Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other

It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other adult novels have. Perhaps it is because Savannah still seems so immature despite her age. She continually makes poor decisions, which in itself is not the issue. The problem is that she doesn't step up to...
It just didn't have the feel to it that Kelley Armstrong's other adult novels have. Perhaps it is because Savannah still seems so immature despite her age. She continually makes poor decisions, which in itself is not the issue. The problem is that she doesn't step up to the plate and admit her mistakes, she just runs off at the first sign of confrontation. She also threw several "temper tantrums" because things were not going her way. At one point in the book she talks about how she was always respectful and helpful whenever she visited the werewolves growing up, but was completely lazy and constantly disobeyed Paige and Lucas when she was home. It is obvious that she really cares for her guardians, so why treat them with less respect than the werewolves? Clay did seem to give her a wake up call in Spell Bound, so perhaps we will start to see some major progress in her behavior.  Overall, I liked the book. I liked getting to know Savannah better and all the hints at what's coming are intriguing.  I particularly enjoyed how Savannah represented some portion of twenty-somethings in today's world - don't leave the home of their guardians because they don't want to or can't financially. In her case it's because she doesn't want to because she's afraid of losing her family. I loved that. I also enjoyed that she wasn't the foul-mouthed teenager we met in previous books. I felt like Kelley was laying it on a bit thick with that aspect of her and was afraid she was going to make Savannah some sort of evil bad guy just because of her parentage, so I'm glad she became more nuanced as she got older. Despite the Adam and Savannah relationship, I felt this was a good read.    

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm di...
Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm different." "Wait, yes they will..." The pacing was slow and mired down in teenage-like angst. Spellbound is about Savannah, an Otherworld young woman, but unlike the other characters, it lacked emotional depth and adult complexity and themes. Kelley Armstrong has been devoting her energies to writing for her young adult series and wonder if that has spilled over into the Otherworld Series (which is supposed to be adult).

posted by ILoveBooksWI on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Disappointing

    Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm different." "Wait, yes they will..." The pacing was slow and mired down in teenage-like angst. Spellbound is about Savannah, an Otherworld young woman, but unlike the other characters, it lacked emotional depth and adult complexity and themes. Kelley Armstrong has been devoting her energies to writing for her young adult series and wonder if that has spilled over into the Otherworld Series (which is supposed to be adult).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book was good but not as good as waking the witch. I hope adam and savannah pursue their relationship. I still love the series and hope the third one will be even better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Recommended for fans of the Otherworld series!

    [Note: A rating of 3 stars and above signifies a satisfying read for me.]

    Kelley Armstrong's newest Otherworld novel SPELL BOUND is an enjoyable read. Picking up the moment that WAKING THE WITCH leaves off, Savannah leads us on a whirlwind adventure as she tries to discover what happened to her mysteriously vanished powers and, more importantly, who she is without them.


    SPELL BOUND seemed, to me, to have two main purposes: to force Savannah to do a lot of growing up in a short amount of time, and to set the stage for an epic showdown in the forthcoming final Otherworld novel.

    The issue of Savannah's maturity (or, in many cases, lack thereof) was definitely the heavy hitter and I enjoyed reading her realistic emotional struggles and witnessing her missteps. That sounds a bit sadistic but Savannah's slow-to-come realization that she has behaved like a spoiled princess was very well written. Armstrong didn't pull any punches when it came to Savannah's friends and family calling her out, which only made Savannah's process of coming to terms with who she'd been and who she wanted to be that much sweeter.

    Adam Vasic gets a lot of screen time (so to speak), which I loved. He's a fun, strong character and a great match for Savannah. Their dialogue is sharp and entertaining, with the exception of one bad habit of Savannah's: she cuts Adam off constantly. I'm sure it's realistic--conversations are a much more fluid thing in real life than they are on the page--but it became a bit tiresome and irritating for me after a while. In addition to Adam, we get to see a some of Paige and Lucas, and there are cameos from just about every major character in the series, which was really fun to read.

