Customer Reviews for

Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fans will not be disappointed

This is the twelfth installment of the "Otherworld" series, and it may just be the best one yet! Kelley Armstrong has offered all sorts of demons, witches, vampires, werewolves, fallen angels - a little bit of everything - with each novel she produces. And, in Spell Bou...
This is the twelfth installment of the "Otherworld" series, and it may just be the best one yet! Kelley Armstrong has offered all sorts of demons, witches, vampires, werewolves, fallen angels - a little bit of everything - with each novel she produces. And, in Spell Bound, Ms. Armstrong has brought some truly beloved characters back together again in order to support, offend, kill, maim, and.fall in love with, Savannah Levine. Savannah Levine (for anyone out there who is still unfamiliar with this series) is a PI, and has just returned from her very first 'detective' case which didn't end well. Walking slowly into a hotel, Savannah is trying to get over the fact that she has just solved the murder of three women and sent a half-demon back to Hell.but she feels absolutely broken. You see, after solving the crime the wrong person was incarcerated - taken away from a little girl who truly needed her family. But when Savannah whispers in her own mind that she would gladly give up her own powers to "fix" this mess, she had no idea who was listening. Savannah soon finds out that all of her "spells" are gone; she can't even unlock a door anymore because her wealth of "magic" has suddenly disappeared. Perhaps The Fates had heard her and took her up on the offer, yet everyone knows that The Fates don't work that way. Soon, Adam - the half-demon who Savannah has been in love with since she was twelve, and who is now her best friend - appears by her side. Together, they enter into a seriously messed-up situation that involves, an odd "pair" who are going to demons door-to-door and leaving no trace of themselves behind except a dead body; a small witch-hunter who seems to desperately want to kill Savannah, yet her plan is far more underhanded; Jaime - the psychic friend who has Savannah's mother, 'Eve,' sitting on her shoulder as she performs psychic shows across the country; Hope, the daughter of Lucifer and wife of a werewolf, who is currently about to have a baby and can't seem to stop having nightmarish visions about Savannah holding a strange sword; and, the list goes on, as readers are handed one of the best "Otherworld"-ly books to date. As the characters come forth, readers learn that the supernatural world may be facing a great enemy. In fact, a maelstrom is about to blow through their world and expose each and every one of them to the normal humans who will want nothing more than to study, examine, and carve them all up. The War is coming, and Savannah seems to be one supernatural girl who both 'sides' want on their team. Quill Says: As always, fans will not be disappointed. All the old characters are back, but this twelfth installment seems to be setting the stage for a grand finale!

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm di...
Overall, I thought this was a decent Otherworld novel but defintiely not in the league with any of the other books. It read like a young adult book. "Will he kiss me? Maybe he will. Oh wait, no, he's just looking at me really close." "Lucas/Paige won't like me if I'm different." "Wait, yes they will..." The pacing was slow and mired down in teenage-like angst. Spellbound is about Savannah, an Otherworld young woman, but unlike the other characters, it lacked emotional depth and adult complexity and themes. Kelley Armstrong has been devoting her energies to writing for her young adult series and wonder if that has spilled over into the Otherworld Series (which is supposed to be adult).

posted by ILoveBooksWI on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great

    Very entertained

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Fantastic

    Quick easy read. Can't wait to dig into the final book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Ready for the twelfth book in this wonderful series!? Savannah's

    Ready for the twelfth book in this wonderful series!? Savannah's unforgettable character returns and the reader will be thrown into a world where danger is around every corner and the reader meets more than a few paranormal creatures. The reader should read the first few books in the series in order to fully understand the current plot.

    In this novel, Savannah's powers are taken. She is resentful and sullen over this change and the reader will want to shake her more than once. Without any powers, she is simply a human private investigator, nothing special. She is further annoyed when the witch hunters begin to track her. Rather than behaving more maturely, she doesn't really act her age. One might think she would be far more careful, knowing that she was being tracked, but instead she is careless. Though her character may become aggravating, her flaws make her seem more realistic.

    The plot is busy. The reader will have to follow several subplots and manage to connect-the-dots. There is a mysterious kidnapping, a group that wants to expose all paranormals, witch hunters, new relationships, etc... There is plenty of action and a little bit of romance to keep the reader happy. The reader's questions from previous books will go mostly unanswered and the reader may even find him/herself discovering a couple new questions. Overall, the book is perfect for Kelley Armstrong fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Wonderful series

    Armstrong does it again. I love reading about all the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    another winner by kelley armstrong

    I love the entire Otherworl series and this book is no exception. I love how Savannah's character is developing and can't wait for her next starring book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Another good one!

    This is one of my favorite series. This was a very good read filled with lots of action. It even featured alot of the characters in it from the rest of the series. My only complaint was the abrupt ending. But I guess we will find out the rest in
    The next book, which I will be def. buying! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Loved This Story

    Kelly is amazing as always

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For a quick magical read with mixes of all magic!

    Whirling from the sadness and regret of what happened with Kayla and her grandmother along with the people who died while she was on the case, Savannah wishes she could do something to help Kayla. Even give up her powers to make it all right again. Savannah wakes in her hotel room to find her best friend Adam - whom she's loved since she was twelve - sleeping in a chair beside her. He had found her. Then to find she is powerless. The one thing she depends on deeply, her magic, is gone. Not knowing who took it without a deal being made. On her way to get a drink, Savannah is reminded there's a witch-hunter after her. Not being able to use the one reflexive defense she has, Savannah has to learn to protect herself again. Savannah has to redefine who she is as a person to make it through the troubles to come, and win the love of her life.

    I started late into this series with Waking the Witch, which starts with Savannah's story line so was a great time to jump in. I've enjoyed these two quick reads. Savannah is a little young but she is growing and learning, the hard way. Savannah hits a bottom here she never thought she would hit, but she starts to come back and want more of herself.

    This book starts exactly where Waking the Witch ended. And the prologue is a wonderful start!. It brought me up to where I was with Savannah at the end of Waking the Witch, and made me curious again with its hints. I even went back and read the prologue again after finishing the book. I would suggest reading Waking the Witch before reading this one, but books prior to that I don't think you need.

    The characters we meet! There is a huge cast of characters in this series, and I guess being 12 books there would be. I loved meeting them and getting little glimpses of their histories, who they are, and even a touch of cases from the past. All this has me wanting once again to pick up all the previous ten books I haven't read to get to know them all better. I really enjoyed these characters and the way they respond to each other. Oh and Adam... he is here in this book full force and I just loved him. He is adult yet feels of young innocent fun with Savannah. And some sexy to him too.

    I enjoy the writing style Kelley has here. If I think back to Waking the Witch and this one it seems like one on going story with the two. Kelley guides us along through the stories that are connected deeply but leads into the next situation. Like there is no time that passes and we follow each day with Savannah. They stories evolve to a different level as you go and the story becomes more than just the simple case Savannah was working on. There is more to them and they flow together. I like that the books fit so close together like this.

    This book could be read by Young Adult readers. There is just a touch of alcohol mentioned here as Savannah is twenty-one. But there is no sex. This is a story easy to follow and read through quickly.

    There is so much more to Savannah's life than she knows. And all is about to change with the war on the horizon. I definitely want to continue reading these books, and what Kelley has coming next too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Good read

    I actually liked the previous book better than this one even though they brought in all of the past characters- there just wasn't enough of Clay! But it set you up for further action and created a strong desire to read the next book-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I cant belive we are almost to the end. Im glad Adam was finally mentioned in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3