed me off. And guess what? The book was amazing. I now love Hannah Harrington and highly recommend another book by her, Saving June. Thanks, "Too much cussing"!
    Oh yeah, there's absolutely nothing wrong with being gay. That was actually an important message in the book! So, "Too much cussing", I suggest you become more accepting of real life and the people who live in it.
    (And yeah, this is getting ridiculously long, but I have to say this; it's a high school book. Of course there's cussing and sexual themes. Have you even BEEN to high school?)
    If you read all this, thanks! This book totally rules, and so does the author!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Speechless

    I was speechless when i read this. Very good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Back in the old days, when I was a teenager, bullying was a rar


    Back in the old days, when I was a teenager, bullying was a rare thing in the public schools I attended. That’s not to say cruelty to others didn’t exist but it took a much quieter form, that of dismissal. There were three distinct social groups. The top rung was the popular kids, the “pretty ones”, the jocks and their friends, and they simply ignored the existence of everyone beneath them. The lowest group was a collection of hoods (black leather, no weapons, maybe a little marijuana), nerds (although I don’t think that specific term existed then), economically deprived, shop classers, those bound for blue-collar jobs after graduation. Everybody else fell into the middle stratum, generally those who were college-bound and sociable, on an economic level with the top group but not accepted into the inner circles. Essentially, all three groups cohabited nicely during classes but not in the halls or outside the school grounds. Even with such distinct lines drawn, though, the three groups didn’t actively try to make life miserable for each other. We managed to get along because people “knew their places”.

    Today’s world is much different for teens and middle-graders and bullying is visible and frequently vicious, whether it’s physical, verbal or emotional. Physical appearance is a common cause and I can’t help thinking that our love affair with TV, movies and celebrities has fed that particular worm. Sexual orientation is another major platform and I believe that has become more of a bullying issue as society has changed and LGBT kids are less likely to hide than they used to be. If there were LGBT kids in my schools, I never knew it, and I had known many of my fellow students since first grade. That lack of knowledge is not a good thing, just different from today’s atmosphere.

    Author Hannah Harrington has taken an all-too-common problem and expanded it. In Speechless, the victim is not just the gay teen who is exposed and subsequently attacked, it’s also the girl from the highest echelons who not only outed Noah but then turned in the jocks who beat him to the police. Her betrayal of her circle is what they find unforgiveable, not the hate crime itself. Chelsea starts out as a shallow girl whose interests lie in shopping, gossip, partying, and being BFF to the top girl in school but, for some reason, a spark of real decency exists in her. Her vow of silence is at first rather quixotic, an escape from reality, but could it become the means of her salvation?

    Chelsea is a complex character, much like a teen in real life, and it’s a pleasure to follow her search for redemption, her journey to maturity. Along the way, the reader meets some people it would be a delight to know and they’re well-rounded with problems of their own while being very appealing individuals, Asha and Sam in particular. Even some of the bullies have the occasional mitigating aspect which surely is the case outside the realm of novels. Ms. Harrington presents a storyline and all its side issues that grips the reader from the very beginning and her characters bring it to life. I wish that any teen in a position of power over others would read Speechless and perhaps gain a little insight into how that power can be misused.

    One last note—kudos to the publisher for such a great cover. Think about it. Speechlessness can lead to invisibility, can’t it?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Love it everyone should read it

    This book is my type it's mystery,thriller combined with a danger and hint of romance haven't read it yet but i must buy no exceptions

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    I read this book in two days. Amazing! I loved the concept and t

    I read this book in two days. Amazing! I loved the concept and the story line in this book. I  highly recommend it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Speechless

    I always judge a book by its cover. This one intriged me. But i havent read it yet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I. Adored. This. Book.  There were actually quite a few revi

    I. Adored. This. Book. 




    There were actually quite a few reviews of this book that mentioned how they liked Saving June, Harrington's debut, a lot more then Speechless. I'm really happy that I read Speechless first because maybe I wouldn't have liked it as much as I did. Also, this means I have Saving June to look forward to reading!




    While this may sound like an insult to some people, I think of it as a compliment: Speechless made me feel like I was watching a really good Lifetime movie. Almost like a moderately different but still similar version of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. And while there are similarities, the differences are large enough so I don't feel like I'm reading the same book.




    Two of the main characters, Sam and Asha, are some of the most lovable characters I've had the pleasure to meet. What I loved the most about Chelsea and Sam's relationship, is that it took time. Yeah, they connected and there might have been some instant chemistry, but it took time for the both of them to realize that. It was real and believable. Asha (Chelsea's new BFF,) is the sweetest girl ever. I hope I get to meet someone like her someday, because she's absolutely perfect. 




    Let's talk about the cover. I know there's a few different covers for Speechless, but I prefer the blank white one. It's definitely risky, because it's so blank. A lot of people (including myself) choose books by their cover. That's exactly what attracted me to this book though! The cover made me curious enough to figure out why it's so plain. I like how it fits the novel so well and I hope other readers can agree with that! 




    I've had a craving for contemp novels lately, and Speechless definitely helped while making me want more. Overall, I'm really pleased that I read this book and I would recommend it to anyone in the mood for a great contemp and fans of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Whats her secret?