    I would have liked to give SPELL BOUND four stars but unfortunately, I just didn't feel the same sense of urgency and risk with the bad guy plot that I normally do with Armstrong's books. It could be that the book's events were given a bit of a back-burner feel because it was Savannah telling the story and the most important thing to her was the mystery of her missing powers (which isn't the primary driver spurring on the bad guy, action-based plot).

    SPELL BOUND is a very enjoyable book, one that I would recommend to any fans of Armstrong's Otherworld series. I'm eager to find out what happens in the final book--to see whether or not Savannah can step up and become the person she wants to be and to witness the epic supernatural showdown that's been building all through this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    Average

    The last three books could of been one longer book instead of a skimpy 260 pages. They milked the crap out of the series. I have read magazines that were longer than the last 3 books. The advertised page total includes every single page in the book including the cover. The content is much less. Loved the series, hate the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Good

    The book was good and amusing. I love hearing about Savannah. What I don't like is that this story arc is taking multiple books to get through. Where is the value in that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    More of An Installment

    This seemed more of an installment in the Savannah Trilogy instead of a full book. It Ended very abruptly with no real ending, when I read the last page I clicked for the next page expecting there to be more story but It was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Somewhat Disappointed and Confused

    I've just finished Spellbound and was a bit disappointed. Sure Savannah is growing up but she continues to act like a teenager even though she is out of her teens. The kidnapping of the child, Larsen, just dropped off the book's radar; we never find out what happened to him and his parents. No one seems to care. And what's with the "coming war"? Is it a war between supernaturals or a war between supernaturals and humans? Or is it something else entirely. It's probably time for this series to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Armstrong keeps getting better

    I had fun reading this one. Armstrong builds characters almost as if after real people. However in my hast of reading editorial reviews that came out before the book, I thought there would be a major showdown. But it was still a great installment to the Otherworld series. Only thing is there is all kinds of plot building but no real release/conclusion, and not really a cliffhanger ether.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Not as good as earlier books in this series.

    Spell Bound is a departure from other books in the series. Books 1-10 were paranormal romance, the last two are more YA fantasy. Spell Bound is a good, fast moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Recommended for fans of the Otherworld series!

    [Note: A rating of 3 stars and above signifies a satisfying read for me.]

    Kelley Armstrong's newest Otherworld novel SPELL BOUND is an enjoyable read. Picking up the moment that WAKING THE WITCH leaves off, Savannah leads us on a whirlwind adventure as she tries to discover what happened to her mysteriously vanished powers and, more importantly, who she is without them.


    SPELL BOUND seemed, to me, to have two main purposes: to force Savannah to do a lot of growing up in a short amount of time, and to set the stage for an epic showdown in the forthcoming final Otherworld novel.

    The issue of Savannah's maturity (or, in many cases, lack thereof) was definitely the heavy hitter and I enjoyed reading her realistic emotional struggles and witnessing her missteps. That sounds a bit sadistic but Savannah's slow-to-come realization that she has behaved like a spoiled princess was very well written. Armstrong didn't pull any punches when it came to Savannah's friends and family calling her out, which only made Savannah's process of coming to terms with who she'd been and who she wanted to be that much sweeter.

    Adam Vasic gets a lot of screen time (so to speak), which I loved. He's a fun, strong character and a great match for Savannah. Their dialogue is sharp and entertaining, with the exception of one bad habit of Savannah's: she cuts Adam off constantly. I'm sure it's realistic--conversations are a much more fluid thing in real life than they are on the page--but it became a bit tiresome and irritating for me after a while. In addition to Adam, we get to see a some of Paige and Lucas, and there are cameos from just about every major character in the series, which was really fun to read.

    I would have liked to give SPELL BOUND four stars but unfortunately, I just didn't feel the same sense of urgency and risk with the bad guy plot that I normally do with Armstrong's books. It could be that the book's events were given a bit of a back-burner feel because it was Savannah telling the story and the most important thing to her was the mystery of her missing powers (which isn't the primary driver spurring on the bad guy, action-based plot).

    SPELL BOUND is a very enjoyable book, one that I would recommend to any fans of Armstrong's Otherworld series. I'm eager to find out what happens in the final book--to see whether or not Savannah can step up and become the person she wants to be and to witness the epic supernatural showdown that's been building all through this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1