    Whats the thing she said that ruined everything?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chelsea Knot has gone too far. She was known to be a gossiper a

    Chelsea Knot has gone too far. She was known to be a gossiper and prattler. Until one day when her thoughtless behaviour nearly gets someone killed and she decides to take a vow of silence to find back to her old self again.
    SPEECHLESS is a story showing that recklessness and thoughtlessness of social groups of teenagers can affect and even ruin the life of other teens. One day you are trying to make a good impression on your so-called friends and the next you see that the things you thought to be important suddently feel like trivial nonense.
    Chelsea's vow of silence is unexpected and radical. Others might think her decision ridiculous and unnecessary, what's done is done. But Chelsea doesn't recognize herself anymore. The vow of silence is the best decision she's ever made. Being silent is so very hard for a communicative person like Chelsea. She is a character with a high growth-potential. It's her choice to change her life, to be more responsive for people's feelings and to make sure to treat them with the respect and kindess they deserve. Her story is very reflective about her past social life and the mistakes she's made and she's more than willing to learn from past mistakes. So she very much deserves a chance at new love, too. With a new boy she meets, Noah. Noah and her love story is more slow and thought-through than Chelsea's previous actions. Chelsea is careful and considerate now. Before she can give him her heart, she wants to be absolutely sure she's a girl worth being loved and who can give as much honesty and love in return without hurting anyone in the process.


    5/5 ***** SPEECHLESS – An efficacious and incorruptible story about a telling vow of silence with social and personal relevance.

    Chelsea Knot is probably one YA character with the smallest share of words, but one with the greatest inner developments. Hannah Harrington's writing was as flawless as in her debut novel SAVING JUNE. Her stories are relevant for teens, encouraging them to show incentive to change and think about their own ways of treating other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Beautifully written

    I bought this book out if boredom. I thought t would just be something to read on the plane. But after I finished reading this, i fund myself really reflecting on various characters and how they changed as the story moved on. I felt ike I was there, watching, as Chelsea stood her ground and refused to give in to Kristen. I was moved when Asha reached out to pull her out of the hell she was in. I cheered Sam on as he stood up for Chelsea, I plotted with her and Andy. I bought this book over two years ago and I still read it, especially when I need a boost of inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Truly beautiful... there's nothing more to say.

    Truly beautiful... there's nothing more to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    surprisingly wonderful, i bought this book out of boredom and i

    surprisingly wonderful, i bought this book out of boredom and i wasn't expecting much, but i ended up really liking it. the characters were thought out and the concept was really original. it gave me a lot to think about and i will definitely be reading more of the author's work. i would recommend to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Speechless

    Well judging by the title rthis book is honestly speechless it is written amazingly and gives great life lessons! But i do have to say this is for mature readers probably around ages 12-14ish that are mature and can handle language and mature situations. Aside from the maturity level i was just stunned by this book i loved it and it even taught me a fee lessons!! It is a magnificent boo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Speechless

    Found this book, hidden back in a bookshelf in Barnes and Noble. The cover really drew me in. Thanks to this book, I do not gossip anymore and I stopped bullying people. This book has helped me change. Might I add, that Chelsea Knot is very similar to me. I love this book. It is also full of amazing quotes.
    "Hate is…it's too easy, Love. Love takes courage."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Speechless

    I loved this book beecause it told areally good message and that is what i look for in books so i LOVED it!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another amazing book from Hannah - I can't say I loved it as muc

    Another amazing book from Hannah - I can't say I loved it as much as I love Saving June (mainly because SJ had the road trip,
    California, and The Doors) but it's now my second favorite book, right beneath SJ.  All of her stories have a true, clear meaning
    behind them;whether it's letting go and moving on, or making a promise to yourself and becoming a better person. Yes, there
     is cussing, but the story  is from a sixteen year olds point of view - what would you expect? The way it is written is so refreshing 
    and lovely. You really do feel like you are there with Chelsea, Sam, Asha, and Andy. Asha might've been my personal favorite
    character, she just has this light heart and sweet personality that's hard not to like :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome and thoght provoking

    I was so taken by Hannah Harrington's earlier book Saving June that I knew I would want to read this book, and I wasnt dissapointed. I like that Chelsea Knot starts out the book as a willing second fiddle to Kristen(her best friend, but very mean girl) and after witnessing an act between two guys at the New Years party Kristen threw, she speaks out and gets in alot of trouble herself. Chelsea actually takes a vow of silence and that is what makes this book interesting. she is shunned by all her old friends at school, including Kristen, who tries to make her life a living hell. But she starts to find new friends in Asha and Sam and even starts to work at the local diner after school.
    I like how Ms. Harrington makes us go through all the bad things that happen to Chelsea after she speaks out, but we also get to see all the good things that happen as well. I love Sam alot!! He seems like a nice guy that really cares for Chelsea. Hannah's writing makes you feel the giddy, first love feeling again and again, and while there are alot of cuss words and mature scenes, its all done in the context of the plot and not really that offensive.
    This is a great book for anyone in high school, or even college to show that if you see bullying, speak out!!!! The consequences of not are worse than the short term bad feelings you get at school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Speechless by Hannah Harrington Is a young adult book about Chel

    Speechless by Hannah Harrington
    Is a young adult book about Chelsea Knot and how she lies to her parents and goes with her best friend Kristen for the New Year Eve party where there is alcohol and guys.
    She has a bit too many and on her way to the guest bathroom she comes across a scene that she takes back downstairs and blabbers to others who inform her they will take care of the people, and they leave the house.
    She wakes up the next morning to find out what happened when she passed out and she tells her parents what happened.
    In school she now has to live with herself and others as they shun her so she takes a vow of silence even at school. One teacher daily gives her a detention slip while other teachers help her to still communicate without her voice.
    What inspired her was a National Geographic story about a monk. Some of her older friends really beat up on her car, locker, etc, it's like she's being bullied.
    As things get worse for her with the kids at school it also gets good for her because of a new friend that takes her to a diner. That friendship leads to many things for the family in time.
    Glad to see the ending and how the one she hurt the most with her lie had the right answers for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Good

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1